V5 CTD on View Change (AMD Radeon RX 5700 XT)

Any issues, problems or troubleshooting topics related to the Prepar3D client application.
cwburnett
Posts: 37
Joined: Sat Jun 29, 2013 4:47 pm

V5 CTD on View Change (AMD Radeon RX 5700 XT)

Postby cwburnett » Wed Apr 15, 2020 3:01 am

Congrats on the v5 release.

I have been running v4.5 HF2 without trouble and still have it installed on my machine. I made a fresh install of v5 today and found that regardless of graphics settings (low, high or default) I get a CTD with a DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG. This happens ONLY when switching view TO the cockpit. I can change views away from the cockpit, I can choose any of the various external views or other cockpit views, but upon returning to the primary cockpit VC view, I get this CTD. I have just completed a 1.5 hour flight staying just in the cockpit and no crashes. This occurs regardless of the simobject vehicle I choose and regardless of the location. I have tried a variety of airports and default simobjects.

Event Viewer shows two errors:
Application: Prepar3D.exe
Framework Version: v4.0.30319
Description: The process was terminated due to an unhandled exception.
Exception Info: exception code c0000005, exception address 00007FFA49B2137B

AND

Faulting application name: Prepar3D.exe, version: 5.0.21.34709, time stamp: 0x5e95060d
Faulting module name: VCRUNTIME140.dll, version: 14.24.28127.4, time stamp: 0x5d8e68d2
Exception code: 0xc0000005
Fault offset: 0x000000000000137b
Faulting process id: 0xe4c
Faulting application start time: 0x01d612bc3981a94d
Faulting application path: C:\Prepar3D v5\Prepar3D.exe
Faulting module path: C:\Windows\SYSTEM32\VCRUNTIME140.dll
Report Id: 889d77a2-4e5a-4db7-a110-515256887fd6
Faulting package full name:
Faulting package-relative application ID:

I should say v4.5HF2 runs flawlessly.

I am running:
Windows 10 x64 1909
I5 9600k
16GB RAM
AMD Radeon RX5700XT (8GB VRAM)
No oveclock
3840x2150 @ 30hz, though I have tried at 1080p as well as same issue.

I have tried reinstalling the latest C++ redistributables from Microsoft.

I have run a safe mode DDU and reinstalled the most recent WHQL driver version from AMD.

Not sure what else to try. Is there anything inherent in v5 that would cause a problem with a Radeon card? Where there beta users with this card by chance that could confirm compatibility?

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Snowfalcon
Posts: 120
Joined: Sat Mar 16, 2019 5:24 am

Re: V5 CTD on View Change (AMD Radeon RX 5700 XT)

Postby Snowfalcon » Wed Apr 15, 2020 3:14 am

Ok Your not alone I'm getting the same thing. On switching TO the cockpit view i get the DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG CTD
I run a Ryzen 3700x and 32GB DDR3200 ram. No overclock on anything and latest drivers on the Radeon card. I have had no problems with 4.5 Beta testing for PMDG.

Only P3D V5 and SDK installed no addons.
Snowfalcon13 KRTS The Valley of speed / PMDG Beta Test Team
Asus ROG Strix B450-f, Ryzen 3700X, 32GB DDR4 3200, 1TB Neo970 M2 SSD, radeon rx5700 XT 8GB

zalcantar
Posts: 77
Joined: Mon Nov 25, 2013 7:54 pm

Re: V5 CTD on View Change (AMD Radeon RX 5700 XT)

Postby zalcantar » Wed Apr 15, 2020 3:19 am

I got it when trying to use the ATC. Totally different graphics cards too.
Zalcantar
MSI GE75 Raider 9SF laptop -Windows 10 version 1909 -i9-9880H -RTX 2070 8GB -32 GB DDR4 -V5 HF2 -ASP3D B7 w/ASCA -ORBX NA/EUR/Base/Vector - PROATCX -High settings/Dense AG -Locked @36fps -EA on -Stable for now

User avatar
Beau Hollis
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 2148
Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2010 3:25 pm

Re: V5 CTD on View Change (AMD Radeon RX 5700 XT)

Postby Beau Hollis » Wed Apr 15, 2020 3:28 am

Thanks for the detailed report. We're sorry you are experience this issue. We do have AMD users in our beta and have worked with AMD on driver issues. This is the first we've heard of this specific case.

Do you have the Enhanced Atmospherics on? There was a crash similar to this with enhanced atmospherics in one of our beta builds.

Does disabling water reflections (un-checking all the object types) resolve the issue?

Can you also try disabling MSAA, FXAA, and HDR? I'd like to rule out issues with post processes or MSAA resolves.

The ATC issue we have been able to reproduce and are investigating.

Thanks
Beau Hollis
Prepar3D Software Architect

cwburnett
Posts: 37
Joined: Sat Jun 29, 2013 4:47 pm

Re: V5 CTD on View Change (AMD Radeon RX 5700 XT)

Postby cwburnett » Wed Apr 15, 2020 3:42 am

Thanks for the reply.

