4-core @4.3GHz or 6-core @3.5GHz

Any issues, problems or troubleshooting topics related to computer hardware and the Prepar3D client application
User avatar
Mike Sierra
Posts: 215
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2014 10:07 pm

4-core @4.3GHz or 6-core @3.5GHz

Postby Mike Sierra » Tue Sep 19, 2017 10:44 am

Hi.
I'm considering a hardware upgrade from the specs as in my current signature (Asus Rampage IV Extreme, I7-4930K @ 6x 3,90GHz , 32GB DDR3 RAM, Asus ROG Strix GTX 1080) to the following:
ASUS ROG Strix X299-E Gaming board
Corsair Vengeance LPX 32GB, DDR4-4133
and for the cpu either a
6-core Intel Core i7-7800X, 6x 3.50GHz
or a
4-core Intel Core i7-7740X, 4x 4.30GHz
(graphic card unchanged Asus ROG Strix GTX 1080)
The question concerning me is: which CPU can provide better performance for P3D?
If I do a simple multiplication, 4x4.3=17.2 versus 6x3.5=21.0, the 6-core chip gives a higher result, but: is that equal to more capacity? and: will P3D gain profit from that?

Thanks in advance for assistance,
Michael.
N 48°10' E 13°30' 496m
Austria, Europe
-------------------
Win7 64bit, Asus Rampage IV Extreme, I7-4930K @ 3,9GHz , 32GB DDR3 @ 1300MHz, Asus ROG Strix GTX 1080 (3× 27" @ 1920×1080), 3× SSD 500GB, 1× SSD 1TB, 1× HDD 2TB, 1× HDD 6TB, P3D v4.1.7.22841

wowak22
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Mar 30, 2013 10:34 pm

Re: 4-core @4.3GHz or 6-core @3.5GHz

Postby wowak22 » Sat Sep 23, 2017 8:18 pm

Nobody knows 4 cores or 6, with less clocking, or will PREPAR 3D V4 use as many as 4 cores? I also want to know? I'm going to change the hardware can anyone help ?

DJSean
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2012 7:28 am

Re: 4-core @4.3GHz or 6-core @3.5GHz

Postby DJSean » Tue Sep 26, 2017 12:32 am

4 at a higher clock rate has been my experience.
Sean | Virgin Aust | i7 7700K @ 5.2Ghz | Asus ROG Maximus IX | G.Skill RIPJAWS 32GB DDR4 3200MHZ | Asus STRIX-GTX1080 | 2 x Samsung 850 EVO SSD RAID 0 | Corsair HX1000i  | Win 10 64bit | Youtube - [url]https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCkTxeZd0zzuahrEnCCG2IZQ[/url]

Saldo
Posts: 245
Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2014 7:26 am

Re: 4-core @4.3GHz or 6-core @3.5GHz

Postby Saldo » Tue Sep 26, 2017 6:00 am

A fast core 0 determines the engines speed ( fps )
The amount of cores help with terrain loading ( prevent blurries and stutters )
Beside that , if you have several addon programs running beside P3D , like a weather engine , cockpit suite software , moving map software etc , you can set an affiniteit mask for P3D and use the free cores for those programs ( prevent small stutters )

User avatar
Mike Sierra
Posts: 215
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2014 10:07 pm

Re: 4-core @4.3GHz or 6-core @3.5GHz

Postby Mike Sierra » Tue Sep 26, 2017 7:53 pm

4 at a higher clock rate has been my experience.
Thank you, DJSean, for this clear statement.
I wonder, whether others will contribute or oppose...
Michael.
N 48°10' E 13°30' 496m
Austria, Europe
-------------------
Win7 64bit, Asus Rampage IV Extreme, I7-4930K @ 3,9GHz , 32GB DDR3 @ 1300MHz, Asus ROG Strix GTX 1080 (3× 27" @ 1920×1080), 3× SSD 500GB, 1× SSD 1TB, 1× HDD 2TB, 1× HDD 6TB, P3D v4.1.7.22841

Lipuprepar3d
Posts: 76
Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2014 7:30 pm

Re: 4-core @4.3GHz or 6-core @3.5GHz

Postby Lipuprepar3d » Sat Sep 30, 2017 5:24 pm

For me it works better 4 cores with the highest oc possible. Perhaps in the future with dx12 it will improve.

pandaaviation
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2017 5:50 am

Re: 4-core @4.3GHz or 6-core @3.5GHz

Postby pandaaviation » Sat Sep 30, 2017 5:57 pm

Hello,
I recommend i7-7740X.
Because I am running i9-7900X with 2 GTX 1080 Ti and 4.5 GHz, satisfactory performance has not been obtained. Also, I have disabled Hyper-Threading, but I did not see any performance change. Improvement can be seen in OC better than that.
However, in the future, considerable performance improvement may occur with correspondence of V4.1 and DX12.

Image

best regards
PANDA


Return to “Hardware Specific Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 5 guests