[RESOLVED] Prepar3D v4 CTD. Carenado weather Radar (CMeteoXmlx64.dll)

Any issues, problems or troubleshooting topics related to the Prepar3D client application.
supersonic_80
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2012 9:45 am

[RESOLVED] Prepar3D v4 CTD. Carenado weather Radar (CMeteoXmlx64.dll)

Postby supersonic_80 » Sun Dec 03, 2017 1:35 pm

Hi, my sim runs pretty good. But when I try to use a weather addon, my sim CTD without any error message or entry in event log.
It hapens with ActiveSky and FSGlobalRealWeather. Since it is related to both weather adons, it is something in the sim that causes the issue. The interresting thing is, that it happens only at locations with heavy clouds.
The sim loads fully normal, then the weather is injected, clouds apear, CTD.
Or other scenario, the sim CTD direct during injection.

MartinM
Posts: 104
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2012 12:36 pm

Re: CTD P3Dv4.1 with weather addons

Postby MartinM » Mon Dec 04, 2017 2:29 pm

Same here

ActiveSky for P3Dv4, recently started to crash the sim. It is reproducible. Always. As soon as I launch P3D and then I add connect AS to it, the sim will CTD. Unfortunately the is no entry in the eventlog.

I deleted the shared cache
I delete the whole AS installation and reinstalled it
I delete the prepare3d.cfg

The only think that was fixed, which was weird. The F16 hud has become better readable.
IVAO weather engine does not crash the sim, but it does no inject any temperature.

Any idea?

User avatar
Brady Butler
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 934
Joined: Tue May 09, 2017 5:31 pm

Re: CTD P3Dv4.1 with weather addons

Postby Brady Butler » Mon Dec 04, 2017 2:33 pm

Hello,

Have you contacted the add-on developers for direct support? If they need any support with development, they should not hesitate to contact us.

Regards,
Brady
Brady Butler
Prepar3D® Software Engineer

MartinM
Posts: 104
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2012 12:36 pm

Re: CTD P3Dv4.1 with weather addons

Postby MartinM » Mon Dec 04, 2017 2:37 pm

I did

They recommended to reinstall the AS4. Which I did. Then the suggested to contact LM. ;)

User avatar
Brady Butler
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 934
Joined: Tue May 09, 2017 5:31 pm

Re: CTD P3Dv4.1 with weather addons

Postby Brady Butler » Mon Dec 04, 2017 2:52 pm

Are they able to reproduce the error on their end? Did you give them any reproduction steps?

In the mean time you could try the general debugging steps to see if that fixes the issue: http://www.prepar3d.com/forum/viewtopic ... 2&t=123246

Regards,
Brady
Brady Butler
Prepar3D® Software Engineer

supersonic_80
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2012 9:45 am

Re: CTD P3Dv4.1 with weather addons

Postby supersonic_80 » Sun Dec 10, 2017 1:10 pm

Hi, back from business trip.
I'm curently investigating further the issue.
During the crashes I was now able to get event reports. I was also able to create some dump files.
Maybe this can help LM to solve the problem.
I only have this problems in combination with weather addon.
You can get it here:
https://1drv.ms/f/s!ArYSBWsK01SVrHxpcizcuILKJTtt
case1: app hang
case2: crash atc.dll
case3: framework error 4.0.30319 and KERNELBASE.dll
case4: crash atc.dll

Files need some time to upload. 13GB!

Martyson
Posts: 6439
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: CTD P3Dv4.1 with weather addons

Postby Martyson » Mon Dec 11, 2017 8:31 am

I have not had problems with ActiveSky (currrent version for P3Dv4) yet.

I just got the FSGRW update for P3Dv4 .. so I can now test it.

"Always. As soon as I launch P3D and then I add connect AS to it, the sim will CTD. "

What exactly does this part "then I add connect AS to it" mean?

Are you starting Activesky before starting the sim?
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

MartinM
Posts: 104
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2012 12:36 pm

Re: CTD P3Dv4.1 with weather addons

Postby MartinM » Fri Dec 15, 2017 8:57 am

I have not had problems with ActiveSky (currrent version for P3Dv4) yet.

I just got the FSGRW update for P3Dv4 .. so I can now test it.

"Always. As soon as I launch P3D and then I add connect AS to it, the sim will CTD. "

What exactly does this part "then I add connect AS to it" mean?

Are you starting Activesky before starting the sim?
Meaning that as soon as the AS4 injects the new weather (green line depicting new weather), P3D freezes and after a few seconds it crashes.

Martyson
Posts: 6439
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: CTD P3Dv4.1 with weather addons

Postby Martyson » Fri Dec 15, 2017 11:29 am

I have not had problems with ActiveSky (currrent version for P3Dv4) yet.

I just got the FSGRW update for P3Dv4 .. so I can now test it.

