Patch and be happy! (A solution)

Any issues, problems or troubleshooting topics related to installing the Prepar3D client application or it's installer.
Cruachan
Posts: 204
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 2:33 am
Location: Midlothian, Scotland

Postby Cruachan » Tue Oct 07, 2014 11:39 am

Markus



OK, I understand, thank you for the tutorial.



I make a backup of P3DV2XX.

It takes about 50 minutes to install P3DV2.(new release), IVAO, IFLY, FSUIPC etc.



See here: http://aircockpit.com/viewtopic.php?f=87&t=3638&start=60



I speak French I apologize for the English translation.



Good morning from Brussel,Belgium.



Regards,



Jacques ;)

Pidder
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2012 3:45 pm

Postby Pidder » Tue Oct 07, 2014 3:00 pm

Hey Mike, your findings and solution sound great. Will check this way tomorrow afternoon. Thanks a lot for your tough work making the install patch usable for those with the "Could not write..." error.

THANK YOU!

banjoman1960
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2012 9:54 pm

Postby banjoman1960 » Tue Oct 07, 2014 6:05 pm

thank´s...........i think it work......

c-fdog
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2014 9:56 pm

Postby c-fdog » Tue Oct 07, 2014 6:15 pm

Mike thank you for all the time and effort on this.



I have a question if someone could answer.



If I attempt to patch(which I have been holding off),and the patch fails is any harm done or is my 2.3 right back where is was before the attempt as if I had not even tried the patch.



Thank you

Cruachan
Posts: 204
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 2:33 am
Location: Midlothian, Scotland

Postby Cruachan » Tue Oct 07, 2014 8:27 pm



Quote:

Quote from c-fdog on October 7, 2014, 18:15

Mike thank you for all the time and effort on this.



I have a question if someone could answer.



If I attempt to patch(which I have been holding off),and the patch fails is any harm done or is my 2.3 right back where is was before the attempt as if I had not even tried the patch.



Thank you




Hi c-fdog,



I suggest:



1. You take the precaution of backing up those 4 folders as described in Step 3. They can be put back if need be.



2. You backup the 117 original P3D v2.3 files that you will be replacing with those provided by the Patch Updater in the temporary 'dummy' Prepar3D v2 folder. Again, these can be restored to their original locations if necessary. Your existing installation won't change until you overwrite those 117 files with their updated versions.



3. If you are really feeling anxious about doing any of this, then I suggest you create a backup of the entire Prepar3D v2 folder (containing your working v2.3 installation) to an external drive before doing anything else. May take a while unless you have, say, 'Acronis True Image Home' to lend a helping hand. I did a simple copy and paste and went away and did something else until it completed.



However, if you follow the instructions carefully I'm pretty confident you should be okay. Just take plenty of time to do it correctly.



Thank you.



Mike

Dieter
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2012 8:48 am

Postby Dieter » Wed Oct 08, 2014 5:53 am

It took a "long and rocky way" to get this solution.

Michael, thank you very much indeed to present this made-to-meassure-solution to us!

Now we will have fun again with Prepar 3D.



Dieter



I'm using Academic Version

c-fdog
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2014 9:56 pm

Postby c-fdog » Wed Oct 08, 2014 7:11 am

Mike

I will do as you suggest and again thank you for your time on this issue.




Pidder
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2012 3:45 pm

Postby Pidder » Wed Oct 08, 2014 9:10 am

Mike, your solution works fine! THANK YOU again!!



P3Dv24.jpg

Cruachan
Posts: 204
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 2:33 am
Location: Midlothian, Scotland

Postby Cruachan » Wed Oct 08, 2014 9:35 am

Hey guys,



All sounds very encouraging - I appreciate the feedback!



Could I ask you all to edit your posts stating which licence you hold: Academic or Professional? It would be helpful for others to know that this procedure works for both.



Many thanks.

Mike




jacquesvde1
Posts: 195
Joined: Tue Oct 29, 2013 9:19 pm

Postby jacquesvde1 » Wed Oct 08, 2014 9:36 am

hello,



Simply uninstall your current version and download and install the full 2.4.

That's what I always do and I have no problem with P3DV2. (new release).

I never use the patch.



Jacques ;)


Pidder
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2012 3:45 pm

Postby Pidder » Wed Oct 08, 2014 10:03 am

Jacques, sometimes it is better to write nothing than to write nonsense in this thread!

We all know how to do a new full install but that is exactly what we want to avoid.



Mike, as you've seen at my registry string I'm using the Professional Edition of P3D.

All the installation/update process worked as you described it.



Bye from Berlin, GER

Markus

jacquesvde1
Posts: 195
Joined: Tue Oct 29, 2013 9:19 pm

Postby jacquesvde1 » Wed Oct 08, 2014 10:20 am



Quote:

Quote from Pidder on October 8, 2014, 10:03

Jacques, sometimes it is better to write nothing than to write nonsense in this thread!

We all know how to do a new full install but that is exactly what we want to avoid.



Mike, as you've seen at my registry string I'm using the Professional Edition of P3D.

All the installation/update process worked as you described it.



Bye from Berlin, GER

Markus




hello Markus,



I sorry that you take it wrong.



how well you do, in the next P3DV2.5?



Regards,

Jacques


banjoman1960
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2012 9:54 pm

Postby banjoman1960 » Wed Oct 08, 2014 10:43 am

i use Academic

Pidder
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2012 3:45 pm

Postby Pidder » Wed Oct 08, 2014 11:15 am



Quote:

Quote from jacquesvde1 on October 8, 2014, 10:20

I sorry that you take it wrong.



how well you do, in the next P3DV2.5?


It will depend on what changes are made from 2.4 to 2.5. As I've installed more than 250 GB of addon scenery and airplanes i really want to avoid a complete new install. From 2.3 to 2.4 it was not that big change, so without the patch I would be stuck with 2.3.



Bye from Berlin, GER

Markus

jacquesvde1
Posts: 195
Joined: Tue Oct 29, 2013 9:19 pm

Postby jacquesvde1 » Wed Oct 08, 2014 12:18 pm

Markus



OK, I understand, thank you for the tutorial.



I make a backup of P3DV2XX.

It takes about 50 minutes to install P3DV2.(new release), IVAO, IFLY, FSUIPC etc.



See here: http://aircockpit.com/viewtopic.php?f=87&t=3638&start=60



I speak French I apologize for the English translation.



Good morning from Brussel,Belgium.



Regards,



Jacques ;)


Return to “Prepar3D Installation and Installer Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests