Enabling VR and Focal Boxes'

Discussion related to Mission design and creation.
AlexReynolds1
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2018 12:37 am

Enabling VR and Focal Boxes'

Postby AlexReynolds1 » Tue Oct 23, 2018 4:50 am

Wounding if there's anyway possible to have VR enable through some sort of script in P3D so the user won't need need to navigate the menu system?

Also, has anyone found away to allow focal points to show up correctly in VR ?

Cheers,
Alex

User avatar
David Love-Brice
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2017 5:11 am

Re: Enabling VR and Focal Boxes'

Postby David Love-Brice » Thu Oct 25, 2018 2:54 pm

Hey Alex...:)

Didn't know that Focal Points were an issue in VR, do they not render at all?
David Love-Brice
Senior Technical Trainer, AIR 5428
Lockheed Martin Australia

AlexReynolds1
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2018 12:37 am

Re: Enabling VR and Focal Boxes'

Postby AlexReynolds1 » Mon Oct 29, 2018 2:48 am

Hi David,

They render, however they render in a different spot in each eye, making it very confusing when viewing through the VR headset.

User avatar
David Love-Brice
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2017 5:11 am

Re: Enabling VR and Focal Boxes'

Postby David Love-Brice » Thu Nov 01, 2018 2:07 pm

Ewwww, oh that's a mindbender. :) Best of luck with it though.
David Love-Brice
Senior Technical Trainer, AIR 5428
Lockheed Martin Australia

User avatar
Kayla Kinzel
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 1216
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2016 5:59 pm

Re: Enabling VR and Focal Boxes'

Postby Kayla Kinzel » Thu Nov 01, 2018 2:31 pm

Wounding if there's anyway possible to have VR enable through some sort of script in P3D so the user won't need need to navigate the menu system?

Also, has anyone found away to allow focal points to show up correctly in VR ?

Cheers,
Alex
Hello,

You can enable VR on startup by setting EnableVirtualRealityOnStartup=1 in the Prepar3D.cfg.

Which version of Prepar3D are you running? I am not seeing this issue in 4.3.

Have you gone through the general debugging steps?
viewtopic.php?f=6312&t=123246

Regards,
Kayla
Prepar3D® Software Engineer

User avatar
Raynald1
Posts: 84
Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2013 10:11 pm
Location: Prescott, AZ
Contact:

Re: Enabling VR and Focal Boxes'

Postby Raynald1 » Fri Mar 29, 2019 4:23 pm

David

I also found that the Focal boxed do not render correctly in VR so I created Scaleform objects that render much better in VR as you can change the position and orientation at will.

1. Create an empty text box in PowerPoint.
2. Copy in Gimp and select only the box and make sure the background is "Transparent".
3. Save it a a .jpg
3. I use Sothink SWF Quicker but you can use Adobe Flash, Import it into your .swf maker program and match the background size to your file size (I use 613 x 613, not critical as you can adjust the size in SimDirector).
4. Export it to a folder (I call it images_VR) in your SimDirector folder as a .swf item (I call it images_vr\Green_open.swf) .
5. In SimDirector, create a ScaleForm object with the size 613 x 613 with the name from the folder and file you just created ( images_vr\Green_open.swf).
Image

6. Go to the bottom and adjust the size in WorlSize:
Image

7. You can change the orientation in Orientation.
8. To change the position, go back to the top of the page and click on AttachWorldObject ADD and add your aircraft (I left it as UserOwnShip1).
9. I set all the BodyRelativeOffset and BodyRelativeRoration to YES.
Image

10. At the bottom, you can adjust the position by playing with the OffsetXYZ settings. I bring it close the my wanted position in 2D in the preview mode and then make the fine adjustments in VR. (This example is for the trim wheel in the Carenado Cessna 172).

11. Copy the XYZ positions in a spreadsheet so you can save time when you reuse the same boxes.

12. Open and close the focus box with a simple ObjectActivationAction:
Image

A trick is to set the Activated to YES so you can reload scenario and make an adjustment and take a quick look in 2D:
Image.

Here is what it looks like in 2D:
Image.

13. You can switch easily between 2D and VR by selecting YES in the Settings> File> When application boots directly...:
Image.

It is a time intensive process but well worth it in VR.

Ray
Ray Bedard
True Course Simulations

AlexReynolds1
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2018 12:37 am

Re: Enabling VR and Focal Boxes'

Postby AlexReynolds1 » Fri Apr 05, 2019 2:14 am

Hi Ray,

Very interesting work around.

I'll be sure to give this a try over the coming weeks and see what I can do.

Regards,
Alex


Return to “Scenario Development (SimDirector) Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest