Page 2 of 2

Re: SimConnect not working

Posted: Wed Feb 14, 2018 5:18 pm
by Brad Shiver
Have you contacted PMDG support directly? It's possible that this is a known issue with that specific add-on in 4.2, so contacting them will at least help us narrow down the problem.

-Brad

Re: SimConnect not working

Posted: Thu Feb 15, 2018 4:01 am
by mominoki
Hi Brad ,

Thank you for your reply.
I posted to this forum this time because I was told by PMDG support ticket that it is not a problem of PMDG.
In the PMDG log, "01 INFO: SIM_CONNECT_OPEN pending" error has been issued.
In other words, PMDG says it is an error about simconnect.

When I was interacting with PMDG support, I did the following things.
1. Uninstall PMDG 777-200 and delete PMDG file in ProgramData.
2. Uninstall simconnect (3 files).
3. Uninstall P3D V4.1 and delete folder. (Instructions of LM)
4. Uninstall P3D V3.4 and delete folder. (Instructions of LM)
5. Installation of P3D V4.1.
6. Run P3D V4.1.
7. Installation of PMDG 777-200.
Uninstalling PMDG 777 was the following procedure.
1. Uninstall the PMDG 777-300ER (if you own it) and then the PMDG 777-200LR / F products from Control Panel \ Programs & Features.
2. Manually delete the PMDG 777-200LR, PMDG 777F, and PMDG 777-300ER folders in <P3D root folder> \ SimObjects \ Airplanes.
3. Manually delete the <P3D root folder> \ PMDG \ PMDG 777X folder.
4. Manually delete the PMDG 777-200LR, PMDG 777F, and PMDG 777-300ER folders in C: \ Users \ (Windows Username) \ AppData \ Roaming \ Lockheed Martin \ Prepar 3D v3 and v4 \ SimObjects
However, the situation has not changed.
Therefore, I think that there is no cause of error on PMDG side.

Best regards,
Takanobu Motoki

Re: SimConnect not working

Posted: Thu Feb 15, 2018 4:22 am
by WarpD
What version of SimConnect does PMDG require be installed?

Re: SimConnect not working

Posted: Thu Feb 15, 2018 5:18 am
by mominoki
Hi WarpD,
Thank you for your reply.
What version of SimConnect does PMDG require be installed?
When I asked questions to PMDG, I noticed that there was only one simconnect on my PC.
So I installed the remaining two and reported this to PMDG support.
At that time, I received the following reply.
According to the logs the same error about simconnect is still present. For P3Dv4 we use the native P3d simconnect so installing the additional ones does not does not play any role.
Is it the answer that you want?

Best regards,
Takanobu Motoki

Re: SimConnect not working

Posted: Thu Feb 15, 2018 6:07 am
by WarpD
"01 INFO: SIM_CONNECT_OPEN pending" isn't an error, it's information stating that they're trying to connect to SimConnect. Connecting to SimConnect is not an asynchronous process. You call the function and your software waits for it to return. I can state that it returns pretty much instantaneously on any system I've run code on. The only way I can see it not returning is if you were attempting perhaps a networked connection, but that shouldn't be happening here. Perhaps you have a SimConnect.cfg file with networked settings and the PMDG is referencing that with it's Open call.

I would state that this is most definitely in PMDG's court as only they know exactly what they're doing to try to connect to SimConnect.

Re: SimConnect not working

Posted: Thu Feb 15, 2018 1:27 pm
by mominoki
Hi WarpD,

Thank you for your reply.
P3D is installed in drive D.
I searched simconnect.cfg for all C and D drives, but there was no valid file.

Is there a runtime or mandatory environment required to run simconnect?
I am thinking that simconnect can not be executed due to insufficient environment.
Is my opinion different?

Best regards,
Takanobu Motoki

Re: SimConnect not working

Posted: Fri Feb 16, 2018 4:10 am
by WarpD
I'm pretty certain the DLL is being loaded by the sim, otherwise the sim would probably crash out entirely.

I will stand by my assessment that only PMDG can explore this further.

Re: SimConnect not working

Posted: Sun Feb 18, 2018 8:20 am
by mominoki
Hello everyone.

I have recovered safely.
I am thankful for the support of many people so far.
Thank you very much.

Best regards,
Takanobu Motoki

Re: SimConnect not working

Posted: Sun Feb 18, 2018 4:50 pm
by WarpD
And the solution was.... ???

Re: SimConnect not working

Posted: Tue Feb 20, 2018 7:01 pm
by elmucki
OP more likly forgot to install the simconnect in the redist folder... That is what that error is usually referencing.