I just tested with the same result with the following settings:

Enhanced Atmospherics: unchecked
FXAA: Off
AA: None
HDR: Unchecked
Dynamic Reflections: Off
Water Detail: Off
Reflections: all unchecked

EDIT:
I noticed the errors were a little different this time in the Windows Application Event Log.

Application: Prepar3D.exe
Framework Version: v4.0.30319
Description: The process was terminated due to an unhandled exception.
Exception Info: exception code c0000005, exception address 00007FFAABCF9ED3

AND

Faulting application name: Prepar3D.exe, version: 5.0.21.34709, time stamp: 0x5e95060d
Faulting module name: amdxc64.dll, version: 26.20.15019.19000, time stamp: 0x5e59a000
Exception code: 0xc0000005
Fault offset: 0x0000000000a39ed3
Faulting process id: 0x1f70
Faulting application start time: 0x01d612d77a8ad27f
Faulting application path: C:\Prepar3D v5\Prepar3D.exe
Faulting module path: C:\Windows\System32\DriverStore\FileRepository\u0352369.inf_amd64_275818c45a90b362\B352355\amdxc64.dll
Report Id: 41184a3e-bbac-4c44-bacf-275769831de8
Faulting package full name:
Faulting package-relative application ID:

It was accompanied by a System Event Log entry:
Event 4101
Display driver amdkmdap stopped responding and has successfully recovered.

Snowfalcon
Posts: 120
Joined: Sat Mar 16, 2019 5:24 am

Re: V5 CTD on View Change (AMD Radeon RX 5700 XT)

Postby Snowfalcon » Wed Apr 15, 2020 3:51 am

Just tried NO HDR,FXAA or MSAA. Have never applied atmospherics. Same result GTD on return to cockpit
Snowfalcon13 KRTS The Valley of speed / PMDG Beta Test Team
Asus ROG Strix B450-f, Ryzen 3700X, 32GB DDR4 3200, 1TB Neo970 M2 SSD, radeon rx5700 XT 8GB

Snowfalcon
Posts: 120
Joined: Sat Mar 16, 2019 5:24 am

Re: V5 CTD on View Change (AMD Radeon RX 5700 XT)

Postby Snowfalcon » Wed Apr 15, 2020 4:24 am

After reloading the sim with various options turned on/off same result. If I don't reboot the pc and re start P3D I get the CTD faster with out changing views.

Faulting application name: Prepar3D.exe, version: 5.0.21.34709, time stamp: 0x5e95060d
Faulting module name: VCRUNTIME140.dll, version: 14.24.28127.4, time stamp: 0x5d8e68d2
Exception code: 0xc0000005
Fault offset: 0x000000000000137b
Faulting process id: 0x3074
Faulting application start time: 0x01d612dc85174208
Faulting application path: D:\P3D5\Prepar3D.exe
Faulting module path: C:\Windows\SYSTEM32\VCRUNTIME140.dll
Report Id: 556d039c-c723-4d29-b448-5bc6169b72af
Faulting package full name:
Faulting package-relative application ID:

Log Name: Application
Source: Application Error
Date: 4/14/2020 9:17:43 PM
Event ID: 1000
Task Category: (100)
Level: Error
Keywords: Classic
User: N/A
Computer: XXXXXXXXXX
Description:
Faulting application name: Prepar3D.exe, version: 5.0.21.34709, time stamp: 0x5e95060d
Faulting module name: VCRUNTIME140.dll, version: 14.24.28127.4, time stamp: 0x5d8e68d2
Exception code: 0xc0000005
Fault offset: 0x000000000000137b
Faulting process id: 0x3074
Faulting application start time: 0x01d612dc85174208
Faulting application path: D:\P3D5\Prepar3D.exe
Faulting module path: C:\Windows\SYSTEM32\VCRUNTIME140.dll
Report Id: 556d039c-c723-4d29-b448-5bc6169b72af
Faulting package full name:
Faulting package-relative application ID:
Event Xml:
<Event xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/win/2004/08/events/event">
<System>
<Provider Name="Application Error" />
<EventID Qualifiers="0">1000</EventID>
<Level>2</Level>
<Task>100</Task>
<Keywords>0x80000000000000</Keywords>
<TimeCreated SystemTime="2020-04-15T04:17:43.320121500Z" />
<EventRecordID>11850</EventRecordID>
<Channel>Application</Channel>
<Computer>XXXXXXXX</Computer>
<Security />
</System>
<EventData>
<Data>Prepar3D.exe</Data>
<Data>5.0.21.34709</Data>
<Data>5e95060d</Data>
<Data>VCRUNTIME140.dll</Data>
<Data>14.24.28127.4</Data>
<Data>5d8e68d2</Data>
<Data>c0000005</Data>
<Data>000000000000137b</Data>
<Data>3074</Data>
<Data>01d612dc85174208</Data>
<Data>D:\P3D5\Prepar3D.exe</Data>
<Data>C:\Windows\SYSTEM32\VCRUNTIME140.dll</Data>
<Data>556d039c-c723-4d29-b448-5bc6169b72af</Data>
<Data>
</Data>
<Data>
</Data>
</EventData>
</Event>
Snowfalcon13 KRTS The Valley of speed / PMDG Beta Test Team
Asus ROG Strix B450-f, Ryzen 3700X, 32GB DDR4 3200, 1TB Neo970 M2 SSD, radeon rx5700 XT 8GB

