Airport Database Upgrade

Post your feature requests here. Note that we cannot promise that any of these posts will be commented on or that requested features will be implemented.
JoeFremont
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Mar 16, 2017 10:46 pm

Airport Database Upgrade

Postby JoeFremont » Sat May 26, 2018 10:35 pm

Hi P3D Team!

I just wanted to ask if there could be some updates to the airport database within P3D. The airport DB is basically the same as FSX in 2005, many airports have closed and opened since then, I am not suggesting anything fancy, bacically what I am suggesting is:

1) Airports whose ICAO codes have changed should be updated.
2) Airports that have closed should be marked as closed.
3) New airports (especially those that replaced airports have closed) should be added. These new airports should be very minimal, runways, taxiways, a few places to park, no buildings.

Thanks for listening.

vafpilot
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Oct 28, 2017 5:26 pm
Location: KMDT

Re: Airport Database Upgrade

Postby vafpilot » Sun May 27, 2018 2:10 pm

There is a website that contains the process and files for updating the sim with regard to navaids and airport information. It’s available for both P3D and FSX. If anyone is interested I can post the URL here.

My request would be for LM to design a way to allow Navigraph (or Navdata) to update the sim. This would allow third party addons who use the sim database info to remain current especially if you fly online with VATSIM. Specifically, there are FMC addons this would apply to and would be advantageous for use in aircraft that do not have a working FMS.
Flight simming since 1998
P3D v4, FSX, X-Plane 11
Aviation Enthusiast

JoeFremont
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Mar 16, 2017 10:46 pm

Re: Airport Database Upgrade

Postby JoeFremont » Mon May 28, 2018 5:07 pm

I know there are packages, both free and payware that I could get to update my personal database.

But much of the reasoning for this request comes from the fact I run a website that is a Virtual Airline platform called FSAirlines, we maintain a database of all available airports. Because most of our pilots use either FSX or P3D and because P3D continues to use the old FSX Airport codes I have to leave all the old codes in the database. If P3D had the current airport codes it would make the day when the majority of our pilots had current codes closer.


Return to “Prepar3D Feature Requests”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests