VR Frame Rate Drop v4.1

Other problems or issues not covered by other troubleshooting topics.
pensioned1

VR Frame Rate Drop v4.1

Post by pensioned1 »

Trying to get good enough frame rates in VR to use oculus rift and P3d v4.1.7 but as soon as I enable native VR the frame rates drop from whatever they were to about 22 to 25. I have numerously changed settings, lowered sliders, tried several different settings found on the internet and YouTube, to get with frame rates ( as high as 60 to 65 ) in Non VR P3D v4.1.7 and they always drop to about 22-25 as soon as VR is enabled. I am using triple monitors, i7, 7700, 3.6 GHz, nvidia 1080ti. I was expecting to be able to use VR in P3D after investing a lot of money and time trying to get reasonable frame rates. I have limited knowledge related to things and I am get a little frustrated.

No matter what FPS I have before switching to VR it always drops to the 22-25 rate. I have the oculus debug tool to vary pixel density from 0 to 1.7. I have installed the Oculus Tray Tool.

Any ideas?

Jack
Kayla Dillon

Re: VR Frame Rate Drop

Post by Kayla Dillon »

Hello,

We have made a lot of improvements to VR in 4.2. I suggest you update to 4.2 if you aren't waiting for any addons to become compatible.

Regards,
Kayla
Prepar3D® Software Engineer
pensioned1

Re: VR Frame Rate Drop v4.1

Post by pensioned1 »

Hi Kayla

I have been trying to download the newer version for two days now but I have very poor internet speed with limited download limit of 15 G /month. The download has quit twice and I have started again with still over 10 hours to go if uninterrupted .

Thanks for the reply.
Jack
Kayla Dillon

Post by Kayla Dillon »

Hello,

Have you tried using a download manager?

Regards,
Kayla
Prepar3D® Software Engineer
Beau Hollis
Lockheed Martin

Post by Beau Hollis »