[RESOLVED] Spoiler variable not transmitted in MP (v2 and v3)

Any issues, problems or troubleshooting topics related to the Prepar3D client application's multiplayer mode
MiG21bis
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2013 7:22 pm

Re: Spoiler variable not transmitted in MP (v2 and v3)

Postby MiG21bis » Wed Jan 27, 2016 3:33 pm

Tested last night - guests cannot see the host's spoilers.

This was working in FSX - I know there is a lot going on in the code, but hard to see this capability lost in such a sophisticated sim. My guess is the vast majority of civilian simming is being done outside of a LAN, would be great if LM could create a solution for that group.

We can test this on a LAN here, if you think that would be a good use of time.

FSMP
Posts: 678
Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2010 9:38 am

Re: Spoiler variable not transmitted in MP (v2 and v3)

Postby FSMP » Thu Jan 28, 2016 2:34 am

MiG21bis wrote:Tested last night - guests cannot see the host's spoilers.



As guests cannot even see the Host's Spoilers, then there must be some issue with either the Transmission of the spoiler information in the packet going from the Host to the Guests, or some issue with the Guests being able to interpret the Spoiler information in their received "Position" packet, if indeed, it is being sent correctly from the Host.

The good news is that it should be easy enough for LM to diagnose the exact cause of the issue, and fix it - either by looking at a packet capture, or eyeballing the code for what must be quite an obvious coding error when they did the change to move the Spoiler info into the same packet as the similar rudder & elevation data.

Look on the bright side -- at least the other information in that packet appear to still being communicated correctly after the change !!

MiG21bis
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2013 7:22 pm

Re: Spoiler variable not transmitted in MP (v2 and v3)

Postby MiG21bis » Tue Feb 02, 2016 8:01 pm

Good points, FSMP. So, what is the next step?

We're willing to act as testers in this regard for LM, if that would help augment the diagnosis and remedy process. We're a group of beta testers at MilViz, lots of multiplayer work every week on military aircraft models for P3D.

Clifton Crane
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 997
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2012 2:34 pm

Re: Spoiler variable not transmitted in MP (v2 and v3)

Postby Clifton Crane » Tue Feb 02, 2016 10:48 pm

MiG21bis,

How are your keybindings set up for the spoilers? Are you using the button based toggle key event or an axis based event?

Thanks for your patience.
Clifton Crane
Prepar3D® Software Engineer Sr.

Milivz
Posts: 154
Joined: Thu Dec 09, 2010 11:10 pm

Re: Spoiler variable not transmitted in MP (v2 and v3)

Postby Milivz » Wed Feb 03, 2016 10:04 pm

We've gotten them to work in FSXA but not in P3D any version.

We've tried many combinations of keys and vars. None work.

We've tried LAN internet. It would appear that none of these work.

MiG21bis
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2013 7:22 pm

Re: Spoiler variable not transmitted in MP (v2 and v3)

Postby MiG21bis » Thu Feb 04, 2016 1:52 am

Clifton Crane wrote:MiG21bis,

How are your keybindings set up for the spoilers? Are you using the button based toggle key event or an axis based event?

Thanks for your patience.


Button based, Clifton.

Clifton Crane
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 997
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2012 2:34 pm

Re: Spoiler variable not transmitted in MP (v2 and v3)

Postby Clifton Crane » Tue Feb 09, 2016 3:16 pm

Hi everyone,

I have tracked down the issue with the spoiler states in multiplayer. There was indeed an issue that would cause spoilers to retract on client machines when the spoiler was in the fully extended state on the owners machine. The fix will be available with the next release.

Thanks again for your patience and the report.

EDIT: Corrected spelling. :)
Clifton Crane
Prepar3D® Software Engineer Sr.


Return to “Multiplayer Specific Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests