visual studio 2015 & latest std

SDK supports Prepar3D’s philosophy of an open development architecture and encourages third parties to bring new innovations with improved add-ons and training content.
User avatar
ronh991
Posts: 724
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2013 1:46 am
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: visual studio 2015 & latest std

Post by ronh991 »

If you got succeeded then check the release or debug folders. You exe or dll should be there.
Ron
zeidan
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2015 12:38 pm

Re: visual studio 2015 & latest std

Post by zeidan »

Hi, Ron991,

Still no success here.

By the way, I´ve noted some issues regarding to your steps:

Here are the steps I do:

1. create project (P3DTest) - Win32 console app - empty project
2. Copy paste the code example to a new cpp file (P3Dtest.cpp)
3. Right click on the project select properties.
4. expand C++

Only found VC++ Directories, which I think is correct
5. add new inc folder - in my case its F:\Program Files (x86)\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v3 SDK 3.3.5.17625\Utilities\SimConnect SDK\Inc
6. expand linker
7. include new lib folder - in my case F:\Program Files (x86)\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v3 SDK
3.3.5.17625\Utilities\SimConnect SDK\lib

Didn´t find in linker, but only in the previous VC++ Directories. Assumed Library Directories (inside VC++ Directories) as the correct one
8. select command line in Linker
9. in textbox type simconnect.lib (see SDK documentation)
10. build solution

You may also need to change the platform to V120 2013 in Configuration properties - General
and x86 only

This one seems to be tricky. I went to Configuration properties > General and simply didn´t find any place to change it.

Might yoy give some help? (Visual Studio 2015 Community)
zeidan
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2015 12:38 pm

Re: visual studio 2015 & latest std

Post by zeidan »

Hi ron991,

I revised all the proccess and discovered some mistakes I´ve maiden. Sorry about that.


This time, I had the fatal error bellow:
1>LINK : fatal error LNK1104: cannot open file 'C:\Program Files (x86)\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v2 SDK 2.5.12946.0\Utilities\SimConnect SDK\lib.obj'
During this proccess, I had a doubt about where to put the SimConnect input library. I put it on linker > Input > Additional Dependencies, just befores %(AdditionalDependencies), like this:
...odbc32.lib;odbccp32.lib;C:\Program Files (x86)\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v2 SDK 2.5.12946.0\Utilities\SimConnect SDK\lib;%(AdditionalDependencies)
Is that correct?

Thans for help :)
zeidan
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2015 12:38 pm

Re: visual studio 2015 & latest std

Post by zeidan »

Hi, ron991,

Finally, I´ve got to compile and run it! But only after install Visual Studio Express 2013.

Thanks a lot for the hint!

Best regards...
User avatar
ronh991
Posts: 724
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2013 1:46 am
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: visual studio 2015 & latest std

Post by ronh991 »

Did you still use VS2015? I had to download VS2015 to see if I could get things to work. You still have to set the platform back to 2013, so you need VS2013 installed or at least the platform dev kit for it.
Ron
Locked