Scenery on NAS with 10 GbE?

Any issues, problems or troubleshooting topics related to computer hardware and the Prepar3D client application
pandaaviation
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2017 5:50 am

Scenery on NAS with 10 GbE?

Postby pandaaviation » Mon May 14, 2018 3:31 pm

Hello,
I like P3DV4. I am currently faced with storage capacity problems. Therefore, as one solution, I am planning to register scenery on SSD's NAS with 10 GbE.
I would like to ask LM's technical opinion. Is this technically possible?
Thank you.

SIMs: P3D V4.2

my rigs
ON P3D RIG
OS: Windows 10 pro 64bit
Mobo: ASUS X299 SAGE
CPU: intel i9-7980XE
GPU: NVIDIA TITAN V
RAM: 64GB [16GB × 4] DDR 4-2400 dominator platinum
PSU: Cooler Master V 1200 1200 W PSU
//
Workstation
OS: Windows 10 pro 64bit
Mobo: ASUS C 621 E SAGE
CPU: intel XEON GOLD 6130 Dual
GPU: NVIDIA TITAN Xp
RAM: 192 GB [16 GB × 12] DDR 4 - 2133 reg ECC
PSU: Cooler Master V 1200 1200 W PSU
and nas..

User avatar
Rob McCarthy
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 1660
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 1:37 pm

Re: Scenery on NAS with 10 GbE?

Postby Rob McCarthy » Tue May 15, 2018 1:33 pm

Hello,

Yes, scenery can be loaded off of NAS. You may get better performance keeping all files on attached storage if possible though.

Regards,
Rob McCarthy
Rob McCarthy
Prepar3D® Core Lead

pandaaviation
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2017 5:50 am

Re: Scenery on NAS with 10 GbE?

Postby pandaaviation » Tue May 15, 2018 4:50 pm

Thank you
With 10 GbE RAID 0 SYS, it would be able to access faster than 6 Gbps SATA connection. I will try it at once.
It costs a lot of high performance Lan cards and a lot of SSD, but this result, users can use many high-quality photo areas and textures like XPLANE's Ortho 4 XP, which should be greatly helpful for VFR training.It is very attractive

Thanks

User avatar
WarpD
Posts: 1249
Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2011 5:29 am

Re: Scenery on NAS with 10 GbE?

Postby WarpD » Tue May 15, 2018 7:21 pm

I am confused... aren't the drives in the NAS 6 Gbps SATA? Or are there faster drives on the market?
Ed Wilson
Senior Developer
Mindstar Aviation

User avatar
Rob Ainscough
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 1984
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 6:46 pm
Location: California USA
Contact:

Re: Scenery on NAS with 10 GbE?

Postby Rob Ainscough » Thu May 17, 2018 6:07 pm

What NAS unit are you using that has 10GbE? Also, what protocol are you using and OS? Theoretical speed is 1200 MBs which is not bad but you'll need to RAID SATA6 SSDs and that may still not get you to bandwidth limit on 10GbE.

An NVMe SSD M.2 (Samsung Pro 960) can operate at 2100MB/s write and 3500MB/s read which is considerably faster than the theoretical best NAS with 10GbE.

There is also U.2 and Intel Optane but they offer similar or less performance than a good M.2.

Keep in mind performance is not entirely about bandwidth, you need to consider latency and file sizes being accessed.

But in most cases, I've not seen any performance difference from any storage medium that can sustain 250MB/s latency <=1ms in terms of P3D/XP11 (there are other limiting factors).

On the NAS front the QNAP TS-531X (provides two 10GbE ports, 5 Bay) or QNAP TX-873-4G 8 Bay ... 8 X WD 12TB RAID 0 will get you to 96TB. But it's still short for good imagery for the entire planet, you'll want 20,500 TB or 20.5 PB (give or take a few TB) ... that's what Google Earth high res imagery consumes. Typically flight simulator imagery is at much lower detail for reasons above. :)

Cheers, Rob.
Rob Ainscough http://www.p3dWiki.com
Prepar3D Forum Global Moderator

marcenzi
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2015 10:13 pm
Location: Katy, Texas USA
Contact:

Re: Scenery on NAS with 10 GbE?

Postby marcenzi » Sun May 20, 2018 5:21 pm

If I wanted to go all the way and have all the Orbx scenery on a hard drive, how big of a drive would I need?

User avatar
Rob Ainscough
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 1984
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 6:46 pm
Location: California USA
Contact:

Re: Scenery on NAS with 10 GbE?

Postby Rob Ainscough » Mon May 21, 2018 4:28 pm

For P3D only, 1TB would be enough ... for now. Depends on if Orbx pursue more PhotoReal with their "TrueEarth" series type of projects/scenery (72GB just for Netherlands).

Cheers, Rob.
Rob Ainscough http://www.p3dWiki.com
Prepar3D Forum Global Moderator


Return to “Hardware Specific Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests