LOW fps in cruise..mediocre settings..

Any issues, problems or troubleshooting topics related to computer hardware and the Prepar3D client application
FlyHardiQ
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2018 3:12 am

LOW fps in cruise..mediocre settings..

Postby FlyHardiQ » Mon Jul 29, 2019 11:10 am

My PC specs - 7700k OC4.7ghz, GTX1080 8GB, 16GB RAM

Xplane 11 luns butter smooth and high settings unlike p3d with mediocre settings..multiple re installs and fresh windos boots but no luck..have tried everything from DDU to p3d.cfg delete and other stuff but no luck since the past 3 versions of p3d v4..currently running p3d v4.5 HF

help please..my fps is not at all smooth..all i'm looking for is a stable 30fps atleast..and I have also checked my addons but its not to do with any of those addons..

JorgenSA
Posts: 455
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: LOW fps in cruise..mediocre settings..

Postby JorgenSA » Mon Jul 29, 2019 11:47 am

First step, since you didn't indicate that you have done this:

https://www.prepar3d.com/SDKv4/prepar3d ... ation.html

Jorgen

FlyHardiQ
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2018 3:12 am

Re: LOW fps in cruise..mediocre settings..

Postby FlyHardiQ » Mon Jul 29, 2019 11:59 am

I tried the ones which would affect my fps but none of them worked..or if worked with other problems..thus I am out on tweaks..any other suggestions? here is my p3d.cfg https://pastebin.com/d3AtdPTy

JorgenSA
Posts: 455
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: LOW fps in cruise..mediocre settings..

Postby JorgenSA » Mon Jul 29, 2019 12:15 pm

Check in the BIOS of your motherboard to see if you have Hyperthreading on - if it is, then turn it off.

Then, in Prepar3D.cfg, add this

[JOBSCHDULER]

AffinityMask=14

If you wish to keep Hyperthreading on, then use 84 instead of 14.

Under [DISPLAY], set UPPER_FRAMERATE_LIMIT=25

You can play around with this one, but the eye can only see 25-30 frames/second.

Jorgen

FlyHardiQ
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2018 3:12 am

Re: LOW fps in cruise..mediocre settings..

Postby FlyHardiQ » Mon Jul 29, 2019 1:05 pm

Alright i'll give em a go..is it necessary to set upper frame limit?

FlyHardiQ
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2018 3:12 am

Re: LOW fps in cruise..mediocre settings..

Postby FlyHardiQ » Mon Jul 29, 2019 1:07 pm

I also use the fslabs it prompts me to get rid of affinity mask to increase performance..

FlyHardiQ
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2018 3:12 am

Re: LOW fps in cruise..mediocre settings..

Postby FlyHardiQ » Mon Jul 29, 2019 1:18 pm

Okay so sim feels a bit more smoother..I ignored fslabs affinity mask prompt..now the real test is when it goes up in the skies..affinity mask 84, i got rid of upper frame limit since that was absolute crap lol..thanks! i'll get back after a bit more testing..

JorgenSA
Posts: 455
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: LOW fps in cruise..mediocre settings..

Postby JorgenSA » Mon Jul 29, 2019 1:24 pm

Read up on what the upper frame rate limit actually does, and try it before you knock it, unless your goal is to chase frame rates.

Using it gives you a smoother flight experience, and you eye can only see 25-30 fps anyway, so more than 30 is really a waste of processor power, that could go into smoother rendering otherwise. To give you a couple of examples, the TV frame rate here in Europe is 25 fps, and in the US it is 30 fps, both are half the local AC mains frequency.

Jorgen

FlyHardiQ
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2018 3:12 am

Re: LOW fps in cruise..mediocre settings..

Postby FlyHardiQ » Mon Jul 29, 2019 1:55 pm

I actually sim on a 144hz monitor i did try upper lim framerate in the cfg but testing it gave me very less stuttery is it because I did not have vsync on? and yes I do agree..no Im ot chasing fps in this case I just want a stable and smooth performance..thus looking at around 30 ish stable fps..

JorgenSA
Posts: 455
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: LOW fps in cruise..mediocre settings..

Postby JorgenSA » Mon Jul 29, 2019 2:16 pm

I copied this from my own Prepar3D.cfg, under [DISPLAY]:

MSAA=4
SSAA=0
VSYNC=1
FXAA=0
TRIPLE_BUFFER=1

My monitor is an ASUS, 3 years old, at 60 Hz (which is as high as it will go) and at 1920x1080 resolution.

Jorgen

FlyHardiQ
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2018 3:12 am

Re: LOW fps in cruise..mediocre settings..

Postby FlyHardiQ » Mon Jul 29, 2019 2:53 pm

yeah so thats the thing..it might work well for 60hz but same settings not on 144hz..i've tried all but hey affinity mask seems smoothie..

FlyHardiQ
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2018 3:12 am

Re: LOW fps in cruise..mediocre settings..

Postby FlyHardiQ » Tue Jul 30, 2019 10:13 am

okay so with affinity mask my sim is smooth but some times stutters if i switch views..i chek task manager and it indicates that gpou loas are quite high compared to the cpu..any reasons to this?

FlyHardiQ
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2018 3:12 am

Re: LOW fps in cruise..mediocre settings..

Postby FlyHardiQ » Tue Jul 30, 2019 10:22 am

only when panning around/swiching views..

FlyHardiQ
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2018 3:12 am

Re: LOW fps in cruise..mediocre settings..

Postby FlyHardiQ » Tue Jul 30, 2019 11:11 am

also what are your thoughts on affinity mask =85? i've set it and noticed that core 0 also is in use..

FlyHardiQ
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2018 3:12 am

Re: LOW fps in cruise..mediocre settings..

Postby FlyHardiQ » Tue Jul 30, 2019 2:35 pm

okay so after testing the entire day with the fslabs..after take off its quite stuttery and almost unflappable the fps is fine sometimes and then it just stutters again and again..while panning/moving around the cockpit..affinity mask 84/85 all cores full usage..idk what to do here..should i try turning down my overclock and check?


Return to “Hardware Specific Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 7 guests