Snowfalcon
Posts: 120
Joined: Sat Mar 16, 2019 5:24 am

Re: V5 CTD on View Change (AMD Radeon RX 5700 XT)

Postby Snowfalcon » Wed Apr 15, 2020 6:00 am

Did a complete uninstall.
Re downloaded the installer
Complete clean reinstall
Tried to fly on basic graphic setting.
Same CTD after reentering cockpit.
I can switch between outside views no problem. But when I re enter the pit I get the CTD again.
Snowfalcon13 KRTS The Valley of speed / PMDG Beta Test Team
Asus ROG Strix B450-f, Ryzen 3700X, 32GB DDR4 3200, 1TB Neo970 M2 SSD, radeon rx5700 XT 8GB

TimC340
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2014 11:26 am

Re: V5 CTD on View Change (AMD Radeon RX 5700 XT)

Postby TimC340 » Wed Apr 15, 2020 12:52 pm

Just to register that I have the sam.e problem with a remarkably similar config - 3900X CPU, 5700XT GPU, 32Gb DDR4 3600 RAM. Windows 10 64-bit build 1909.

No addons, no changes to default settings, and in my case no need to change views. It crashes anyway! P3Dv4.5 works perfectly.

cwburnett
Posts: 37
Joined: Sat Jun 29, 2013 4:47 pm

Re: V5 CTD on View Change (AMD Radeon RX 5700 XT)

Postby cwburnett » Wed Apr 15, 2020 3:33 pm

A further update that two other users on AVSIM report this problem with 5700 series cards that don't have accounts over here on the prepar3d forum. It seems pervasive with this line of cards. I am going to start a thread there to see if anyone with this specific hardware does NOT have this problem. Any updates on troubleshooting would be greatly appreciated - I'm sure you're all busy with v5 in the wild now - good luck and thanks!

cwburnett
Posts: 37
Joined: Sat Jun 29, 2013 4:47 pm

Re: V5 CTD on View Change (AMD Radeon RX 5700 XT)

Postby cwburnett » Wed Apr 15, 2020 6:30 pm

As a test, I put a new SSD into my computer, installed a fresh copy of Win 10 x64 Home 1909 from a freshly made USB boot drive. I ran windows update, restarted. Then installed Adrenalin 2020 Edition 20.4.1. I rebooted, re-downloaded P3D v5.0.21.34709 and ran the installer and installed into c:\Prepar3d v5\. After the install, I rebooted, then ran P3Dv5. left all settings as default, loaded the default scenario, watched the textures load and let the plane sit on the runway for 60 seconds. I then used the 'S' key to change views. It cycled through the external views and when it cycled back to the cockpit, I received the same error message.

So, the issue exists with both 20.2.2 and 20.4.1 version of the AMD Adrenalin driver on a fresh install of Win 10 1909 with a totally clean hard drive and default Windows installation and completely default P3Dv5 installation.

Any update you can share on progress towards troubleshooting this would be warmly welcomed!

dvc1716
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Dec 24, 2013 9:46 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: V5 CTD on View Change (AMD Radeon RX 5700)

Postby dvc1716 » Wed Apr 15, 2020 8:39 pm

Slightly different setup as I have a RX 5700 with the latest drivers (last week).
Everything works without issue with v4.5 HF2
System is ok for a while but upon changing back to the default VC view the graphics die and my system locks up. Needs to be powered off and then back on.

CyberPowerPC i5-6600 3.3GHz, 16 GB DDR4, RX5700 Win10 Pro 1909. P3Dv5 installed on M.2 Drive

cwburnett
Posts: 37
Joined: Sat Jun 29, 2013 4:47 pm

Re: V5 CTD on View Change (AMD Radeon RX 5700 XT)

Postby cwburnett » Thu Apr 16, 2020 7:37 am

Someone on avsim reported that with a Radeon VII they have no problems, so this looks isolated to the 5600/5700 series cards. Beau/LM team, please let me know if I can be of assistance testing a resolution when one is worked out. Assuming this is on the to-do list? Thanks!

EllipticCurve
Posts: 105
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 6:14 pm

Re: V5 CTD on View Change (AMD Radeon RX 5700 XT)

Postby EllipticCurve » Thu Apr 16, 2020 8:36 am

0xC0000005 is memory access violation.

Something tried to access memory it did not have the rights to.
All comments and opinions are my own.

lodanap
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Aug 05, 2017 11:10 pm

Re: V5 CTD on View Change (AMD Radeon RX 5700 XT)

Postby lodanap » Thu Apr 16, 2020 10:41 am

I have no problems with my Radeon VII until i enable VR, then it goes to a Black screen and crashes SteamVR. SteamVR is stable in all other programs.


Return to “Prepar3D Client Application Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Majestic-12 [Bot] and 77 guests