HP Reverb G2 and WMR portal in P3Dv5.1 HF1

Any issues, problems or troubleshooting topics related to the additional features present in the Prepar3D Professional Plus client application.
Post Reply
Michael Thewissen
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 3:30 pm

HP Reverb G2 and WMR portal in P3Dv5.1 HF1

Post by Michael Thewissen »

Hi,

since some days, I am a happy owner of the Reverb G2. Flying Prepar3d in VR now has a stunning visual level. But it is a drawback that I cannot open the Windows Mixed Reality portal during a flight: P3D closes as soon as I press Windows-Y or the appropriate controller button. Please change this and let us VR enthusiasts get access to the desktop with our ATC- and weather programs.

Kind Regards,
Michael
P3D v5.1 HF1, Active Sky, Pro-Atc/X, HP Reverb G2, MSI Mortar B150M, Samsung 970 EVO 1TB SSD, NVIDIA Geforce RTX 2080, Win10 64bit, i7-6700k 4.0GHz, 32Gb RAM, Thrustmaster T16000M, Saitek Pro Flight Rudder Pedals
User avatar
JorgenSA
Posts: 3556
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: HP Reverb G2 and WMR portal in P3Dv5 HF2

Post by JorgenSA »

Michael,

If P3D closes as you describe it, then there should be an "Error" entry in the Windows Event Viewer at the time of the crash, and this should contain a "Failing module name".

Please post that error information here.

Jorgen
System: i7-7700K @ 4.66 GHz, ASUS Z170-A motherboard, 16 GB 3200 MHz DDR4 RAM, nVidia GTX 960 w/ 4 GB DDR5 VRAM, Windows 10 Home.

All views and opinions expressed here are entirely my own. I am not a Lockheed-Martin employee.
User avatar
Beau Hollis
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 2242
Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2010 3:25 pm

Re: HP Reverb G2 and WMR portal in P3Dv5 HF2

Post by Beau Hollis »

Have you tried updating to v5.1 HF1? We've used the G2 with the last build and haven't seen this issue.
Beau Hollis
Prepar3D Software Architect
Michael Thewissen
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 3:30 pm

Re: HP Reverb G2 and WMR portal in P3Dv5 HF2

Post by Michael Thewissen »

Dear Beau Hollis,

I am on P3D v5.1 HF1. (I just saw that my signature was not up to date.) SteamVR closes instantaneously when I hit that button. Then P3D quits. May be it is a VRAM problem on my side (8GB).

Michael
P3D v5.1 HF1, Active Sky, Pro-Atc/X, HP Reverb G2, MSI Mortar B150M, Samsung 970 EVO 1TB SSD, NVIDIA Geforce RTX 2080, Win10 64bit, i7-6700k 4.0GHz, 32Gb RAM, Thrustmaster T16000M, Saitek Pro Flight Rudder Pedals
User avatar
JorgenSA
Posts: 3556
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: HP Reverb G2 and WMR portal in P3Dv5 HF2

Post by JorgenSA »

Michael,

Is there anything in Event Viewer at the time of the crash?

Jorgen
System: i7-7700K @ 4.66 GHz, ASUS Z170-A motherboard, 16 GB 3200 MHz DDR4 RAM, nVidia GTX 960 w/ 4 GB DDR5 VRAM, Windows 10 Home.

All views and opinions expressed here are entirely my own. I am not a Lockheed-Martin employee.
User avatar
Beau Hollis
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 2242
Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2010 3:25 pm

Re: HP Reverb G2 and WMR portal in P3Dv5 HF2

Post by Beau Hollis »

Not sure if this is related to your issue, but one problem we did have while testing out the G2 was related to full screen transition. Are you using full screen mode? Is the portal running prior to P3D launching? MS added a feature that allows Win32 apps to run inside the Window MR portal. I think this was done primary so that the new chromium based Edge could work. In any case, this is accomplished by creating 3 virtual 1080p desktop displays. For me these showed up in a vertical column below my primary monitor in the Win10 resolution settings. Microsoft has added a registry entry to disable the virtual displays.

https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/window ... osoft-edge

As you already guessed, VRAM may also be an issue. Open up task manager and see if you're getting maxed out. The WMR portal and SteamVR can combine to use around 3GB of VRAM with a Reverb headset rendering at full resolution. Unfortunately the Cliff House scene used for the portal app uses about 1GB of texture and mesh resources and it doesn't release them even after you launch SteamVR. You may need to tune down settings or adjust the HMD resolution to run well on an 8GB card.

You can get a good feel for your baseline memory usage by going into SteamVR without P3D running and looking at VRAM usage in the task manager,
Beau Hollis
Prepar3D Software Architect
Michael Thewissen
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 3:30 pm

Re: HP Reverb G2 and WMR portal in P3Dv5 HF2

Post by Michael Thewissen »

@Jorgen:
There is nothing in the Event viewer, also no dxdiag.txt in the Prepar3D Appdata directory.

@Beau Hollis:
I start SteamVR before Prepar3D. The WMR-Portal is started automatically by SteamVR and I leave it in windowed mode.

Thank you,
Michael
P3D v5.1 HF1, Active Sky, Pro-Atc/X, HP Reverb G2, MSI Mortar B150M, Samsung 970 EVO 1TB SSD, NVIDIA Geforce RTX 2080, Win10 64bit, i7-6700k 4.0GHz, 32Gb RAM, Thrustmaster T16000M, Saitek Pro Flight Rudder Pedals
Highflyer747
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri May 10, 2019 7:11 am

Re: HP Reverb G2 and WMR portal in P3Dv5.1 HF1

Post by Highflyer747 »

Hello.

My Reverb G2 arrived today.

Same problem on my side as described by Michael Thewissen. I'm using P3D v4.5 and a RTX3080 ( 10GB VRAM ) so VRAM shouldnt be an issue.

Best regards,

Toto
Post Reply