How to change AI aircraft's behaviour using external programs

Discuss on the SimConnect SDK can be used by programmers to write add-on components for Prepar3D
g1235813

How to change AI aircraft's behaviour using external programs

Post by g1235813 »

Hi,
I'm trying to inplement a control panel program to simulate communications in a flight formation. The scenario would be something like this: there is an AI wingman always following the player, and keeps a fixed relative position, say,1000 meters behind the player aircraft. Now I want my control panel program(on another computer) can send data via socket to change this wingman's AI, like change the relative position or change the AI from wingman to combat patrol, etc.

I'm studying simDirector and simConnect documentations, but so far I have no clue on how to begin with. For now I think the workflow might be like:
a)Create a scene using simDirector
b)Write a program to receive the data sent fromg control panel,and
c)Using simConnect,Input said data to Prepar3d to change certain parameters of the scene (wingman distance from player, AI behaviour type,...)

Is this workflow correct and recommended for my purpose? And how exactly can I implement part c)?
Any help is much appreciated. Thanks!
JorgenSA

Re: How to change AI aircraft's behaviour using external programs

Post by JorgenSA »

The thing is, as least as far as my knowledge of AI flight plans go, that AI flight plans are in effect fixed programs that tells the AI aircraft what to do, with no regard to any user-controlled aircraft. The AI aircraft does what the programmed flight plan tells it to do, nothing else.

To change this behavior, you have to exit the simulator, re-program and re-compile the AI flight plan, and then start the simulation again. But - the above rules for AI aircraft still apply.