v 4.3 Installed - v4.2 Opens

Any issues, problems or troubleshooting topics related to installing the Prepar3D client application or it's installer.
IronMike217
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2017 3:25 am

v 4.3 Installed - v4.2 Opens

Postby IronMike217 » Thu Jun 28, 2018 3:01 am

I installed version 4.3 yesterday. Everything went ok. No problems. At the end of the process, I got the "success" screen. I fired up P3D and checked out my VRS Superbug and Carenado C-172. No problems.


I noticed that I could not find the new Scenery Library entry in the opening UI screen. Then I looked for the C-130. No joy. As a last resort, I checked the version in the Help menu. I was astonished to see: Prepar3D Version 4.2.21.24048

So I went to Control Panel - Programs and looked at the P3D version installed: 4.3.29.255.20 ! How can that be? I check the version of Prepar3D.exe: 4.2.21.24048

Help! What went wrong and how do I correct it?

User avatar
WarpD
Posts: 1451
Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2011 5:29 am

Re: v 4.3 Installed - v4.2 Opens

Postby WarpD » Thu Jun 28, 2018 3:30 am

Did you uninstall the v4.2 client first? You can not simply run the new version's installer over the older version. It doesn't work.
Ed Wilson
Senior Developer
Mindstar Aviation

IronMike217
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2017 3:25 am

Re: v 4.3 Installed - v4.2 Opens

Postby IronMike217 » Thu Jun 28, 2018 5:09 am

No. I simply installed over 4.2 (client, scenery etc.) using the single setup.exe as in the instructions. What do I do now?

User avatar
Poppet
Posts: 2770
Joined: Sat Nov 01, 2014 4:12 pm

Re: v 4.3 Installed - v4.2 Opens

Postby Poppet » Thu Jun 28, 2018 7:01 am

Hello IronMike217

You can just Uninstall this Client version now through the Control Panel "Programs and features" and then Install v4.3 again

Click the link below and follow the first 2 steps of the INDEX to complete a Client update

Let us know how you get on

https://www.prepar3d.com/forum/viewtopi ... 2&t=120861

Also please see this link for a short video on the above process https://youtu.be/rTvuZi0NpAk?t=21s

IronMike217
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2017 3:25 am

Re: v 4.3 Installed - v4.2 Opens

Postby IronMike217 » Thu Jun 28, 2018 12:48 pm

That was easy. Unfortunately, now I get the following error upon startup:

"VRS Module: VRS_Tacpack.dll
Don't know how to run on version 4.3...

Press Ok to exit simulator"

I guess I am out of commission until VRS updates Tacpack. VRS says it'll take about a week for them to formulate their update.

User avatar
DaveWG
Posts: 62
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2012 12:15 pm

Re: v 4.3 Installed - v4.2 Opens

Postby DaveWG » Thu Jun 28, 2018 2:12 pm

Run the TacPack manager and select the " do not run" option.( Sorry, not at the PC at the moment so not sure of the exact wording).
You'll now be able to use P3d, but obviously without TacPack until it gets updated.


Return to “Prepar3D Installation and Installer Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests