Lost Ability to Pan Around Cabin/Exterioir - SimConnect Applications

Any issues, problems or troubleshooting topics related to the Prepar3D client application.
hskjalm
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2017 8:02 pm

Re: Lost Ability to Pan Around Cabin/Exterioir - SimConnect Applications

Postby hskjalm » Thu Mar 08, 2018 6:16 pm

I SOLVED my problem today with the numeric keys in this way. The problem - at least in my case - was an add-on called FSTramp. I became aware that FSTramp default assigns different keys. I thought that this maybe could be the problem. I then tried - in FSTramp/settings - to remove all key assignments and now my numeric keypad works with the view-keys as before. In the future I will start FSTramp from the menu-line/add-ons.
If others also use the FSTramp add-on, it will probably also work for them.

Dvastenburg
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2018 1:04 pm

Re: Lost Ability to Pan Around Cabin/Exterioir - SimConnect Applications

Postby Dvastenburg » Wed Mar 28, 2018 1:07 pm

Hi all,

i just found out that this forum page exist.
i I have a similar problem. i can only use my look buttons when pressing shift too. this is kinda annoying since i always use the NUM5 to reset my view, and i do that a lot.... hope there is a fix real soon!

regards,

CzarW
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2018 3:50 pm

Re: Lost Ability to Pan Around Cabin/Exterioir - SimConnect Applications

Postby CzarW » Tue Apr 03, 2018 1:42 pm

Same problem here, update 4.2... also GSX is screwed up!

nday
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2013 10:48 pm

Re: Lost Ability to Pan Around Cabin/Exterioir - SimConnect Applications

Postby nday » Sun Apr 08, 2018 3:45 pm

Hi

You can re assign the view position keys from the controls menu
in the meantime.

Nigel

dmatthieu2
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2017 6:49 pm

Re: Lost Ability to Pan Around Cabin/Exterioir - SimConnect Applications

Postby dmatthieu2 » Thu Apr 19, 2018 10:17 pm

I don't have Chase plane and this is only after I've installed 4.2 this is occuring. It's really annoying and I'm this close to rolling back to 4.1.7. Has anyone or P3D come up with a solution yet??

dmatthieu2
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2017 6:49 pm

Re: Lost Ability to Pan Around Cabin/Exterioir

Postby dmatthieu2 » Thu Apr 19, 2018 10:23 pm

After a fresh config are there still add-ons still installed? Does running the "Delete Generated Files" shortcut in the Prepar3D directory have any effect?

Regards,
Rob McCarthy
Yup I just did installed fresh and the problem still exists! Fire your QA team Rob. They lied to you. It's broken.

User avatar
Mike Sierra
Posts: 275
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2014 10:07 pm

Re: Lost Ability to Pan Around Cabin/Exterioir - SimConnect Applications

Postby Mike Sierra » Fri Apr 20, 2018 10:42 am

@dmatthieu2: Do you also use the newly created default startup scenario, or another, saved before restoration?

I encountered the described loss of panning (except for upward panning) in cockpit view, and in spot view (completly) - for repeated times.
My experience is, that all scenarios where this panning defect occurs, have the following attribute in common:
In every secion [Camera.n.n] of the .FXML file there is a line defining a zoom factor of the respcective camera (Property_zoom = <anynumber>).
If I remove all these zoom defining lines (delete the line), panning ability returns to the respective scenario.
I don't know WHERE these zoom-lines generate from, and, to be honest, I haven't counter-checked, whether intact scenarios with full panning ability might also contain these definitions.
But it has worked until now - for me.

Michael.
N 48°10' E 13°30' 496m
Austria, Europe
-vv-
ASUS ROG Maximus X Hero, I7-8700K, 6x 4.70GHz, Corsair Vengeance 32GB DDR4-4133, 2x ASUS ROG Strix GeForce GTX 1080 (SLI) @ 5760x1080, Win10prof64 on 1TB SSD, P3Dv3.4.22.19868, P3Dv4.4.16.27077 on 2GB V-Nand SSD

dmatthieu2
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2017 6:49 pm

Re: Lost Ability to Pan Around Cabin/Exterioir - SimConnect Applications

Postby dmatthieu2 » Fri Apr 20, 2018 5:16 pm

@Mike Sierra. The default is generally loaded upon startup (fighter jet, etc). However, I don't run the default scenarios, or built-in tutorials. I create my own before diving into the simulator.

