P3D3 version 4.1 rendering weirdness in MP

Any issues, problems or troubleshooting topics related to the Prepar3D client application's multiplayer mode
simskunkworks
Posts: 49
Joined: Sun Dec 15, 2013 6:30 pm

P3D3 version 4.1 rendering weirdness in MP

Postby simskunkworks » Tue Oct 17, 2017 2:47 pm

Hi,
we discovered a weird error in multiplayer, when more than two players are connected some players are seen with a wrong model like the aircraft title would not be found.
It happens in a random way. reentering in mp session sometime it changes, some players are seen correctly and some not.
Here a picture that explain what i mean, 2 aircrafts are see as they were 2 GBU12 (which cannot be uploaded on the F104)
For completeness, we have upgraded from 4.028.21686 to 4.1 updating only the client as indicated into release notes.
https://www.dropbox.com/s/mo92nl39usdye ... rdness.jpg
regards
SSW
Last edited by simskunkworks on Tue Oct 17, 2017 3:13 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Clifton Crane
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 819
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2012 2:34 pm

Re: P3D3 version 4.1 rendering weirdness in MP

Postby Clifton Crane » Tue Oct 17, 2017 3:12 pm

Hi SSW,

Are all machines running the same content? If objects/vehicles are not found for a given client, the object is attempted to be substituted by something similar. Do you know what type of aircraft the other clients were using?

Thanks.
Clifton Crane
Prepar3D® Software Engineer

simskunkworks
Posts: 49
Joined: Sun Dec 15, 2013 6:30 pm

Re: P3D3 version 4.1 rendering weirdness in MP

Postby simskunkworks » Tue Oct 17, 2017 3:16 pm

All machines are running the same content version, all 3 aircrafts are of the same type of that is shown,
SSW F-104S.
Rolling back to 4.028.21686 client restore the situation.
/SSW

Clifton Crane
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 819
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2012 2:34 pm

Re: P3D3 version 4.1 rendering weirdness in MP

Postby Clifton Crane » Tue Oct 17, 2017 4:30 pm

Thanks for the report! Please keep us posted.
Clifton Crane
Prepar3D® Software Engineer

simskunkworks
Posts: 49
Joined: Sun Dec 15, 2013 6:30 pm

Re: P3D3 version 4.1 rendering weirdness in MP

Postby simskunkworks » Wed Oct 18, 2017 7:13 pm

Hi,
guess we have discovered the problem, for some reason ALL players must share the same content.
Here an example:
- 3 players A,B,C
If A and B have same X aircraft installed and C not weirdness begins even if C player is miles away (for sure out of peer-to-peer radius)
ALL airplanes A,B,C must have the same airplane installed or substitution randomly occurs even for those players that do have X installed.
Pratically we have a gaming server located on Germany with the server-player located near Mons (Belgium), server does not have F-104S installed while all other players, located at Rimini (Italy) have it.
Weirdness is on, once installed F-104 S on the server weirdness ended.
This did not happened before in any P3D version so i guess is a problem with this release.
Hope thsi helps.
/SSW

FlySR
Posts: 85
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2012 7:52 pm

Re: P3D3 version 4.1 rendering weirdness in MP

Postby FlySR » Tue Dec 26, 2017 9:59 am

Hi,

Would just like to say I am reporting seeing exactly the same problem with 4.1 as "simskunkworks" but not 4.0 . A hotfix would be nice ;-)

User avatar
aeronauta
Posts: 1423
Joined: Sun Oct 23, 2011 1:56 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: P3D3 version 4.1 rendering weirdness in MP

Postby aeronauta » Tue Dec 26, 2017 10:52 am

It has been a well known fact that multiplayer clients MUST have the same version, menning all the sections of P3D must be at the same version, if you upgraded to V4.1 by upgrading client and did not upgrade content ,... that;s your problem..

Jorge
Jorge Roldan
OZx Developer (aero) - Hovercontrol Helicopter Certified Pilot - Spad.Next Beta Tester - VATPAC Pilot PR - Nemetz Designs Beta Tester

FlySR
Posts: 85
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2012 7:52 pm

Re: P3D3 version 4.1 rendering weirdness in MP

Postby FlySR » Tue Dec 26, 2017 9:57 pm

It has been a well known fact that multiplayer clients MUST have the same version, menning all the sections of P3D must be at the same version, if you upgraded to V4.1 by upgrading client and did not upgrade content ,... that;s your problem..

Jorge
Nope, content or not, all clients have exact same version of prepar3d, we all double checked with each other. It is a problem with substitutions which has never been experienced in previous versions of P3D. Exactly as Simskunkworks described

simskunkworks
Posts: 49
Joined: Sun Dec 15, 2013 6:30 pm

Re: P3D3 version 4.1 rendering weirdness in MP

Postby simskunkworks » Tue Feb 13, 2018 3:14 pm

The problem remains also in 4.2, never happened before version 4.1 even if players do not update the content since LM states that is possible update the client only, there is no mention anywhere that the content must be updated along versions for multiplayer.
I guess is a bug that should be fixed please.
SSW

FlySR
Posts: 85
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2012 7:52 pm

Re: P3D3 version 4.1 rendering weirdness in MP

Postby FlySR » Sat Feb 17, 2018 9:43 pm

I am also saddened to see the problem still persists in Prepar3d 4.2 . In our case all players have Updated both content and Client.

Clifton Crane
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 819
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2012 2:34 pm

Re: P3D3 version 4.1 rendering weirdness in MP

Postby Clifton Crane » Mon Feb 19, 2018 2:38 pm

Hello,

Do you see this issue with default aircraft? Also, in a previous post there was mention of a dedicated server being used. Has this machine also been updated so that all content is the same across all machines? The entity matching/substitution is mainly based on the object's title. If a title has been changed on any machine, its possible that vehicle may not be correctly displayed on other machines.

Thanks.
Clifton Crane
Prepar3D® Software Engineer

simskunkworks
Posts: 49
Joined: Sun Dec 15, 2013 6:30 pm

Re: P3D3 version 4.1 rendering weirdness in MP

Postby simskunkworks » Sat Mar 17, 2018 3:28 pm

Hello,

Do you see this issue with default aircraft? Also, in a previous post there was mention of a dedicated server being used. Has this machine also been updated so that all content is the same across all machines? The entity matching/substitution is mainly based on the object's title. If a title has been changed on any machine, its possible that vehicle may not be correctly displayed on other machines.

Thanks.
The server machine has same "titles" of all clients and all is fine, definitely is not a problem of a wrong (old) "content" version, and does it makes sense, however it should not be like this.
In all previous versions if a client did not have some A/C "title" it simply substituted that title with something similar at client level. Now it seems that if the server-client does not have that "title" it screws up all things and even if a client has that "title" it receives from the client-server a substituted "title" which is not correct.
It is simply unlikely that all clients must have the same content into the network to have a correct propagated title.
/SSW


Return to “Multiplayer Specific Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests