View Group migration V4.5 to V5.2

Any issues, problems or troubleshooting topics related to installing the Prepar3D client application or it's installer.
Post Reply
Aussie1234
Posts: 98
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 3:12 am

View Group migration V4.5 to V5.2

Post by Aussie1234 »

I am a very happy v4.5HF3 user but I think it is time to move my B737 cockpit to V5.2. There seems to be many good reports.

My view group is a 4 LCD screen, outside view, producing nearly seamless a 210 degree view.

My question is: Can I just copy and paste the existing view group file, over from v4.5 to v5.2, or is it a new file format or structure?

Aussie
P3d V5.2HF1: ProSim-AR B737 suite: Fully enc. 737 Cockpit:
AS3D weather: Rex Sky Force textures: Orbx world: GSX2: Open Cockpits & Simworld h'dware:
Ext view - 4 LED monitors, 210' view from 1x RTX 2070 Super:
Total 5 PCs on 1Gb HP network.
Aussie1234
Posts: 98
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 3:12 am

Re: View Group migration V4.5 to V5.2

Post by Aussie1234 »

I answered my own question after purchasing and installing V5.2.

I copied the two files over from v4.5 in the App Data folder to v5.2 and it works perfectly.

Aussie
P3d V5.2HF1: ProSim-AR B737 suite: Fully enc. 737 Cockpit:
AS3D weather: Rex Sky Force textures: Orbx world: GSX2: Open Cockpits & Simworld h'dware:
Ext view - 4 LED monitors, 210' view from 1x RTX 2070 Super:
Total 5 PCs on 1Gb HP network.
User avatar
dafyddp3d
Posts: 197
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2012 9:23 pm
Location: Birmingham UK

Re: View Group migration V4.5 to V5.2

Post by dafyddp3d »

Hi Aussie
Are your monitors driven by a single video card? The reason I ask is because there seems to be a problem with viewgroups after and including v5.1HF1 when using multiple GPUs. I'm hoping LM have fixed it.
Dave Nash

P3D v5.1.8.26742 on Win 10 64 bit (21H1.19043.1055)
3 x 4k Monitors driven by 3xGTX1080Ti
Mobo MSI X99A SLI Plus, with Core i7-5930K @ 4.2GHz, 32GB Mem (3000MHz), Corsair M500 SSDs
FSUIPC, PMDG 747, 777
Aussie1234
Posts: 98
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 3:12 am

Re: View Group migration V4.5 to V5.2

Post by Aussie1234 »

No, my four screens are driven by one RTX 2070 Super 8GB.
In my case, V5.2 has been a great improvement. I was getting 10-15FPS on approach into Fly Tampa YSSY. I now get about 20FPS which is quite acceptable. I lock my FPS at 30 and it seems to run smoothly.
I have been following that you have had problems with multiple cards. I hope LM fix it for you soon.

Aussie
P3d V5.2HF1: ProSim-AR B737 suite: Fully enc. 737 Cockpit:
AS3D weather: Rex Sky Force textures: Orbx world: GSX2: Open Cockpits & Simworld h'dware:
Ext view - 4 LED monitors, 210' view from 1x RTX 2070 Super:
Total 5 PCs on 1Gb HP network.
User avatar
dafyddp3d
Posts: 197
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2012 9:23 pm
Location: Birmingham UK

Re: View Group migration V4.5 to V5.2

Post by dafyddp3d »

OK, thanks for the reply. LM are strangely silent on this one, I'm reluctant to update until we get an official response!
Glad you are enjoying v5.2! I live in hope!
Dave Nash

P3D v5.1.8.26742 on Win 10 64 bit (21H1.19043.1055)
3 x 4k Monitors driven by 3xGTX1080Ti
Mobo MSI X99A SLI Plus, with Core i7-5930K @ 4.2GHz, 32GB Mem (3000MHz), Corsair M500 SSDs
FSUIPC, PMDG 747, 777
Aussie1234
Posts: 98
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 3:12 am

Re: View Group migration V4.5 to V5.2

Post by Aussie1234 »

I forgot to mention, I am running each of my four display monitors at a resolution of 1920 x 1080. (I just noticed you have 4K monitors). They are the large professional Samsung versions you see in shopping centres. One is a 75 inch and three 55 inch.

I figure handling the equivalent of 7,680 x 1080 image (about 17 feet wide) at 30FPS is enough for one card.

Aussie
P3d V5.2HF1: ProSim-AR B737 suite: Fully enc. 737 Cockpit:
AS3D weather: Rex Sky Force textures: Orbx world: GSX2: Open Cockpits & Simworld h'dware:
Ext view - 4 LED monitors, 210' view from 1x RTX 2070 Super:
Total 5 PCs on 1Gb HP network.
User avatar
dafyddp3d
Posts: 197
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2012 9:23 pm
Location: Birmingham UK

Re: View Group migration V4.5 to V5.2

Post by dafyddp3d »

Just tried v 5.2 HF1 and any issues there were with view-groups and multiple video cards seem to have been resolved, now working perfectly (with my original viewgroups.xml file!) on a vanilla install of v5.2HF1. If anyone had similar issues to me then I'd consider updating. Thanks LM!
Dave Nash

P3D v5.1.8.26742 on Win 10 64 bit (21H1.19043.1055)
3 x 4k Monitors driven by 3xGTX1080Ti
Mobo MSI X99A SLI Plus, with Core i7-5930K @ 4.2GHz, 32GB Mem (3000MHz), Corsair M500 SSDs
FSUIPC, PMDG 747, 777
Post Reply