update from v 4.4 to v 4.5

Any issues, problems or troubleshooting topics related to installing the Prepar3D client application or it's installer.
philip29

update from v 4.4 to v 4.5

Post by philip29 »

I am not very pc savvy.
I had p3d v 4.4 academic installed and running ok. I wanted to update to the new version v4.5 and thought that I needed to uninstall v4.4 first, which I did.
Once I had downloaded v 4.5 it wouldn't run because it had multiple messages saying that each individual scenery file was missing.

I have attempted to reinstall v 4.4 in the hope that it would reinstall all the scenery files, following which I was hoping to try again with v 4.5. However, v4.4 is not listed as a download option on my account page.

All I want to do is get v 4.5 up and running.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated- as I say above, I am no expert on this.

Regards
Rob McCarthy
Lockheed Martin

Re: update from v 4.4 to v 4.5

Post by Rob McCarthy »

Hello,

Did you have any add-on sceneries installed? One thing to try is running the "Delete Generated Files" shortcut. This is located in Prepar3D's installation directory.

Regards,
Rob McCarthy
Rob McCarthy
Prepar3D® Core Lead
downscc

Re: update from v 4.4 to v 4.5

Post by downscc »

philip29 wrote: Mon Apr 15, 2019 2:30 pm I am not very pc savvy.
I had p3d v 4.4 academic installed and running ok. I wanted to update to the new version v4.5 and thought that I needed to uninstall v4.4 first, which I did.
Once I had downloaded v 4.5 it wouldn't run because it had multiple messages saying that each individual scenery file was missing.

I have attempted to reinstall v 4.4 in the hope that it would reinstall all the scenery files, following which I was hoping to try again with v 4.5. However, v4.4 is not listed as a download option on my account page.

All I want to do is get v 4.5 up and running.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated- as I say above, I am no expert on this.

Regards