P34.5 Hotfix

Any issues, problems or troubleshooting topics related to installing the Prepar3D client application or it's installer.
xxd09
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2015 10:54 am

P34.5 Hotfix

Postby xxd09 » Mon May 20, 2019 1:04 pm

When I install Hotfix a la Poppets instructions I get a black screen and a small screen superimposed about to load Scenery the sim crashes
Using Client only
Done this procedure many time with no problem
Hotfix never asked for Activation
Uninstalled and went back to 4.5
All OK except WX Radar doesn’t work and has to be disabled
Anything I could try?
xxd09

User avatar
Rob McCarthy
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 2200
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 1:37 pm

Re: P34.5 Hotfix

Postby Rob McCarthy » Mon May 20, 2019 1:27 pm

Hello,

Does running the "Delete Generated Files" shortcut in the application directory resolve what you are seeing? Try this after installing the hotfix but before running it for the first time.

Regards,
Rob McCarthy
Rob McCarthy
Prepar3D® Core Lead

xxd09
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2015 10:54 am

Re: P34.5 Hotfix

Postby xxd09 » Mon May 20, 2019 5:12 pm

No joy
Thanks for reply
Back to 4.5 -all good
xxd09

xxd09
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2015 10:54 am

Re: P34.5 Hotfix

Postby xxd09 » Tue May 21, 2019 1:30 pm

Meant to say MV WX Radar doesn’t work but had put in 4.5 Hotfix Update for Milviz planes and MV WX Radar is not backwards compatible
xxd09

xxd09
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2015 10:54 am

Re: P34.5 Hotfix

Postby xxd09 » Tue May 21, 2019 11:06 pm

Now got all my latest Rex updates in place
All is good -all is working
BUT still cannot get P3D 4.5 Hotfix to install
Everything works in P3D4.5 so I am stuck with it for the foreseeable unless anyone has any ideas?
First time I have any problems updating P3D all the way from P3Dv 3
xxd09

xxd09
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2015 10:54 am

Re: P34.5 Hotfix

Postby xxd09 » Fri Jun 07, 2019 8:31 am

Can I relate another fact which may give a more technically minded person than me a clue to resolving my problem
I note that during the install of this Hotfix that the License has to be used unlike previous updates(no option available for P3D to remain activated)
I do not get this request during the installation of the Hofix- in fact this warned me that things were not going to plan
Is this new fact of any help in resolving my current impasse ?
xxd09

xxd09
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2015 10:54 am

Re: P34.5 Hotfix

Postby xxd09 » Fri Jun 07, 2019 7:34 pm

If I install Hot fix in the usual way but before running it
1) Delete Generated Files folder-first keeping a backup copy on desktop
2) Delete P3Dv4 Addons and P3Dv4 file in Documents-first keeping a backup on Desktop
Then see if Hotfix P3D runs
And if it does can I the restore the 3backed up files one by one?
Or will that put me back where I started?
xxd09


Return to “Prepar3D Installation and Installer Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests