Trouble installing Prepar3D

Any issues, problems or troubleshooting topics related to installing the Prepar3D client application or it's installer.
MooneyBravo
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Oct 04, 2014 1:13 am

Postby MooneyBravo » Sun Oct 12, 2014 3:55 pm

Next step.

Go to your original product download page.



Each file available for download will have a valid checksum.



Is your checksum correct?

Saul
Posts: 3510
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2013 1:02 pm
Location: Manchester, UK

Postby Saul » Mon Oct 13, 2014 1:57 am

The error your getting is due to a corrupted download. You can use a download manager to help complete your download.

I would download the individual files that report errors and then try again.

Martyson
Posts: 8657
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Postby Martyson » Mon Oct 13, 2014 6:04 am

Also, have a quick look at his checksum on the downloaded ZIP as a double check.
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

MooneyBravo
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Oct 04, 2014 1:13 am

Postby MooneyBravo » Mon Oct 13, 2014 1:39 pm

What is checksum?


MooneyBravo
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Oct 04, 2014 1:13 am

Postby MooneyBravo » Mon Oct 13, 2014 1:41 pm

Can you recommend a download manager? I've used IE, Firefox and Opera and Chrome.

Thx

MooneyBravo
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Oct 04, 2014 1:13 am

Postby MooneyBravo » Mon Oct 13, 2014 1:43 pm

:o

yurko
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2014 11:20 pm

Postby yurko » Mon Oct 13, 2014 2:34 pm

Mooney Bravo

Checksum is a procedure for verifying the integrity of the downloaded files. A slick utility for doing this is free at www.winmd5.com. Takes only a few minutes.

Yurko

MooneyBravo
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Oct 04, 2014 1:13 am

Postby MooneyBravo » Tue Oct 14, 2014 11:10 am

Ok Thanks I will check it out

MooneyBravo
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Oct 04, 2014 1:13 am

Postby MooneyBravo » Tue Oct 14, 2014 11:22 am

Ok I tried WinMD5

Selected the download inside of WinZip; Prepar3D_v2_Academic

Current file MD5 checksum value says 48ebbee3f2384a817f539ee2c8eb96fe



??

Martyson
Posts: 8657
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Postby Martyson » Tue Oct 14, 2014 11:32 am

Next step.

Go to your original product download page.



Each file available for download will have a valid checksum.



Is your checksum correct?
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

MooneyBravo
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Oct 04, 2014 1:13 am

Postby MooneyBravo » Tue Oct 14, 2014 1:00 pm

Yes

I also entered it into the optional space in MD5 to verify

Matched

MooneyBravo
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Oct 04, 2014 1:13 am

Postby MooneyBravo » Tue Oct 14, 2014 1:06 pm

The error message during installation says data1.cab missing yet they are both present. I tried downloading it but I'm not sure where I would place it. The file I have is compiled of many files. I have studies and successfully tinkered with some cfg and reg files but I am by no means a tech.

Martyson
Posts: 8657
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Postby Martyson » Tue Oct 14, 2014 1:36 pm

Try:

Delete the dataCab1 file that is part of the un-zipped set of files (or move dataCab1 file to another location).



Copy your newly downloaded datacab1 back into the set .. so you now have a full set again.



I did the patch so I cannot do a test first.



Which version of Windows do you have?



Is your downloaded ZIP in a protected Windows folder?



Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

MooneyBravo
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Oct 04, 2014 1:13 am

Postby MooneyBravo » Tue Oct 14, 2014 6:24 pm

I will try the above

I have Win7 64bit

Thank you

MooneyBravo
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Oct 04, 2014 1:13 am

Postby MooneyBravo » Wed Oct 15, 2014 1:44 pm

WinZip won't allow me to move or delete the original data1.cab so I can replace it with the new. It says that it requires an unsupported compression scheme.


Return to “Prepar3D Installation and Installer Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests