P3D V 5 Installation Question

Any issues, problems or troubleshooting topics related to installing the Prepar3D client application or it's installer.
stratfordman
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri May 30, 2014 9:30 pm

P3D V 5 Installation Question

Postby stratfordman » Fri Apr 10, 2020 4:07 pm

I current have P3D v 4.5 and wish to upgrade to V5.

Do I have to uninstall v 4.5 and ALL my add on's incl. Orbyx and all airports etc.

To do this process properly is this the way to go.

Would appreciate clarification please.

Michael

Martyson
Posts: 8312
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: P3D V 5 Installation Question

Postby Martyson » Fri Apr 10, 2020 4:12 pm

P3D is stand alone. You can also keep P3Dv4.5.

See Rob's post here:
viewtopic.php?f=6322&t=136747
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

stratfordman
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri May 30, 2014 9:30 pm

Re: P3D V 5 Installation Question

Postby stratfordman » Fri Apr 10, 2020 4:14 pm

HI,

Many thanks for your reply.

I would not want to keep v 4.5 so in that case will I need to uninstall and the add on's and then reinstall them from scratch?

Michael

JorgenSA
Posts: 1354
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:17 am
Location: 5 NM NE of EDXF

Re: P3D V 5 Installation Question

Postby JorgenSA » Fri Apr 10, 2020 5:01 pm

Michael, that would depend a lot on the compatibility with your various add-ons and v. 5.

Hold off for a bit, and check with your add-on manufacturers for compatibility after the release date of v. 5.

Jorgen
System: i7-7700K @ 4.66 GHz, ASUS Z170-A motherboard, 16 GB of 2133 MHz DDR4 RAM, nVidia GTX 960 graphics w/ 4 GB DDR5 VRAM, Thrustmaster HOTAS-X, Windows 10 Home

stratfordman
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri May 30, 2014 9:30 pm

Re: P3D V 5 Installation Question

Postby stratfordman » Fri Apr 10, 2020 6:04 pm

Hi Jorgen,

Many thanks for your reply.

So what you are saying is not to uninstall the add on's as yet and if they become V5 compatible then just complete the update inside the add on when they become available.

Confirmation of this would be appreciated.

Sorry for my ignorance if the answer is obvious.

Michael


Return to “Prepar3D Installation and Installer Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 30 guests