Creating objects to place in Sim Director

Discussion related to terrain/scenery design.
skeadle6309

Creating objects to place in Sim Director

Post by skeadle6309 »

Hello I am kind of new at this,

I have 3ds max 2017 installed and followed the sdk guide to install the scripts and I am seeing them in 3ds Max. I have created a simple test cube and when I go to export it via export and LOD tool I receive a invalid LOA and guild format. I then tried using the command line XtoMDL as also receive a invalid guild format error. What do I need to do to correct this? Also, after corrected what do I need to do to get the object to show in sim director? Thanks in advance Seth
Rob McCarthy
Lockheed Martin

Re: Creating objects to place in Sim Director

Post by Rob McCarthy »

Hello,

What Windows locale setting are you using? You may need to change your decimal separator from ',' to '.'.

Regards,
Rob McCarthy
Rob McCarthy
Prepar3D® Core Lead
skeadle6309

Post by skeadle6309 »

I am running Windows 10 Enterprise. I have been able to successfully create all files (X, XML, BGL and mdl). Still not able to import or find the objects inside of simdirector
Clifton Crane
Lockheed Martin

Post by Clifton Crane »

Hi,

Where have you placed your BGL file? Also, are you sure that the compiled BGL is correctly including the MDL file? Could you post the XML file you used with BGLComp?

Thanks.
Clifton Crane
Prepar3D® Software Engineer Sr.
skeadle6309

Post by skeadle6309 »

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="ISO-8859-1"?>
<FSData version="9.0" xmlns:xsi='http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance' xsi:noNamespaceSchemaLocation="bglcomp.xsd">

<!-- Sample object placement. Remove comment markers to place object east of 34R at Sea Tac. -->
<!--
<SceneryObject instanceId="{25e13dd9-82aa-4327-9ed5-d5a816f17278}" lat="47 25.89" lon="-122 18.43" alt="0" pitch="0" bank="0" heading="0" altitudeIsAgl="TRUE" imageComplexity="NORMAL">