P3D V4.4 addon autodiscovery broken

Any issues, problems or troubleshooting topics related to the Prepar3D client application.
obinder
Posts: 115
Joined: Sun Jun 08, 2014 9:43 am

P3D V4.4 addon autodiscovery broken

Postby obinder » Tue Jan 08, 2019 6:42 am

Hello @ll,

up until version 4.4 P3D used to synchronize the contents of the autodiscovery folder "\Documents\Prepar3D V4 Add-ons" with the file "\AppData\Roaming\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v4\add-ons.cfg". New packages were added, packages that no longer existed were removed.

This is no longer the case.

With P3D V4.4 new packages are now added to "C:\ProgramData\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v4\add-ons.cfg", but deleted packages, where the add-on.xml does no longer exist, remain behind in the cfg file.

Why was this done? To have a separate file that is synchronized with the autodiscovery folder was a really smart move. Throwing this away is more of a nuisance than a help. And the fact that package definitions pointing nowhere remain behind actually feels like a bug.

btw. if an add-on.xml contains a syntax error, it can't be disabled on the P3D Add-ons dialog.

Best regards
Oliver Binder
Lorby-SI
Last edited by obinder on Tue Jan 08, 2019 6:58 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Rob McCarthy
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 2244
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 1:37 pm

Re: P3D V4.4 addon autodiscovery broken

Postby Rob McCarthy » Tue Jan 08, 2019 2:21 pm

Hello,

We aren't seeing this issue. Are you only seeing this with specific add-ons?

Regards,
Rob McCarthy
Rob McCarthy
Prepar3D® Core Lead

obinder
Posts: 115
Joined: Sun Jun 08, 2014 9:43 am

Re: P3D V4.4 addon autodiscovery broken

Postby obinder » Tue Jan 08, 2019 2:39 pm

Hello,

We aren't seeing this issue. Are you only seeing this with specific add-ons?

Regards,
Rob McCarthy
Hello Rob,

thank you for reading this.

No, this is not addon specific. It has been discovered by one of my customers this morning, and I can reproduce it on my devel laptop. I will try other machines too tonight.

The test is simple: rename/remove both add-ons.cfg files in AppData\Roaming and ProgramData. Then just start the sim again and check where the addons from the autodiscovery folder show up. In my case it is in the ProgramData file - which IMHO is/was not correct. Then remove one of the add-on.xml files from the autodiscovery folder and start the sim again - in my case the package definition just stays behind in the add-ons.cfg file.

Best regards
Oliver Binder
Lorby-SI

obinder
Posts: 115
Joined: Sun Jun 08, 2014 9:43 am

Re: P3D V4.4 addon autodiscovery broken

Postby obinder » Tue Jan 08, 2019 3:57 pm

Hello Rob,

using the same test I can confirm the same behavior on my main development system. That is 3 out of 3 P3D 4.4 installations.
The two P3Ds on my computers have been full uninstall/reinstall procedures.

Best regards
Oliver Binder
Lorby-SI

User avatar
Rob McCarthy
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 2244
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 1:37 pm

Re: P3D V4.4 addon autodiscovery broken

Postby Rob McCarthy » Tue Jan 08, 2019 6:18 pm

Thanks Oliver, we'll investigate this more and get back to you.

Regards,
Rob McCarthy
Rob McCarthy
Prepar3D® Core Lead

Brad Shiver
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 307
Joined: Fri Mar 17, 2017 3:58 pm

Re: P3D V4.4 addon autodiscovery broken

Postby Brad Shiver » Tue Jan 22, 2019 7:43 pm

Hey Oliver,

This issue will be fixed in the next release, thanks again for reporting this.

-Brad


Return to “Prepar3D Client Application Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests