Aircraft Lighting Problems

Other problems or issues not covered by other troubleshooting topics.
INeedAStamp
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun May 20, 2018 2:40 am

Aircraft Lighting Problems

Postby INeedAStamp » Mon Aug 13, 2018 6:36 am

I've posted these issues before a while back but still have not gotten a solution. In 4.3, landing lights will disappear at certain eye points when moving the view. This seems to occur with multiple aircraft but only at certain airports in Southern California for some reason. For example, KONT.

Despite the switches being on, the lights cannot be seen.
https://imgur.com/a/HkgRGpP

After moving the view a little bit, the lights appear.
https://imgur.com/ismOCPW

The other issue is that the nav lights appear to be too large and too bright. In pictures of the PMDG 737 in P3D and back on FSX, the nav lights were much smaller and more realistic. Is this normal?

PMDG 737 nav lights in P3D:
https://imgur.com/xpjyONJ

https://imgur.com/MvzRnNq

PMDG 737 nav lights in FSX:
https://imgur.com/phPlrMN

Any help is greatly appreciated.
Last edited by Poppet on Mon Aug 13, 2018 9:32 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: edited post to amend Image links
Bryan Harris

Martyson
Posts: 4418
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: Aircraft Lighting Problems

Postby Martyson » Mon Aug 13, 2018 11:44 am

Bryan,

This was your previous post that I replied to:
http://www.prepar3d.com/forum/viewtopic ... 91#p182191

Did you check with PMDG support?
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

INeedAStamp
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun May 20, 2018 2:40 am

Re: Aircraft Lighting Problems

Postby INeedAStamp » Mon Aug 13, 2018 9:10 pm

Hi Vaughan,

I did not check with PMDG about the landing lights as it seems happens with all aircraft but I will with the strange nav lights.
Bryan Harris

Martyson
Posts: 4418
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: Aircraft Lighting Problems

Postby Martyson » Mon Aug 13, 2018 9:37 pm

Hi Vaughan,

I did not check with PMDG about the landing lights as it seems happens with all aircraft but I will with the strange nav lights.
P3Dv4.3 KONT PMDG737 lighting OK from all angles in VC and exterior views.

Image

Image

Image
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

INeedAStamp
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun May 20, 2018 2:40 am

Re: Aircraft Lighting Problems

Postby INeedAStamp » Mon Aug 13, 2018 11:51 pm

Strange. Could I take a look at your lighting settings? Also, I'm not sure if this would affect the lighting in any way but I used to have tomatoshade, SPAI (wanted effects replaced), and Orbx installed previously. Perhaps I missed a file that was causing the issue when uninstalling P3D?
Bryan Harris

Martyson
Posts: 4418
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: Aircraft Lighting Problems

Postby Martyson » Tue Aug 14, 2018 12:04 am

Bryan,

Best to run through the debugging steps:
http://www.prepar3d.com/forum/viewtopic ... 2&t=123246
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

INeedAStamp
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun May 20, 2018 2:40 am

Re: Aircraft Lighting Problems

Postby INeedAStamp » Tue Aug 14, 2018 3:39 am

Alright, I ran through the debugging steps and updated graphics drivers, updated Windows, deleted the files that were listed, and even removed the 737 but the issue still persists.
Bryan Harris

Martyson
Posts: 4418
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: Aircraft Lighting Problems

Postby Martyson » Tue Aug 14, 2018 8:07 am

Alright, I ran through the debugging steps and updated graphics drivers, updated Windows, deleted the files that were listed, and even removed the 737 but the issue still persists.
Maybe time for a complete uninstall of P3D, fresh download and reinstall?
https://www.prepar3d.com/forum/viewtopi ... 2&t=120676

Then do all testing before installing any add-ons (one at a time).
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

INeedAStamp
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun May 20, 2018 2:40 am

Re: Aircraft Lighting Problems

Postby INeedAStamp » Tue Aug 14, 2018 11:01 pm

So I completed a complete reinstall and have not put any addons into the sim. The first time I loaded it, the lights appeared as they should. I then went into my settings after restarting the sim and changed things to how I had them before I uninstalled. Then, I loaded up again and the issue reappeared. I reverted the settings back to default and the issue cleared up. I continued to play around with the settings by setting each one then testing if the problem occurs. I've narrowed it down to being related to commercial aviation traffic for some reason. Whenever I raise that setting, the landing lights will disappear at certain angles but whenever I lower it back down to default, it returns to normal. There is also no issue with other types of traffic, only commercial aviation.
Bryan Harris

User avatar
Brady Butler
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 616
Joined: Tue May 09, 2017 5:31 pm

Re: Aircraft Lighting Problems

Postby Brady Butler » Wed Aug 15, 2018 2:43 am

Hello Bryan,

Thanks for adding in detailed reproduction steps. I’ll check these steps in-house tomorrow and let you know if we can reproduce the issue. If we can I’ll open a ticket.

Regards,
Brady
Brady Butler
Prepar3D® Software Engineer

INeedAStamp
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun May 20, 2018 2:40 am

Re: Aircraft Lighting Problems

Postby INeedAStamp » Wed Aug 15, 2018 3:53 am

Hi Brady,

Thanks for the reply! Just to clarify a little bit more, the issue seems to occur only at certain airports, KONT, for example. It also seems to happen only on certain runways as well. At KONT, the issue appears on runway 26R but on the other end, on 8L, the landing lights appear like normal. After reinstalling, I used tested using the Carenado A36 on the mentioned runways at KONT and also at KATL (which was normal). Also, the bug appeared when I had the commercial aviation traffic level set to about 50%.
Bryan Harris

Martyson
Posts: 4418
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: Aircraft Lighting Problems

Postby Martyson » Wed Aug 15, 2018 8:33 am

Hi Brady,

Thanks for the reply! Just to clarify a little bit more, the issue seems to occur only at certain airports, KONT, for example. It also seems to happen only on certain runways as well. At KONT, the issue appears on runway 26R but on the other end, on 8L, the landing lights appear like normal. After reinstalling, I used tested using the Carenado A36 on the mentioned runways at KONT and also at KATL (which was normal). Also, the bug appeared when I had the commercial aviation traffic level set to about 50%.
"commercial aviation traffic level set to about 50%."
Are you referring to the P3D Aviation Traffic / Airline Traffic density slider?


I tested PMDG737 at KONT (default RWY 8L first and 26R later) all ok with:
Airline Traffic density slider set to 0% and also set to 100%.

Also tested with the default P3D Carenado A36 Bonanza all ok.
Airline Traffic density slider set to set to 100%. All ok.

I do use Orbx Global Base and Orbx Southern California.
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

User avatar
Brady Butler
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 616
Joined: Tue May 09, 2017 5:31 pm

Re: Aircraft Lighting Problems

Postby Brady Butler » Wed Aug 15, 2018 11:52 am

Hello,

I'm also unable to reproduce the issue. Out of curiosity what hardware are you running on? Are you using an air traffic add-on?

Regards,
Brady
Brady Butler
Prepar3D® Software Engineer

INeedAStamp
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun May 20, 2018 2:40 am

Re: Aircraft Lighting Problems

Postby INeedAStamp » Wed Aug 15, 2018 9:34 pm

Yes, by commercial aviation, I meant airline traffic. As for addons, I used to have Ultimate Traffic Live and SPAI for traffic, TomatoShade, Orbx Global, and a few airport addons for KLAX, KSNA, and KONT. However, nothing is installed at the moment. For hardware, I've got a i7 7700K, 16GB of RAM, and a GTX 1070.
Bryan Harris

Martyson
Posts: 4418
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: Aircraft Lighting Problems

Postby Martyson » Wed Aug 15, 2018 10:05 pm

Bryan,

You mentioned:
"So I completed a complete reinstall and have not put any addons into the sim. "


Just to verify:

Did you Uninstall all Add-ons, freeware, payware, scenery etc.
A full Uninstall of P3D
Remove (delete) any remaining folders/files.
Download a fresh full copy Of P3D
Verify the download Checksum.
Virus checker off
Install P3D by running the P3D installer which install the full product (not just a Client e.g.)
Reboot the PC
Virus checker back on.
Test P3D in a default state (F22 at default airport KVPS) without any Add-ons.

Note:
Poppet's procedure is here:
http://www.prepar3d.com/forum/viewtopic ... 2&t=120676
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)


Return to “Other Support Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests