[RESOLVED] g3d.dll error

Any issues, problems or troubleshooting topics related to the Prepar3D client application.
User avatar
nigelallenby
Posts: 123
Joined: Sat Jun 07, 2014 9:43 am

[RESOLVED] g3d.dll error

Postby nigelallenby » Tue May 26, 2015 9:23 am

Hi

Am now totally frustrated with P3d crashing with a g3d.dll error everytime I load a flight. The only major change to my PC is that I have recently downloaded Norton 360 and had a lot of problems excluding most of my flight sim tools such as Instant Scenery3, AIFP, Estonia Migration tool etc within Norton's Control Panel to get P3D operating ok.
FSUIPC4 is to v4939n, Nvidia driver is 352.86 Computer specs:-

Intel i5-2500K @ 3.30GHz Sandy Bridge
MSI Z77A-G45 Motherboard
8GB DDR3 Ram
MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 750 Ti
500GB Hybrid SSD Hard drive (main), secondary 500GB HDD, third backup 320 GB HDD
OCZ 750 watt PSU

I've read the many threads on g3d.dll faults on the net but no joy with any of the suggested fixes. Can someone help me with some suggestions please?

Regards

Nigel
If it ain't broke, take it apart and fix it.
Intel i5-2500K @ 3.30GHz Sandy Bridge. ASRock Q77M vPRO Motherboard. 8GB DDR3 Ram. ASUS NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 3GB. 500GB SSD HD , secondary 500GB HDD, third 320 GB. OCZ 750 watt PSU.Win10 Home 64bit

filippo1974
Posts: 69
Joined: Sun May 05, 2013 8:07 am
Location: North east of Italy

Postby filippo1974 » Tue May 26, 2015 9:38 am

Well,

if you are reasonably confident that the only relevant change was the installation of Norton 360, then you may try to temporarily disable it, or even uninstall it completely, and see if P3D works again. If this is the case, I think the most obvious fix would be to opt for another anti-malware suite... Simple as that. I don't see other remedies, if you already tried all suggestions found in the net.

Regards,
Filippo
ATPL frozen - CPL/IR ME
P3D v4

User avatar
nigelallenby
Posts: 123
Joined: Sat Jun 07, 2014 9:43 am

Postby nigelallenby » Tue May 26, 2015 10:26 am

Yes I've tried that Filippo but nothing changes, I get a g3d.dll crash when the flight (any flight) has finished loading using SimLauncherX to load. If I load P3D using its own shortcut I always get a MSVCR100.dll error:-

Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
Application Name: Prepar3D.exe
Application Version: 2.5.12945.0
Application Timestamp: 55145f5e
Fault Module Name: MSVCR100.dll
Fault Module Version: 10.0.40219.325
Fault Module Timestamp: 4df2be1e
Exception Code: c0000005
Exception Offset: 0001d419
OS Version: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.768.3
Locale ID: 2057

Additional information about the problem:
LCID: 2057

Read our privacy statement online:
http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?linkid=104288&clcid=0x0409

If the online privacy statement is not available, please read our privacy statement offline:
C:\Windows\system32\en-US\erofflps.txt

I'm also in communications with the SLX designer for a solution.

Nigel
If it ain't broke, take it apart and fix it.
Intel i5-2500K @ 3.30GHz Sandy Bridge. ASRock Q77M vPRO Motherboard. 8GB DDR3 Ram. ASUS NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 3GB. 500GB SSD HD , secondary 500GB HDD, third 320 GB. OCZ 750 watt PSU.Win10 Home 64bit

jimcarrel
Posts: 141
Joined: Fri Nov 29, 2013 7:24 pm

Postby jimcarrel » Tue May 26, 2015 1:21 pm

To the best of my knowledge Norton uses it's own version of the MSVCR100.dll, there for windows will use it instead of newest. Which is in the C++ redistributes.

Norton can be highly invasive. I used it twice in years past and it never stayed long. It's just not a gamers AV.

Do a search on Fault Module Name: MSVCR100.dll and you will run into a few posts on Norton.

hermes82
Posts: 365
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2012 3:05 pm

Postby hermes82 » Tue May 26, 2015 4:35 pm

MSVCR100.dll can be caused by a corrupt flight plan as i've found out myself, if p3d fails to launch with "MSVCR100.dll" then sim launcher x may fail with " g3d.dll" error, try changing default flight, alternatively if you use plan G just open the flight plan in that then save and ovewr write the original

User avatar
nigelallenby
Posts: 123
Joined: Sat Jun 07, 2014 9:43 am

Postby nigelallenby » Thu May 28, 2015 9:46 am

Maarten of SimLauncherX has sorted out the problem with SLX, seems it was an error with the "dark theme" I had loaded and apart from reducing the loading of photographic scenery within my Scenery Library ( de-ticking areas within the Scenery Library with a Scenery Configurator on areas I'm not flying over such as Scotland, Ireland, Western Isles and France etc), I don't seem to have the g3d.dll crash anymore. It makes sense really, why load up photographic scenery areas you'll not be flying over.

Using SLX does not give me a “MSVCR100.dll” error on completion of loading.
If it ain't broke, take it apart and fix it.
Intel i5-2500K @ 3.30GHz Sandy Bridge. ASRock Q77M vPRO Motherboard. 8GB DDR3 Ram. ASUS NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 3GB. 500GB SSD HD , secondary 500GB HDD, third 320 GB. OCZ 750 watt PSU.Win10 Home 64bit

Ginger888
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2015 9:14 am

Postby Ginger888 » Thu Jun 11, 2015 5:19 am

Maybe you need to download a new msvcr100.dll file? Try to load it from here (REMOVED) and replace the old file by the new one. Then restart computer and try to launch the program again. If the error still occurs then the problem not in this file.

Wills
Posts: 207
Joined: Fri Dec 20, 2013 5:36 pm

Postby Wills » Fri Jun 12, 2015 3:22 am

I really wouldn't recommend downloading random versions of dlls from untrusted websites.

Reinstall the latest redistributable direct from Microsoft instead.

Ginger0
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jun 10, 2015 2:02 pm

Postby Ginger0 » Wed Jun 17, 2015 7:47 am

I have problem with dll files and I load it from http://fix4dll.com/msvcp110_dll and replace the old file by new one. It helps me and no error occurs, so maybe it will helps you too.

User avatar
nigelallenby
Posts: 123
Joined: Sat Jun 07, 2014 9:43 am

Postby nigelallenby » Sat Jun 20, 2015 9:02 am

No, Gimger0, downloading and installing msvcp110.dll into Windows/System32 did'nt help at all, made no difference.

To repeat, every time I load P3D from its shortcut I get a APPCRASH msvcr100.dll error on final loading to screen, with an instant freeze when screen displays airport, anywhere in the UK.

If I use SimLauncherX to load/create a flight everything is OK until I fly near the Doncaster/ RAF Scampton area of the UK I then get a g3d.dll freeze. Spent days disabling sceneries and addon airfields to no avail! I found that disabling photo sceneries that I don't fly over did'nt make any difference to my fps (locked at 30) so have re-established all the sceneries.
If it ain't broke, take it apart and fix it.
Intel i5-2500K @ 3.30GHz Sandy Bridge. ASRock Q77M vPRO Motherboard. 8GB DDR3 Ram. ASUS NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 3GB. 500GB SSD HD , secondary 500GB HDD, third 320 GB. OCZ 750 watt PSU.Win10 Home 64bit

User avatar
nigelallenby
Posts: 123
Joined: Sat Jun 07, 2014 9:43 am

Postby nigelallenby » Fri Jun 26, 2015 11:32 am

Hi
Just an update to close this thread. The cause of my g3d.dll and MSVCR100.dll freezes were caused by scenery airfield .bgl files that I had converted in the past from FS9 files to FSX format, I then used them in P3D which does not like anything made with FS2004 SDK! Also I had four airfield files, Miscellaneous, Private, Disused and UK Farm Strips that were the main cause for MSVCR100.dll errors.

Since I've trawled through my scenery files and deleted anything from my old FSX setup which were converted from FS9 I've had no problems so far. With the latest Nvidia driver I'm impressed with P3D v2.5 performance.

If it ain't broke, take it apart and fix it.
Intel i5-2500K @ 3.30GHz Sandy Bridge. ASRock Q77M vPRO Motherboard. 8GB DDR3 Ram. ASUS NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 3GB. 500GB SSD HD , secondary 500GB HDD, third 320 GB. OCZ 750 watt PSU.Win10 Home 64bit


Return to “Prepar3D Client Application Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Mischung and 64 guests