Page 1 of 1

[RESOLVED] Upgrading from V4.2 to v4.3

Posted: Wed Jun 27, 2018 5:22 pm
by bobmay
Download went OK, install seemed to go OK.
Windows 10 'Apps and features' menu shows v 4.3.29.25520 installed but when I start P3D I can only get v4.2, (which still works fine)
I have spent all day trying to solve this but no joy.
I have clearly missed something ......any help would be appreciated.
Bob.

Re: Upgrading from V4.2 to v4.3

Posted: Wed Jun 27, 2018 5:37 pm
by Brad Shiver
Hey Bob,

Have you uninstalled the 4.2 Client before installing 4.3?

-Brad

Re: Upgrading from V4.2 to v4.3

Posted: Wed Jun 27, 2018 7:08 pm
by bobmay
Thanks for yr reply

I did think of that and looked for the V.3 client but I can't find it. It does not appear in the list of files for Program files\Lockheed Martin\prepar3d

Any ideas where it might be?

Bob.

Re: Upgrading from V4.2 to v4.3

Posted: Wed Jun 27, 2018 7:35 pm
by bobmay
On re-reading my reply, I don't think I put my question very clearly

Where will I find the client.msi file for P3Dv4.2 so that I can delete it and install V4.3 ?

Bob.

Re: Upgrading from V4.2 to v4.3

Posted: Wed Jun 27, 2018 7:40 pm
by Rob McCarthy
Hi Bob,

Poppet posted a great topic outlining the steps to do a client update here: viewtopic.php?f=6322&t=120861

Regards,
Rob McCarthy

Re: Upgrading from V4.2 to v4.3

Posted: Wed Jun 27, 2018 9:24 pm
by bobmay
Thanks Rob,

I followed (most of) the check list and now I have the P3D splash screen but now it's stuck there.
A day wasted, how I wish I had never started this update, V4.2 was working beautifully (sigh)

Bob.

Re: Upgrading from V4.2 to v4.3

Posted: Wed Jun 27, 2018 9:36 pm
by Brad Shiver
Can you try deleting your generated files? You can find the shortcut "Delete Generated Files" in your main Prepar3D directory.

-Brad

Re: Upgrading from V4.2 to v4.3

Posted: Thu Jun 28, 2018 8:50 am
by bobmay
Well Brad, I staggered into my computer room this morning, bleary eyed with coffee mug in hand, dreading the job ahead of me of re-installing everything, and then read your post about 'deleting the generated files'. I had never noticed that option before, hidden among the other stuff, and if I had noticed it I would not have touched it, it sounds dangerous.
So in desperation I tried it ...and IT WORKED!
I'm now flying in v4.3 :-)
The C130 is beautiful the frame rates are great.
OK, I have some work to do to restore a lot of scenery addons but all my addon planes are there.
Another thing, one of my personal requests has been granted....the ability to access the scenery library without actually starting the sim.
Well done P3D team!
Thanks
Bob.

Re: Upgrading from V4.2 to v4.3

Posted: Thu Jun 28, 2018 11:38 am
by Brady Butler
That is one of my favorite success stories. Thanks for letting us know it worked!

Regards,
Brady