P3Dv4 auto load SPAD.neXt 0.9.6.25

Other problems or issues not covered by other troubleshooting topics.
rseijo
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jun 28, 2017 6:30 pm

P3Dv4 auto load SPAD.neXt 0.9.6.25

Postby rseijo » Sat Aug 12, 2017 8:54 pm

Hi All,
Looking for some guidance on how to properly edit the exe.dll and dll.xml files and in which path they should reside in. I have tried to use the instructions in this post http://www.prepar3d.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=125649 with no success.

Should the exe.dll & dll.xml in following path be modified? If yes, what should they look like on a new install vs adding SPAD.neXt?

Local Disk (C:) ► ProgramData ► Lockheed Martin ► Prepar3D v4 ►

-----------------------------

What should exe.dll & dll.xml look like with SPAD.neXt?

Local Disk (C:) ► Users ► You ► AppData ► Roaming ► Lockheed Martin ► Prepar3D v4

Thanks!
Ralph

User avatar
Poppet
Posts: 2770
Joined: Sat Nov 01, 2014 4:12 pm

Re: P3Dv4 auto load SPAD.neXt 0.9.6.25

Postby Poppet » Sat Aug 12, 2017 10:12 pm

Hello Ralph

Are you looking for Spad.Next to launch at the same time when you launch Prepar3D ?

For this action to happen the Spad.Next entry will need to be in your exe.xml file.

By default you will have an exe.xml file at the location below so we will use this one

------
Local Disk (C:) ► ProgramData ► Lockheed Martin ► Prepar3D v4 ► exe.xml
------

Right click on the exe.xml file at the location above, Click Open With > Notepad

Below is what a default exe.xml file looks like (No Add On's)
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>

<SimBase.Document Type="AceXML" version="3,0" id="exe">
<Descr>AceXML Document</Descr>
<Filename>exe.xml</Filename>
</SimBase.Document>


Now, Below is the exe.xml file with the Spad.Next entry applied to it
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>

<SimBase.Document Type="AceXML" version="3,0" id="exe">
<Descr>AceXML Document</Descr>
<Filename>exe.xml</Filename>

<Launch.Addon>
<Name>SPAD Next</Name>
<Disabled>False</Disabled>
<Path>C:\Program Files\SPAD.neXt\SPAD.neXt.exe</Path>
<ManualLoad>False</ManualLoad>
</Launch.Addon>

</SimBase.Document>

You can Copy the above complete entry and Paste it into your exe.xml file

Please Note: The <Path> above is for the Spade.Next default Install Path, Insure you check your Spad.Next Install path

Also, You may have additional entries from other Add On's in your exe.xml file, If you are uncomfortable with the above steps, Just Copy the contents of your exe.xml file and Paste them into your next post and i will have a look at it for you

Launch Prepar3D and test

Let me know how you get on

User avatar
Geir Haukland
Posts: 94
Joined: Sat Jun 03, 2017 6:55 pm
Location: ENGM
Contact:

Re: P3Dv4 auto load SPAD.neXt 0.9.6.25

Postby Geir Haukland » Mon Aug 14, 2017 11:48 am

That worked, but is there a way to close spad.next when p3d ends? Just asking, coz when p3d v3 used spad, it closed when p3d ended, is there a way to do the same with v4?
Asus TUF Z370-Pro-Gaming-1151 - intel i3-9100F@3.6GHz - Asus ROG NVidia GTX 1050 TI Strix 4GB - 32GB HyperX DDR4@2400 MHz - Corsair CM750-750W - Corsair H100x Watercooling

rseijo
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jun 28, 2017 6:30 pm

Re: P3Dv4 auto load SPAD.neXt 0.9.6.25

Postby rseijo » Mon Aug 21, 2017 12:20 am

Hi Elaine,
SPAD.neXt is not auto loading with the instructions you provided. I see it worked for someone else.

Here is copy of my exe.xml
=====================================================

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>

<SimBase.Document Type="AceXML" version="3,0" id="exe">
<Descr>AceXML Document</Descr>
<Filename>exe.xml</Filename>

<Launch.Addon>
<Name>SPAD Next</Name>
<Disabled>False</Disabled>
<Path>D:\Flight Sim Utilities\SPAD.neXt\SPAD.neXt.exe</Path>
<ManualLoad>False</ManualLoad>
</Launch.Addon>

</SimBase.Document>

=====================================================

If I paste the entire path in Windows Explorer " D:\Flight Sim Utilities\SPAD.neXt\SPAD.neXt.exe " it loads the program.

I'm at a loss... are there other exe.xml or possibly dll.xml that need to be modified?

Here is the path for PD3v4 " C:\ProgramData\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v4 "

User avatar
aeronauta
Posts: 1552
Joined: Sun Oct 23, 2011 1:56 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: P3Dv4 auto load SPAD.neXt 0.9.6.25

Postby aeronauta » Mon Aug 21, 2017 5:51 am

"That worked, but is there a way to close spad.next when p3d ends? Just asking, coz when p3d v3 used spad, it closed when p3d ended, is there a way to do the same with v4?"

In Spad.Next go to settings>Application>General and see Exit when connection to SIM is lost.
Jorge
Jorge Roldan
OZx Developer (aero) - Hovercontrol Helicopter Certified Pilot - Spad.Next Beta Tester - VATPAC Pilot PR - Nemetz Designs Beta Tester

User avatar
aeronauta
Posts: 1552
Joined: Sun Oct 23, 2011 1:56 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: P3Dv4 auto load SPAD.neXt 0.9.6.25

Postby aeronauta » Mon Aug 21, 2017 5:59 am

"Here is the path for PD3v4 " C:\ProgramData\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v4 ""

is this a typo, I find it starnge to have P3D installed there..
The exe.xml as you list it is OK, it should go in

C:\Users\Your ID\AppData\Roaming\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v4

same place as your prepar3d.cfg... there is an exe.xml in C:\ProgramData\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v4 check it and if it empty (only the base entry as

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>

<SimBase.Document Type="AceXML" version="3,0" id="exe">
<Descr>AceXML Document</Descr>
<Filename>exe.xml</Filename>
</SimBase.Document>

delete it as P3D will create a clean good one, just in case it is corrupt.)

If your P3D install is in Program Files (X86) make sure you start it run as administrator..
Jorge
Jorge Roldan
OZx Developer (aero) - Hovercontrol Helicopter Certified Pilot - Spad.Next Beta Tester - VATPAC Pilot PR - Nemetz Designs Beta Tester


Return to “Other Support Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 60 guests