Helicopter Hoise Cable

Other problems or issues not covered by other troubleshooting topics.
thommoj
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2018 2:35 pm

Helicopter Hoise Cable

Postby thommoj » Mon Apr 27, 2020 4:10 am

Hi all,

I'm not sure if I'm missing something or if its a bug (which has been present for at least all of v4 and now in v5) but once finished using the helicopter hoist it doesn't disappear (image below)...you have to keep flying with this line flapping around everywhere. Am I missing something or can it possibly be fixed? It appears on all helo's i've set slings in.

Image

Obviously I'm retracting the hoist once used etc. Any help would be much appreciated.

Cheers

thommoj
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2018 2:35 pm

Re: Helicopter Hoise Cable

Postby thommoj » Mon May 11, 2020 3:59 am

Hi LM,

Realise it's a low priority in contract but just wondering if this is something you can look at? Here is another image of it dangling by the side after performing a winch operation out at sea...

Image

Surely it doesn't require a complex fix (apologies in advance if my ignorance is incorrect!)

Cheers

corbu1
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2016 8:38 pm

Re: Helicopter Hoise Cable

Postby corbu1 » Mon May 11, 2020 3:52 pm

Yes, I know this behaviour,too. Once you have activated the hoist cable and winched it few feet down...then moving it up again. The hoist cable is visible for the rest of the flight, no matter you deactivate the hoist or not.
This already exists in former P3d versions....

thommoj
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2018 2:35 pm

Re: Helicopter Hoise Cable

Postby thommoj » Thu Nov 19, 2020 8:32 am

Hi All,

Any update on this, perhaps add a quick fix to V5.1 HF1, that would be great!!!

Cheers

JorgenSA
Posts: 2695
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: Helicopter Hoise Cable

Postby JorgenSA » Thu Nov 19, 2020 9:41 am

Which aircraft is this?

I do not see any Bell helicopters in Simobjects\Rotorcraft....

Jorgen
System: i7-7700K @ 4.66 GHz, ASUS Z170-A motherboard, 16 GB 3200 MHz DDR4 RAM, nVidia GTX 960 w/ 4 GB DDR5 VRAM, Windows 10 Home.

All views and opinions expressed here are entirely my own. I am not a Lockheed-Martin employee.

thommoj
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2018 2:35 pm

Re: Helicopter Hoise Cable

Postby thommoj » Thu Nov 19, 2020 1:42 pm

This is the CERA Bell 412, there is no reason to find it in your SimObjects if you don't own it.

JorgenSA
Posts: 2695
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: Helicopter Hoise Cable

Postby JorgenSA » Thu Nov 19, 2020 1:57 pm

Ah, that would explain why I didn't find it!

But for the hoist cable, then you need to contact its developers. Since it's not a default aircraft, then it's not an L-M issue.

Jorgen
System: i7-7700K @ 4.66 GHz, ASUS Z170-A motherboard, 16 GB 3200 MHz DDR4 RAM, nVidia GTX 960 w/ 4 GB DDR5 VRAM, Windows 10 Home.

All views and opinions expressed here are entirely my own. I am not a Lockheed-Martin employee.

thommoj
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2018 2:35 pm

Re: Helicopter Hoise Cable

Postby thommoj » Thu Nov 19, 2020 2:39 pm

Jorgen,

This is the case on all rotorcraft. It is an L-M issue, and it is something that needs to be fixed. Hoist's and sling's have been part of the simulator since day 1, it was an original FSX feature. They are referred to in the SDK for all versions of P3D.

Please do your research before making such statements, I have done mine, i wouldn't have asked if it wasn't an LM issue.

Cheers

JorgenSA
Posts: 2695
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: Helicopter Hoise Cable

Postby JorgenSA » Thu Nov 19, 2020 3:42 pm

Since this is a common feature for all helicopters, you say, wouldn't it then seem fair that the hoist/cable assembly was a texture of some sorts that could be re-used in other models?

I checked out the common v. 5.1 textures, nothing named hoist there, and no such textures under the MH-60 either (and the MH-60 certainly should have them). In FSX, the EH-101 doesn't have any such textures either...

And forgive me my ignorance, but how are they referred to in the SDK?

Jorgen
System: i7-7700K @ 4.66 GHz, ASUS Z170-A motherboard, 16 GB 3200 MHz DDR4 RAM, nVidia GTX 960 w/ 4 GB DDR5 VRAM, Windows 10 Home.

All views and opinions expressed here are entirely my own. I am not a Lockheed-Martin employee.

corbu1
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2016 8:38 pm

Re: Helicopter Hoise Cable

Postby corbu1 » Thu Nov 19, 2020 4:53 pm

Hi All,

Any update on this, perhaps add a quick fix to V5.1 HF1, that would be great!!!

Cheers
I also see this still in v5.1.

thommoj
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2018 2:35 pm

Re: Helicopter Hoise Cable

Postby thommoj » Fri Nov 20, 2020 6:38 am

Since this is a common feature for all helicopters, you say, wouldn't it then seem fair that the hoist/cable assembly was a texture of some sorts that could be re-used in other models?

I checked out the common v. 5.1 textures, nothing named hoist there, and no such textures under the MH-60 either (and the MH-60 certainly should have them). In FSX, the EH-101 doesn't have any such textures either...

And forgive me my ignorance, but how are they referred to in the SDK?

Jorgen
No Jorgen, it is not a texture so it is not fair. I don't know how it is specifially built into the system but you can activate it (search for hoist or sling in P3D default controls), lower/raise the hoist and hook objects/people.

If you do a quick text search for "Hoist" in the SDK overview linked below you will see it. You can find it referred to in the Aircraft.cfg section also, plus many more references.

https://www.prepar3d.com/SDKv4/sdk/sdk_overview.html

I think, rather then debate its existence, LM should be focussing on fixing this, it should be fairly simple given its a legacy element.

thommoj
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2018 2:35 pm

Re: Helicopter Hoise Cable

Postby thommoj » Fri Nov 20, 2020 6:44 am

Extract from the following location:

https://www.prepar3d.com/SDKv5/sdk/simu ... stems.html

Image

JorgenSA
Posts: 2695
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: Helicopter Hoise Cable

Postby JorgenSA » Fri Nov 20, 2020 8:36 am

First of all, I must apologize for my wordings and eat the hat that I do not have, without salt!

Second, I must extend my thanks for providing this information - really interesting.

Then come the questions!

I would believe that the hoist cable could be (sorta) slack and not quite straight when lowering the cable with no load on it, but it should certainly be straight and taut when reeling it in under load. Is it like that when you do hoist operation in the helicopters you have?

Jorgen
System: i7-7700K @ 4.66 GHz, ASUS Z170-A motherboard, 16 GB 3200 MHz DDR4 RAM, nVidia GTX 960 w/ 4 GB DDR5 VRAM, Windows 10 Home.

All views and opinions expressed here are entirely my own. I am not a Lockheed-Martin employee.

thommoj
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2018 2:35 pm

Re: Helicopter Hoise Cable

Postby thommoj » Sat Nov 21, 2020 4:01 am

All good!

Yes, the hoist works as you have mentioned above. The issue is that once you are finished using the hoist you can't "hide" it again and so for the rest of your flight you have 1m of cable dangling from the winch. Quite unrealistic.

JorgenSA
Posts: 2695
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: Helicopter Hoise Cable

Postby JorgenSA » Sat Nov 21, 2020 7:51 am

I agree, quite unrealistic, and never done in real life.

I cannot think of a winch operator that would leave 1 meter of cable, with a heavy hook and weight attached to it, dangling around and posing a real danger to the aircraft, innocent bystanders and himself. I do remember from my time in helicopters that when we (army "passengers") were winched in, the operator would reel all the cable in at once.

Jorgen
System: i7-7700K @ 4.66 GHz, ASUS Z170-A motherboard, 16 GB 3200 MHz DDR4 RAM, nVidia GTX 960 w/ 4 GB DDR5 VRAM, Windows 10 Home.

All views and opinions expressed here are entirely my own. I am not a Lockheed-Martin employee.


Return to “Other Support Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 48 guests