[RESOLVED] P3D startup with Oculus Rift not completing

Any issues, problems or troubleshooting topics related to computer hardware and the Prepar3D client application
imcdonald
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2012 9:08 am
Location: Bridgewater, South Australia

[RESOLVED] P3D startup with Oculus Rift not completing

Postby imcdonald » Wed Jan 10, 2018 6:07 am

Every time I start P3D and choose the VR cockpit, I get the following results in the Oculus Rift headset:
1. sound as expected
2. the spinning loading graphic
3. a message beginning: "Sorry, Prepar3D.exe is taking a while to start. ...".

I have been through the General Debugging Steps:
1. drivers for the graphics card and Rift are current
2. Prepar3D v4.1 is running
3. Windows 10 updates are current
4. Prepar3D can see the graphics card
5. removing the generated folders/files does not permit the Rift display to start so the two add-ons I use, an A2A aircraft and Orbx scenery, don't appear to be having an effect
6. removing additional USB devices did not change the outcome.

There are only three detailed reproduction steps:
1. start Oculus
2. start Prepar3D
3. select Virtual Reality > VR Virtual Cockpit

System details:
1. Prepar3D version: 4.1.7.22841
2. Operating system: Windows 10 Pro 1709/16299.192
3. Add-ons:
Orbx Objectflow 2
A2A 172R Skyhawk
the Rift doesn't appear as an add-on - should it?
4. Hardware:
Intel i7-6850K
nVidia GTX 1080
32GB RAM
Intel SSD 1TB
Philips BDM3275 4K monitor
Oculus Rift with two Touch controllers and two sensors
5. No changes have been made in relation to clocking etc.
6. No Prepar3D configuration files have been altered
7. I am not aware of any log/crash files I could examine but will take suggestions.

Ian

User avatar
Kayla Kinzel
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 1107
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2016 5:59 pm

Re: P3D startup with Oculus Rift not completing

Postby Kayla Kinzel » Wed Jan 10, 2018 1:14 pm

Hello,

The VR Cockpit is not the way you enable VR anymore.

You can view more information in the SDK documentation:
https://www.prepar3d.com/SDKv4/prepar3d ... ality.html

Deleting your generated files will clear out the old VR Cockpit camera entry.

Regards,
Kayla
Prepar3D® Software Engineer

imcdonald
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2012 9:08 am
Location: Bridgewater, South Australia

Re: P3D startup with Oculus Rift not completing

Postby imcdonald » Wed Jan 10, 2018 11:30 pm

Hi Kayla,

Thank you for the prompt response. I have deleted the generated files again and now no longer have the old Views approach to enabling VR.

I'm sorry to say I can't find the virtual reality menu mentioned in the Learning Centre instructions. Is it supposed to appear as a top level menu or is it under one of the other ones? Prepar3D.cfg in \<uname>\AppData\Roaming\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v4has the entry:

LoadVirtualReality=1

Regards,
Ian

User avatar
aeronauta
Posts: 1457
Joined: Sun Oct 23, 2011 1:56 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: P3D startup with Oculus Rift not completing

Postby aeronauta » Thu Jan 11, 2018 1:42 am

Ian , the Virtual reality is a menu item just before addons. Also in C:\Users\aero\AppData\Roaming\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v4\ delete the cameras.cfg .. a new one will be created , there should not be any Virtual Reality entries there.
It should be there without any other action, if you select VirtualReality the drop down shows Enable Virtual Reality (even if you do not have the rift or oculus riunning) and will show a double screen , selecting the menu again shows a number of options and you can close (disable VR).

The sequence is Start Oculus , start P3D , select from menu Virtual Reality and select enable ..

right click on the P3D scree does not show aan entry Virtual Reality cockpit , if it does or the menu does not show Virtual Reality you may need to repair P3D ..

Jorge
Jorge Roldan
OZx Developer (aero) - Hovercontrol Helicopter Certified Pilot - Spad.Next Beta Tester - VATPAC Pilot PR - Nemetz Designs Beta Tester

imcdonald
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2012 9:08 am
Location: Bridgewater, South Australia

Re: P3D startup with Oculus Rift not completing

Postby imcdonald » Thu Jan 11, 2018 2:01 am

Hi Jorge,

Thanks for your suggestions. I removed the cameras.cfg and restarted everything but I still don't see the Virtual Reality menu entry. Under the Options top-level menu, my entry before Add-ons is Sound.

Regards,
Ian

User avatar
Kayla Kinzel
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 1107
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2016 5:59 pm

Re: P3D startup with Oculus Rift not completing

Postby Kayla Kinzel » Thu Jan 11, 2018 11:41 am

Hello,

Can you double check that your graphics drivers up to date?

Regards,
Kayla
Prepar3D® Software Engineer

imcdonald
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2012 9:08 am
Location: Bridgewater, South Australia

Re: P3D startup with Oculus Rift not completing

Postby imcdonald » Thu Jan 11, 2018 12:17 pm

Hi Kayla,

I had the latest nVidia driver running. Just 20 minutes ago, I did a clean reinstall of the driver but nothing has changed. I have also tried disconnecting the Rift and restarting my system before reconnecting it. No luck so far :-(

Regards,
Ian

User avatar
Kayla Kinzel
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 1107
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2016 5:59 pm

Re: P3D startup with Oculus Rift not completing

Postby Kayla Kinzel » Thu Jan 11, 2018 3:14 pm

Hello,

Check to see if the Oculus is blocking Prepar3D because Oculus considers it an Unknown Source:
https://support.oculus.com/878170922281071/

Regards,
Kayla
Prepar3D® Software Engineer

imcdonald
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2012 9:08 am
Location: Bridgewater, South Australia

Re: P3D startup with Oculus Rift not completing

Postby imcdonald » Thu Jan 11, 2018 3:29 pm

Hi Kayla,

I have had the Oculus setting permitting unknown applications on from the beginning. I get the sound of aircraft in the Oculus headphones.

Automatic updates are also set in Oculus.

Regards,
Ian

User avatar
aeronauta
Posts: 1457
Joined: Sun Oct 23, 2011 1:56 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: P3D startup with Oculus Rift not completing

Postby aeronauta » Fri Jan 12, 2018 2:49 am

" Under the Options top-level menu, my entry before Add-ons is Sound." no no, you must have a top level Menu Virtual reality...

http://fsfiles.org/flightsimshotsv2/ima ... /12/vr.jpg

I think you need to do a repair of Client... if the Menu Item is not there your install is not correct..

Jorge
Jorge Roldan
OZx Developer (aero) - Hovercontrol Helicopter Certified Pilot - Spad.Next Beta Tester - VATPAC Pilot PR - Nemetz Designs Beta Tester

imcdonald
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2012 9:08 am
Location: Bridgewater, South Australia

Re: P3D startup with Oculus Rift not completing

Postby imcdonald » Fri Jan 12, 2018 3:42 am

Hi Jorge (and Kayla),

As I was looking around my system trying the various suggestions, I found a considerable amount of detritus from various other installations going back to FSX. I decided it was time to do a complete uninstall/reinstall. I now have the top level menu for Virtual Reality and the capability I was looking for with the Rift. Having never flown a tail-wheel before, I managed to land the Maule without killing myself :-)

Thank you for your support. I is much appreciated.

Regards,
Ian

User avatar
aeronauta
Posts: 1457
Joined: Sun Oct 23, 2011 1:56 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: P3D startup with Oculus Rift not completing

Postby aeronauta » Fri Jan 12, 2018 4:02 am

Great , now make sure you don't over do it!! may give you a head ache!!!...enjoy

Jorge
Jorge Roldan
OZx Developer (aero) - Hovercontrol Helicopter Certified Pilot - Spad.Next Beta Tester - VATPAC Pilot PR - Nemetz Designs Beta Tester


Return to “Hardware Specific Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider] and 5 guests