"Always. As soon as I launch P3D and then I add connect AS to it, the sim will CTD. "

What exactly does this part "then I add connect AS to it" mean?

Are you starting Activesky before starting the sim?
Meaning that as soon as the AS4 injects the new weather (green line depicting new weather), P3D freezes and after a few seconds it crashes.
I tested ActiveSky and FSGRW.

No problems to report. KDTW e.g., bkn 1800 OC 3000.

Maybe post when you are at a departure airport (flight loaded at the gate) with the weather situation causing the problem.
Then another pilot could go to the same airport and test ... real time.
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

User avatar
Brady Butler
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 934
Joined: Tue May 09, 2017 5:31 pm

Re: CTD P3Dv4.1 with weather addons

Postby Brady Butler » Wed Dec 20, 2017 12:34 pm

We'll investigate the dump files. Have the add-on developers been able to reproduce this issue yet?

Also, in the meantime, you're sure your add-ons and drivers are up to date with the most recent releases?

Regards,
Brady
Brady Butler
Prepar3D® Software Engineer

supersonic_80
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2012 9:45 am

Re: CTD P3Dv4.1 with weather addons

Postby supersonic_80 » Wed Dec 20, 2017 3:02 pm

Unfortunately they have not been able to reproduce it.
It’s really strange. The sim runs very fine by itself with only P3Dv4 addons. When I add a weather addon it’s crashing by bad weather.
I had done a 4.1 upgrade from 4.0 with all the required components.

I hope you can identify a bug in the dumps, that would solve my headache.
Looking forward to your results.

User avatar
Brady Butler
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 934
Joined: Tue May 09, 2017 5:31 pm

Re: CTD P3Dv4.1 with weather addons

Postby Brady Butler » Tue Jan 23, 2018 12:44 pm

Hello supersonic_80,

Are you still seeing this issue?

Regards,
Brady
Brady Butler
Prepar3D® Software Engineer

User avatar
Poppet
Posts: 2770
Joined: Sat Nov 01, 2014 4:12 pm

Re: CTD P3Dv4.1 with weather addons

Postby Poppet » Tue Jan 23, 2018 1:38 pm

When I add a weather addon it’s crashing by bad weather.

Hello supersonic_80

This may not solve your Issue but can you try this step anyway...........

The 2 entry's below are from your dll.xml file, They are for the Carenado weather Radar, Please disable them and then test Prepar3D

Change <Disabled>False</Disabled> To <Disabled>True</Disabled> as seen below

Change both entries to True, Insure you Save it, Then launch Prepar3D and test

Let us know how you get on

<Launch.Addon>
<Name>CMeteoXml</Name>
<Disabled>True</Disabled>
<Path>.\CMeteoXmlx64.dll</Path>
</Launch.Addon>

<Launch.Addon>
<Name>Carenavigraph</Name>
<Disabled>True</Disabled>
<Path>.\Carenavigraphx64.dll</Path>
</Launch.Addon>

supersonic_80
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2012 9:45 am

Re: CTD P3Dv4.1 with weather addons

Postby supersonic_80 » Sun Feb 04, 2018 8:14 pm

When I add a weather addon it’s crashing by bad weather.

Hello supersonic_80

This may not solve your Issue but can you try this step anyway...........

The 2 entry's below are from your dll.xml file, They are for the Carenado weather Radar, Please disable them and then test Prepar3D

Change <Disabled>False</Disabled> To <Disabled>True</Disabled> as seen below

Change both entries to True, Insure you Save it, Then launch Prepar3D and test

Let us know how you get on

<Launch.Addon>
<Name>CMeteoXml</Name>
<Disabled>True</Disabled>
<Path>.\CMeteoXmlx64.dll</Path>
</Launch.Addon>

<Launch.Addon>
<Name>Carenavigraph</Name>
<Disabled>True</Disabled>
<Path>.\Carenavigraphx64.dll</Path>
</Launch.Addon>


Hi, I also had this idea a few days ago. I don’t know why I haven’t tested that before, but deactivating this carenado Entry solved the problems. So from my side no more problems, and never again carenado. Thank you!
I tested now Skyforce, FSGRW and ASN. All working fine.

Martyson
Posts: 6439
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: CTD P3Dv4.1 with weather addons

Postby Martyson » Sun Feb 04, 2018 9:46 pm

Just fo follow up info here:
I found a response from a support ticket I set to Carenado (approx Nov 2016):

"Meteo file info from Carenado ..
I submitted a support ticket and this is their answer:
the Meteo file, is for the weather radar that is not supported on P3Dv3, we had to disable it, as it was causing CTD. P3D people are aware of this issue and we are waiting an update from them to solve the incompatibility issue.
Regards,
Carenado."
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)


Return to “Prepar3D Client Application Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 21 guests