I'm not sure which XML file you are referring to or it's location. Doing my own digging I found camera config files, and in the appdata\lockheed...\controls folder there are two XML files named Standard and Standard.XMLX I highly suspect these files were changed during this new release.

User avatar
Mike Sierra
Posts: 275
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2014 10:07 pm

Re: Lost Ability to Pan Around Cabin/Exterioir - SimConnect Applications

Postby Mike Sierra » Sun Apr 22, 2018 7:36 am

Sorry for not being prezicely enopugh, I worte the last posting during a break at my office, where (of course) no flightsim files are around.
What I'm writing about are the situation/scenario files you find unter C:\User\YourName\Documents\Prepar3d v4 Files
There all saved flights are stored, consxisting of a *.FXML and a *.WX file.
In the FXML file you find sections like this:

<Section Name="Camera.1.2">
<Property Name="Guid" Value="{C95EAB58-9E4A-4E2A-A34C-D8D9D948F078}" />
<Property Name="Title" Value="Virtual Cockpit" />
<Property Name="PanelOnlyView" Value="False" />
<Property Name="Zoom" Value="0.69999998807907104492" />
<Property Name="Translation" Value="-0.012664804235100746155, -0.5, -0.20974516868591308594" />
<Property Name="SensorMode" Value="0" />
<Property Name="Rotation" Value="59.790935516357421875, 1.4803609848022460938, 0" />
<Property Name="PostProcess.0" Value="HDRPostProcess" />
<Property Name="PostProcess.1" Value="FXAAResolve" />
</Section>

where the numbers of "Camera.n.n" vary. And there is the line

<Property Name="Zoom" Value="0.69999998807907104492" />

Strangely enough, when I notice the panning problem (usually I use TrackIR for viewing control), and I remove all the "Zoom"-lines from the FXML file, and restart P3D - the problem is gone. (Restarting P3D alone does not help).

Even odder is, that a just-saved FXML file from a flight, where the panning via coolie-hat DID work, also containes the Zoom-lines. Which leaves me clueless, why I my trick works...

Michael.
N 48°10' E 13°30' 496m
Austria, Europe
-vv-
ASUS ROG Maximus X Hero, I7-8700K, 6x 4.70GHz, Corsair Vengeance 32GB DDR4-4133, 2x ASUS ROG Strix GeForce GTX 1080 (SLI) @ 5760x1080, Win10prof64 on 1TB SSD, P3Dv3.4.22.19868, P3Dv4.4.16.27077 on 2GB V-Nand SSD

trisho0
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Dec 25, 2017 10:05 pm

Re: Lost Ability to Pan Around Cabin/Exterioir - SimConnect Applications

Postby trisho0 » Mon May 07, 2018 10:32 pm

Hello to all .... Still v4.2 with NUMPAD issues? Or, corrected already so I can download v4.2 again?

ShaunF
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2016 12:25 pm

Re: Lost Ability to Pan Around Cabin/Exterioir - SimConnect Applications

Postby ShaunF » Sat Jun 09, 2018 1:00 pm

I have just recently updated to 4.2 and lost all pan controls. i go into the settings and put in 2,4,6,8 for pans and look and its with the NUM Lock off. then have to remember to turn it back on afterwards (keyboard doesnt have lights).

For me, the pan view stopped as soon as i upgraded to 4.2, prior to that never had any issues at all.

trisho0
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Dec 25, 2017 10:05 pm

Re: Lost Ability to Pan Around Cabin/Exterioir - SimConnect Applications

Postby trisho0 » Sat Jun 09, 2018 1:07 pm

From v4.2 I returned back to v4.1 because of this same reason. Let's wait for higher version sometime ….


Return to “Prepar3D Client Application Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 20 guests