Multiplayer Model Distance

Any issues, problems or troubleshooting topics related to the Prepar3D client application's multiplayer mode
Post Reply
azreark1
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2013 3:14 pm

Multiplayer Model Distance

Post by azreark1 »

So my customer is using their sims in multiplayer setups, and they are having a problem with the aircraft model not being drawn at a distance greater than .2nm. I've used all the old school FSX fixes like SmallPartRejectRadius to try and mitigate this but nothing is working with our current aircraft model, but works fine with the default aircraft. Any suggestions on what to add to our aircraft model that will allow it to be drawn at a greater distance?
Clifton Crane
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 1060
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2012 2:34 pm

Re: Multiplayer Model Distance

Post by Clifton Crane »

Hello,

Do you have any additional information on the model? Does it have LODs?

Do you see this behavior in every camera? Can you see the aircraft's lights or the aircraft's label even though the model isn't rendering?

Thanks.
Clifton Crane
Prepar3D® Software Engineer Sr.
azreark1
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2013 3:14 pm

Re: Multiplayer Model Distance

Post by azreark1 »

I'm not sure if the model has LOD's. Yes its the same in every view, whether the VC, Third Person, ETC for visibility distance. I can see lights and the aircraft tags no problem, just not the visual model, does the developer need to add LOD's to the aircraft model?
Clifton Crane
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 1060
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2012 2:34 pm

Re: Multiplayer Model Distance

Post by Clifton Crane »

Its possible that model has an LOD that does not have any geometry.
Clifton Crane
Prepar3D® Software Engineer Sr.
Post Reply