How to make P3D three screen edge blending ?

Discussion related to terrain/scenery design.
yindengxie
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2018 8:03 am

How to make P3D three screen edge blending ?

Postby yindengxie » Tue Oct 16, 2018 10:02 am

How to make P3D three screen edge blending ?

Has P3D the function of three screen edge blending ?

Thanks for Help!

User avatar
Rob McCarthy
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 2303
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 1:37 pm

Re: How to make P3D three screen edge blending ?

Postby Rob McCarthy » Tue Oct 16, 2018 9:43 pm

Hello,

You can configure this when using View Groups by adjusting the EdgeOverlap value. This article in the Learning Center covers how to set this up: https://prepar3d.com/SDKv4/prepar3d/vie ... rview.html

Regards,
Rob McCarthy
Rob McCarthy
Prepar3D® Core Lead

yindengxie
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2018 8:03 am

Re: How to make P3D three screen edge blending ?

Postby yindengxie » Wed Oct 17, 2018 7:35 am

Dear MR. Rob McCarthy,

Thanks for your help!

I am using your P3D v4 for three projectors display. Is it not necessary to get an
edge blending software from the third party for our three projectors display?
We can only use P3D inside functions (settings) to implement the edge blending
for our three projectors display. Is it correct?

Very many thanks and best regards!

Dengxie

User avatar
Rob McCarthy
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 2303
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 1:37 pm

Re: How to make P3D three screen edge blending ?

Postby Rob McCarthy » Wed Oct 17, 2018 11:20 am

Dengxie,

You may need to use some type of projection correction software depending on your setup. You can try configuring a view group for your displays and go from there.

Regards,
Rob McCarthy
Rob McCarthy
Prepar3D® Core Lead

yindengxie
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2018 8:03 am

Re: How to make P3D three screen edge blending ?

Postby yindengxie » Tue Oct 23, 2018 6:01 pm

Hello Rob McCarthy,

Thank you very much for your help and support!

you said:"You may need to use some type of projection correction software depending on your setup.
You can try configuring a view group for your displays and go from there."

You mean that we must look for other projection correction software for our three projectors
display edge blending, P3D (inside) does not provide to implement three projectors display edge
blending. Is it correct?

Thanks and Best Regards!

Dengxie

User avatar
Rob McCarthy
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 2303
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 1:37 pm

Re: How to make P3D three screen edge blending ?

Postby Rob McCarthy » Wed Oct 24, 2018 2:35 pm

Hi Dengxie,

If you are projecting onto a flat surface you most likely will not need projection correction software depending on your setup. I recommend configuring your projectors as desired and then setting up a view group in Prepar3D. Depending on your setup that may be all you need to do.

Regards,
Rob McCarthy
Rob McCarthy
Prepar3D® Core Lead


Return to “Scenery Development Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests