Page 1 of 1

P3D v 4.5 just runs in the background

Posted: Fri Apr 12, 2019 3:37 pm
by Chris767
Hello there,

I‘ve got a problem since I updated to v 4.5. The sim just starts normally with splash screen an than after a short period of time it vanishes.
In the task manager it runs in the background.
I did all the things mentioned here in the forum to get the sim run again. But nothing happened. Even a clean installation did not solve the problem.
I deinstalled all addons prior the deinstallation of the sim. I cleaned the registry, deleted every folder that was connected to the installation, i unplugged all usb devices and turned of my internet security software during the installation process, but it still does not work.

Version 4.4 was the best running flight sim on my system. No problems, wonderful framerates and with wonderful graphic settings.

My rig: Core i7 975 XE @ 4.2 GHz, 18 Gb RAM, GeForce GTX1080, 8 Gb GDDR, Samsung SSD Evo 250 Gb

Please help me to get my sim run again!

Thx in advance,

Christian Schulz

Re: P3D v 4.5 just runs in the background

Posted: Fri Apr 12, 2019 3:40 pm
by Simbol
See this:

https://www.prepar3d.com/forum/viewtopi ... 2&t=133133

Use the solution indicated there by Kayla.
Hello all,

Could you try to add the following entry to your Prepar3D.cfg?

In the [STARTUP] section:

LoadVirtualReality = 0

If there is no [STARTUP] section, you can create one and just paste the following to the end of your config:

[STARTUP]
LoadVirtualReality = 0

Thanks,
Kayla


Regards,
Simbol

Re: P3D v 4.5 just runs in the background

Posted: Sat Apr 13, 2019 8:15 am
by Chris767
Yes, thanks, That fixed it for me.

Kind regards,
Chrsitian

Re: P3D v 4.5 just runs in the background

Posted: Sat Apr 13, 2019 1:41 pm
by david.gubbins
I have the same problem but with an Error creating Child window preceding the loss of foreground processing.Help!!!!!

Re: P3D v 4.5 just runs in the background

Posted: Sun Apr 14, 2019 8:09 pm
by david.gubbins
Resolved by setting virtual reality as explained
However 3rd party add-ons are plagued with Child Window errors
Usually reliable providers such as SimSkunkWorks and Aeroplane Heaven are crashing the system.
I would love to know how to resolve this issue, tried with Norton on and off while downloading and installing makes no difference