2d Panel - Blackout

Other problems or issues not covered by other troubleshooting topics.
jhaley101

2d Panel - Blackout

Post by jhaley101 »

I have purchased various versions of P3d, looking forward to the 64 bit version. Please appreciate in reading this post, that there are some old timers out there that still enjoy a nice 2D panel while they fly. I have had the most recent version of Prepar3d working very nicely, but I CANNOT figure out this problem which I have found most closely discussed in the following thread.

Can you help with input. Basically, I'm attempting to use 2D panels and aircraft from FSX in P3D. They "appear" to load fine and work fine, but as soon as I start to cycle views, or change views, my screen blacks out. Sound continues, there is no error, but eventually the sim becomes unusable because it's just a black screen.

I'm a Pro Licence User and sure would appreciate some insight. The following information most closely resembles what I'm experiencing.

JH

I was inspecting VAS consumption with Process Explorer as I was flying from ESSA to LDSP. Blackout happened over Poland. I noticed in the Process Explorer that "commit charge" was at 99,97%. I closed all other programs quickly and blackout went away as Commit Charge dropped to 96.something %. I flew for a minute, black out came back and CTD happened. Free VAS vas >1,5 Gb.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Commit_charge

I started to wonder what caused the increase in Commit Charge. I flew same time with my friend, who uses FSX, and he reported that his Commit Charge rarely exceeded 40% on his machine.

I started a new flight, same fligthplan and everything. I kept my eye on Commit Charge all the time, and I found out that when I cycled view "S" through 2D cockpit, Commit Charge jumpted up a little. I continued to press "S": 2D -> Wingview -> Spot -> 2D -> Wingview -> Spot -> 2D.... and so on. After doing this for a minute, Commit Charge went to 100% and everything went black.