DNS Error 1012

Any issues, problems or troubleshooting topics related to the Prepar3D client application.
Post Reply
atesz76
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2018 2:19 am

DNS Error 1012

Post by atesz76 »

Hi ,

I have a blue death crash . Events log says DNS client 1012.

What I need to provide to solve this problem?

Thanks Attila
User avatar
JorgenSA
Posts: 6024
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM ENE of EDXF

Re: DNS Error 1012

Post by JorgenSA »

A DNS client has nothing to do with P3D, I'm afraid.

Can you post the whole log entry here?

Jorgen
System: i5-12600K@4.9 GHz, ASUS ROG STRIX Z690-I motherboard, 32 GB 4800 MHz DDR5 RAM, Gainward RTX 3060 w/ 12 GB DDR6 VRAM, Windows 10 Pro.

All views and opinions expressed here are entirely my own. I am not a Lockheed-Martin employee.
atesz76
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2018 2:19 am

Re: DNS Error 1012

Post by atesz76 »

Log Name: System
Source: Microsoft-Windows-DNS-Client
Date: 21/03/2023 15:56:37
Event ID: 1012
Task Category: (1012)
Level: Error
Keywords: (268435456)
User: NETWORK SERVICE
Computer: Attila
Description:
There was an error while attempting to read the local hosts file.
Event Xml:
<Event xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/win/2004/08/events/event">
<System>
<Provider Name="Microsoft-Windows-DNS-Client" Guid="{1c95126e-7eea-49a9-a3fe-a378b03ddb4d}" />
<EventID>1012</EventID>
<Version>0</Version>
<Level>2</Level>
<Task>1012</Task>
<Opcode>0</Opcode>
<Keywords>0x4000000010000000</Keywords>
<TimeCreated SystemTime="2023-03-21T15:56:37.1152884Z" />
<EventRecordID>16389</EventRecordID>
<Correlation />
<Execution ProcessID="2908" ThreadID="23676" />
<Channel>System</Channel>
<Computer>Attila</Computer>
<Security UserID="S-1-5-20" />
</System>
<EventData>
<Data Name="ErrorCode">3221225485</Data>
<Data Name="Location">0</Data>
<Data Name="Context">0</Data>
</EventData>
</Event>
User avatar
JorgenSA
Posts: 6024
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM ENE of EDXF

Re: DNS Error 1012

Post by JorgenSA »

Definitely not a P3D problem, it's a network issue.

You might want to talk to your Internet provider.

Jorgen
System: i5-12600K@4.9 GHz, ASUS ROG STRIX Z690-I motherboard, 32 GB 4800 MHz DDR5 RAM, Gainward RTX 3060 w/ 12 GB DDR6 VRAM, Windows 10 Pro.

All views and opinions expressed here are entirely my own. I am not a Lockheed-Martin employee.
atesz76
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2018 2:19 am

Re: DNS Error 1012

Post by atesz76 »

That is strange . I could manage to take off than the crash is coming . I don't have any other problem with my pc just with p3d.

Do you have any suggestion what should I mention to the internet provider.

Thanks

Attila
User avatar
Martyson
Posts: 15190
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: DNS Error 1012

Post by Martyson »

Hello atesz76,
Attila

Posting Issue Reports (by Chris Metel)
https://www.prepar3d.com/forum/viewtopi ... 5&t=145776

The General Debugging Steps (by Chris Metel) :
https://www.prepar3d.com/forum/viewtopi ... 6&t=145777
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell PP-ASEL (KDTW)
User avatar
JorgenSA
Posts: 6024
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM ENE of EDXF

Re: DNS Error 1012

Post by JorgenSA »

Attila,

Do you have something running in the background accessing the web? Like a browser, iTunes or something else?

Jorgen
System: i5-12600K@4.9 GHz, ASUS ROG STRIX Z690-I motherboard, 32 GB 4800 MHz DDR5 RAM, Gainward RTX 3060 w/ 12 GB DDR6 VRAM, Windows 10 Pro.

All views and opinions expressed here are entirely my own. I am not a Lockheed-Martin employee.
User avatar
Martyson
Posts: 15190
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: DNS Error 1012

Post by Martyson »

Hello atesz76,
Attila

Does your PC connect to a router on a home network?
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell PP-ASEL (KDTW)
User avatar
Sabre57
Posts: 493
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2014 12:45 am

Re: DNS Error 1012

Post by Sabre57 »

Probably grasping at straws but you may want to consider checking this. This isn't my idea as I found it on another site regarding this error.

Check your %SystemRoot%\system32\drivers\etc\ directory for a "hosts" file, if it doesn't exists create it and add

127.0.0.1 localhost to the file then save.

If you do have the file ensure it is readable by administrators, system and users.

My host file has this entry:

127.0.0.1 view-localhost # view localhost server
I9-9900
32GB RAM
RTX 3090 FTW
Assorted SSDs and HDDs
3x55" TVs
Alpha/Bravo Honeycombs
SPAD.Next, ASV6
atesz76
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2018 2:19 am

Re: DNS Error 1012

Post by atesz76 »

Thank you very much for your reply . The host is fine I have checked it already. The solution is to move to MSFS . I will wait a bit then bye bye . This morning I have reinstalled windows reinstall everything again but the problem there. P3D never helped me with any solution for many years. Answer always this is not p3d fault. No that is mine .
agfreeman
Posts: 269
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2022 11:50 am

Re: DNS Error 1012

Post by agfreeman »

Does it happen every time you use P3D?
Sky_King
Posts: 293
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 3:27 pm

Re: DNS Error 1012

Post by Sky_King »

Gigabyte x670 Aorus Elite AX MB; 7800X3D CPU; Deepcool LT520 Cooler; 64 Gb G.Skill Trident Z5 NEO DDR5; Win11 Pro; 1 Samsung 990 2Tb NVMe SSD: 1 Crucial 4Tb MX500 SSD; 1 Samsung 860 1Tb SSD; Gigabyte 1080ti 11Gb VRAM; Toshiba 43" LED TV @ 4k..
atesz76
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2018 2:19 am

Re: DNS Error 1012

Post by atesz76 »

Martyson wrote: Wed Mar 22, 2023 9:44 am Hello atesz76,
Attila

Does your PC connect to a router on a home network?

Hello,

Yes sure.
atesz76
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2018 2:19 am

Re: DNS Error 1012

Post by atesz76 »

agfreeman wrote: Wed Mar 22, 2023 4:36 pm Does it happen every time you use P3D?

Not at all. This is the first time.
User avatar
JorgenSA
Posts: 6024
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM ENE of EDXF

Re: DNS Error 1012

Post by JorgenSA »

Two questions, one of which is a repeat:

1. Do you have something running in the background accessing the web? Like a browser, iTunes or something else?

2. Can you reproduce the error?

Jorgen
System: i5-12600K@4.9 GHz, ASUS ROG STRIX Z690-I motherboard, 32 GB 4800 MHz DDR5 RAM, Gainward RTX 3060 w/ 12 GB DDR6 VRAM, Windows 10 Pro.

All views and opinions expressed here are entirely my own. I am not a Lockheed-Martin employee.
Post Reply