P3D v5 installation

Any issues, problems or troubleshooting topics related to installing the Prepar3D client application or it's installer.
MagyarMatt
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Jul 20, 2017 6:58 pm

P3D v5 installation

Postby MagyarMatt » Wed Apr 08, 2020 8:06 am

Will version 5 be installed over version 4 and then be a case of waiting for addons to be compatible. Or will it be a total standalone installation with everything needing to be downloaded all over again as they become available for version 5?

Martyson
Posts: 8312
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: P3D v5 installation

Postby Martyson » Wed Apr 08, 2020 8:29 am

Will version 5 be installed over version 4 and then be a case of waiting for addons to be compatible. Or will it be a total standalone installation with everything needing to be downloaded all over again as they become available for version 5?
P3Dv5, Stand alone:
https://www.prepar3d.com/prepar3d-store/

P3Dv5 info:
https://www.prepar3d.com/home-slider/2020/04/115906/
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

User avatar
Rob McCarthy
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 2682
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 1:37 pm

Re: P3D v5 installation

Postby Rob McCarthy » Wed Apr 08, 2020 1:36 pm

Hello,

Version 5 is be a completely new product and can be installed alongside version 4 without affecting your v4 installation. As far as add-on compatibility goes your best bet is to reach out to the specific developers and confirm with them. One of our goals we've always had is to ensure backwards compatibility as much as possible with our updates. We have worked extensively to ensure backwards compatibility has been maintained as much as possible in version 5.

Regards,
Rob McCarthy
Rob McCarthy
Prepar3D® Core Lead

MagyarMatt
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Jul 20, 2017 6:58 pm

Re: P3D v5 installation

Postby MagyarMatt » Wed Apr 08, 2020 5:11 pm

Ok thanks for the information.

BlueBird1
Posts: 54
Joined: Sun Dec 31, 2017 2:37 pm
Location: Albuquerque, NM

Re: P3D v5 installation

Postby BlueBird1 » Fri Apr 10, 2020 7:02 pm

I thought if we had version 4.5, V5 was going to be a free update? Is that true? Or do we have to buy V5 now as well?

Thanks
Bluebird1

Martyson
Posts: 8312
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: P3D v5 installation

Postby Martyson » Fri Apr 10, 2020 9:00 pm

I thought if we had version 4.5, V5 was going to be a free update? Is that true? Or do we have to buy V5 now as well?

Thanks
Bluebird1
P3Dv5 is a new purchase. Some infrmation here:
https://www.prepar3d.com/prepar3d-store/
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

BlueBird1
Posts: 54
Joined: Sun Dec 31, 2017 2:37 pm
Location: Albuquerque, NM

Re: P3D v5 installation

Postby BlueBird1 » Fri Apr 10, 2020 9:11 pm

Thanks sir. I think I would have to see a more impressive video on the graphics before diving in on V5. Plus nervous about some of the payware being compatible.

3221807
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2019 11:41 am

Re: P3D v5 installation

Postby 3221807 » Sat Apr 11, 2020 1:00 pm

Sadly with the lack of support I have received from Lockheed Martin (Still waiting for a response from 22 March post) I doubt if I would be upgrading to v5.
I have spent a fair amount of money on Orbx scenery and other software from various vendors only to have it ruined through LM not doing much regarding assisting a client.

JorgenSA
Posts: 1354
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: P3D v5 installation

Postby JorgenSA » Sat Apr 11, 2020 2:27 pm

It is up to L-M to fix problems with P3D.

But that is also where their responsibility ends.

It is up to the add-on manufacturers to make their product run on P3D. It is NOT an L-M problem if something does not run on P3D.

It is up to the add-on manufacturers to work with L-M to make their product according to the specifications required by P3D, and after that is is their responsibility to support their product so that the users actually can use it with P3D on the user's systems.

Welcome to the stark reality of tech support -

Jorgen
System: i7-7700K @ 4.66 GHz, ASUS Z170-A motherboard, 16 GB of 2133 MHz DDR4 RAM, nVidia GTX 960 graphics w/ 4 GB DDR5 VRAM, Thrustmaster HOTAS-X, Windows 10 Home

Martyson
Posts: 8312
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: P3D v5 installation

Postby Martyson » Sat Apr 11, 2020 2:48 pm

Sadly with the lack of support I have received from Lockheed Martin (Still waiting for a response from 22 March post) I doubt if I would be upgrading to v5.
I have spent a fair amount of money on Orbx scenery and other software from various vendors only to have it ruined through LM not doing much regarding assisting a client.
"Sadly with the lack of support I have received from Lockheed Martin (Still waiting for a response from 22 March post) I doubt if I would be upgrading to v5."

Do you have a link to that post?

Note:
this topic is about installing P3Dv5
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

regulate
Posts: 63
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2013 6:36 pm

Re: P3D v5 installation

Postby regulate » Sun Apr 12, 2020 5:15 pm

Do we know the hard drive space requirements for installation of P3DV5?


Return to “Prepar3D Installation and Installer Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Majestic-12 [Bot] and 28 guests