Avatar and P3d V3

Any issues, problems or troubleshooting topics related to the Prepar3D client application.
User avatar
degeus
Posts: 159
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2013 9:30 am
Location: Netherlands

Avatar and P3d V3

Postby degeus » Sun Dec 06, 2015 4:05 pm

Hello,
Is there a detailed description on how to use Avatars? How to get them and how to let them move?
In the Help-function that info is scattered and not instructional.
kind regards,
Piet de Geus
Piet de Geus
Netherlands

jrodriguezpr
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Aug 10, 2015 3:43 am

Re: Avatar and P3d V3

Postby jrodriguezpr » Mon Dec 07, 2015 1:49 am

Pretty good video about it here. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EXUtoPvC13w

User avatar
degeus
Posts: 159
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2013 9:30 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: Avatar and P3d V3

Postby degeus » Mon Dec 07, 2015 6:43 pm

Hoi,
I already watched that video, as such nice to see what Avatar can do, but it gives absolutely no answer to my question.
reg.,
Piet de Geus
Piet de Geus
Netherlands

daniloraisi
Posts: 114
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 1:36 pm

Re: Avatar and P3d V3

Postby daniloraisi » Mon Dec 07, 2015 7:37 pm

See this video. It's about a comparison between P3D v2 and v3, but at the beginning he shows avatar mode and tells about some features and keys to use them.

https://youtu.be/O8WBLBleUr0?t=196
Best regards,
Danilo Raisi (SBSP)

---------------
Win10 64bit, Dell Inspiron 15 5548, i7 @ 4x2,80GHz, 16GB DDR3, AMD Radeon R7 M265 2GB (1x 1366x768), 1x SSD 480GB, Logitech Extreme 3D Pro, P3Dv3.1

Mike LM
Posts: 1344
Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2015 5:26 pm

Re: Avatar and P3d V3

Postby Mike LM » Mon Dec 07, 2015 9:40 pm

Are you asking about controlling the avatar yourself or having AI/pre-recorded avatars moving around?
Prepar3D® Software Engineer

User avatar
degeus
Posts: 159
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2013 9:30 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: Avatar and P3d V3

Postby degeus » Mon Dec 14, 2015 6:55 pm

Hello MIke,
My first interest is to have instructions on how to use an avatar near and around an active aircraft on its parking. If that sdame "document" describes how to define in AI it is welcome as well.
Looking forward to your news,
reg.,
Piet
Piet de Geus
Netherlands

Mike LM
Posts: 1344
Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2015 5:26 pm

Re: Avatar and P3d V3

Postby Mike LM » Mon Dec 14, 2015 7:00 pm

The default key combo for avatar mode is CTRL+SHIFT+E. (You can change it in the controls window.) From there, you can walk around your aircraft.

Unfortunately, we do not have any support for avatar AI at this time. It's definitely something we're thinking about for the future.
Prepar3D® Software Engineer

User avatar
degeus
Posts: 159
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2013 9:30 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: Avatar and P3d V3

Postby degeus » Tue Dec 15, 2015 2:46 pm

Hello Mike,
Indeed, Cntrl+Shft+E makes the Avatar come in view, standing.
Now: How do I move him, slowly, faster, jump, turn, get in the aircraft etc. Where can I find those instructions?
reg.,
Piet
Piet de Geus
Netherlands

Mike LM
Posts: 1344
Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2015 5:26 pm

Re: Avatar and P3d V3

Postby Mike LM » Tue Dec 15, 2015 5:21 pm

While you are in avatar mode, go to the controls menu. You can see all of the different key controls from there, and change them to your liking. Here's the default controls:

Toggle Avatar Mode - CTRL+SHIFT+E
Move - WASD
Jump - F
Toggle Crouch - C
Toggle Run - R
Camera Left - Q
Camera Right - E

Toggling avatar mode will take you in/out of your aircraft.
Prepar3D® Software Engineer

User avatar
degeus
Posts: 159
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2013 9:30 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: Avatar and P3d V3

Postby degeus » Sat Dec 19, 2015 4:03 pm

Mike,
Now it is quite clear! Thanks. Maybe for the less experienced users it might have been a good idea to write some kind of instruction when Avatar was announced. I had no idea that the movement-instructions were somewhere in the settings. At first I tried it with my yoke and pedals e.g.
reg.,
Piet
Piet de Geus
Netherlands

smoky
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2012 4:27 pm

Re: Avatar and P3d V3

Postby smoky » Sun Dec 20, 2015 10:02 am

I've never been able to make the Avatar appear. In P3Dv3 controls, there are all the commands for moving the Avatar, but no Avatar Toggle Mode. It's not in the controls/standard xml either. I've edited the xml and entered the line <key>Ctrl+Shift+E</Key><Down>Toggle_Avatar_Mode</Down> Save and close. The xml then opens correctly with the new command. Start P3D, then open the xml again, and the new command has disappeared. Maybe I'm not putting the command in the correct format ?

/Russell.

fleng200
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri Nov 22, 2013 8:24 am

Re: Avatar and P3d V3

Postby fleng200 » Sun Dec 20, 2015 1:36 pm

Same here, no Avatar Toggle command. So I can never use the guy...

User avatar
degeus
Posts: 159
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2013 9:30 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: Avatar and P3d V3

Postby degeus » Mon Dec 21, 2015 6:09 pm

Do you both mean that in the Settings/keyboard and Axes tab there is no line for Toggling Avatar mode?
Mike made me also aware of this function, as I thouight the functioning of Avatar was not clearly announced.
reg
Piet de Geus
Piet de Geus
Netherlands

edpatino
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Dec 24, 2013 2:02 pm

Re: Avatar and P3d V3

Postby edpatino » Mon Dec 21, 2015 7:05 pm

I agree with everyone above, the use of the Avatar mode is absolutely in no way explained at all.
Edward

smoky
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2012 4:27 pm

Re: Avatar and P3d V3

Postby smoky » Mon Dec 21, 2015 9:17 pm

Correct degeus. No line anywhere in controls for Avatar Toggle Mode. Plenty of lines to move him around...but nothing to make the guy appear.

/Russell.


Return to “Prepar3D Client Application Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 25 guests