[RESOLVED] Upgrading from V4.2 to v4.3

Any issues, problems or troubleshooting topics related to installing the Prepar3D client application or it's installer.
bobmay
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2014 12:31 pm

[RESOLVED] Upgrading from V4.2 to v4.3

Postby bobmay » Wed Jun 27, 2018 5:22 pm

Download went OK, install seemed to go OK.
Windows 10 'Apps and features' menu shows v 4.3.29.25520 installed but when I start P3D I can only get v4.2, (which still works fine)
I have spent all day trying to solve this but no joy.
I have clearly missed something ......any help would be appreciated.
Bob.

Brad Shiver
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 320
Joined: Fri Mar 17, 2017 3:58 pm

Re: Upgrading from V4.2 to v4.3

Postby Brad Shiver » Wed Jun 27, 2018 5:37 pm

Hey Bob,

Have you uninstalled the 4.2 Client before installing 4.3?

-Brad

bobmay
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2014 12:31 pm

Re: Upgrading from V4.2 to v4.3

Postby bobmay » Wed Jun 27, 2018 7:08 pm

Thanks for yr reply

I did think of that and looked for the V.3 client but I can't find it. It does not appear in the list of files for Program files\Lockheed Martin\prepar3d

Any ideas where it might be?

Bob.

bobmay
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2014 12:31 pm

Re: Upgrading from V4.2 to v4.3

Postby bobmay » Wed Jun 27, 2018 7:35 pm

On re-reading my reply, I don't think I put my question very clearly

Where will I find the client.msi file for P3Dv4.2 so that I can delete it and install V4.3 ?

Bob.

User avatar
Rob McCarthy
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 2299
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 1:37 pm

Re: Upgrading from V4.2 to v4.3

Postby Rob McCarthy » Wed Jun 27, 2018 7:40 pm

Hi Bob,

Poppet posted a great topic outlining the steps to do a client update here: viewtopic.php?f=6322&t=120861

Regards,
Rob McCarthy
Rob McCarthy
Prepar3D® Core Lead

bobmay
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2014 12:31 pm

Re: Upgrading from V4.2 to v4.3

Postby bobmay » Wed Jun 27, 2018 9:24 pm

Thanks Rob,

I followed (most of) the check list and now I have the P3D splash screen but now it's stuck there.
A day wasted, how I wish I had never started this update, V4.2 was working beautifully (sigh)

Bob.

Brad Shiver
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 320
Joined: Fri Mar 17, 2017 3:58 pm

Re: Upgrading from V4.2 to v4.3

Postby Brad Shiver » Wed Jun 27, 2018 9:36 pm

Can you try deleting your generated files? You can find the shortcut "Delete Generated Files" in your main Prepar3D directory.

-Brad

bobmay
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2014 12:31 pm

Re: Upgrading from V4.2 to v4.3

Postby bobmay » Thu Jun 28, 2018 8:50 am

Well Brad, I staggered into my computer room this morning, bleary eyed with coffee mug in hand, dreading the job ahead of me of re-installing everything, and then read your post about 'deleting the generated files'. I had never noticed that option before, hidden among the other stuff, and if I had noticed it I would not have touched it, it sounds dangerous.
So in desperation I tried it ...and IT WORKED!
I'm now flying in v4.3 :-)
The C130 is beautiful the frame rates are great.
OK, I have some work to do to restore a lot of scenery addons but all my addon planes are there.
Another thing, one of my personal requests has been granted....the ability to access the scenery library without actually starting the sim.
Well done P3D team!
Thanks
Bob.

User avatar
Brady Butler
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 927
Joined: Tue May 09, 2017 5:31 pm

Re: Upgrading from V4.2 to v4.3

Postby Brady Butler » Thu Jun 28, 2018 11:38 am

That is one of my favorite success stories. Thanks for letting us know it worked!

Regards,
Brady
Brady Butler
Prepar3D® Software Engineer


Return to “Prepar3D Installation and Installer Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests