Frame issues in Prepar3D v4.5

Any issues, problems or troubleshooting topics related to the Prepar3D client application.
User avatar
Rob McCarthy
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 3147
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 1:37 pm

Re: Frame issues in Prepar3D v4.5

Post by Rob McCarthy »

Hello Everyone,

We identified and found a fix for an issue that can affect framerates in some use cases in v4.5. We are currently working with various third parties on some additional reports and will release a hotfix in the next couple of weeks. Thanks again for the reports and detailed information. Every little bit helps when tracking something down like this and we appreciate your time in helping us solve the problem. Thanks again for your support!

Regards,
Rob McCarthy
Rob McCarthy
Prepar3D® Core Lead
ttbq1
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Apr 14, 2019 5:06 am

Re: Frame issues in Prepar3D v4.5

Post by ttbq1 »

These are great news, thanks LM team!
paulhermon
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Aug 14, 2013 11:33 am

Re: Frame issues in Prepar3D v4.5

Post by paulhermon »

Rob McCarthy wrote: Tue Apr 16, 2019 12:10 pm Hello Everyone,

We identified and found a fix for an issue that can affect framerates in some use cases in v4.5. We are currently working with various third parties on some additional reports and will release a hotfix in the next couple of weeks. Thanks again for the reports and detailed information. Every little bit helps when tracking something down like this and we appreciate your time in helping us solve the problem. Thanks again for your support!

Regards,
Rob McCarthy
Forgive my impatience in this matter, but are you likely to issue a hotfix for the framerate issue in advance of the formal release in the next few weeks?
Paul Hermon MRAeS
keenrw
Posts: 100
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2018 8:17 pm

Re: Frame issues in Prepar3D v4.5

Post by keenrw »

Rob McCarthy wrote: Tue Apr 16, 2019 12:10 pm Hello Everyone,

We identified and found a fix for an issue that can affect framerates in some use cases in v4.5. We are currently working with various third parties on some additional reports and will release a hotfix in the next couple of weeks. Thanks again for the reports and detailed information. Every little bit helps when tracking something down like this and we appreciate your time in helping us solve the problem. Thanks again for your support!

Regards,
Rob McCarthy
Thanks looking forward to this great work LM
DylanM
Posts: 103
Joined: Wed Nov 06, 2013 2:46 am

Re: Frame issues in Prepar3D v4.5

Post by DylanM »

Great work LM team - now that was some great cooperation to find and fix this fast!

Also wanted to call out Simbol who's been doing his darnedest to corral cats on the Avsim forums and get them to post here ;)
nywingrider
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2014 4:22 pm

Re: Frame issues in Prepar3D v4.5

Post by nywingrider »

exactly same here 4.3 works great...4.5 10+fps loss, same config file. reverted back to 4.3 10+fps gain
User avatar
Simbol
Posts: 892
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2017 10:24 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Frame issues in Prepar3D v4.5

Post by Simbol »

asustech wrote: Tue Apr 16, 2019 4:57 pm My only concern is that 4.5 got through beta testing !!?

As pointed out on this thread a couple of times, if you have very good hardware and you use VSYNC + T buffering, locked at 30 FPS you might not notice this issue.

Please note that beta testers do not have all the add-on's that exist for P3D, for example I do not own ORBX Germany which is one of the areas reported that had problems, more over many 3rd party products require specific updates by their original developers in order to work with the latest version of P3D making it very difficult (almost imposible) not only for Lockheed Martin but also for any members of the beta team like myself to test P3D against 3rd party products.

However each 3rd party developer can perform test of their own products during the entire beta cycle, so in a way it is their responsibility to verify that P3D is working as expected with their own products.

No software in the world is free of bugs / problems, but the important thing to take here is how quickly and hard everyone has and continue to work to resolve the issue as soon as posible, I would like to thank one more time Rob McCarthy, Kayla and the entire LM team for their quick and professional response to this matter.

Special thanks also to Rob Ainscough for his meticulous and professional testing to help everyone, alongside with everyone at AVSIM forums, LM forums and many other social sites who has been doing their best to report and perform many tests trying to narrow down posible causes.

Kind Regards,
Simbol
Image
CEO Flight Sim Technologies Ltd
Oficial Website: https://www.FSReborn.com
User avatar
Rob McCarthy
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 3147
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 1:37 pm

Re: Frame issues in Prepar3D v4.5

Post by Rob McCarthy »

I'm locking the thread for now and will unlock when the hotfix is posted. Thanks again everyone for the reports and your patience concerning this issue.

Regards,
Rob McCarthy
Rob McCarthy
Prepar3D® Core Lead
Post Reply