Proper RAM selection for P3D V4

Any issues, problems or troubleshooting topics related to computer hardware and the Prepar3D client application
flusi1nerd
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Nov 30, 2013 10:07 pm

Proper RAM selection for P3D V4

Postby flusi1nerd » Wed Aug 16, 2017 7:25 pm

I'm in the selection phase for a W10 / V4 capable new build PC. In a nutshell it will be a I9-7900 / GTX 1080Ti platform on an ASUS X299 motherboard. Projection of P3DV4 is through three full HD beamer.
My difficulty is to select the proper RAM, i.e. trading is RAM size vs RAM speed at affordable costs. The MB supports max 128GB DDR4 RAM on 8 DIMMs.

So far I have figured out two options to trade against:

- G.Skill TridentZ F4-3000C14D-32GTZ CL14-14-14 (2*16=32GB) @ 325€
or
- G.Skill TridentZ F4-3600C16Q-32GTZ CL16-16-16 (4*8=32GB) @ 420€

I may decide to increase RAM size lateron by adding additional modules.

Should I go with the 16GB modules, and protect a potential 128GB installation (8 banks with 16GB each), at the cost of ~20% lower bandwidth, or go to 8GB higher speed modules, but then limit my system to 64GB max. (and at considerable higher cost / GB) ?

My feeling is that I should go for RAM size since it may be the important factor for the renderings required to feed my three full HD beamer. In that context I like to refer to B. Hollis statement made in this post http://www.prepar3d.com/forum/viewtopic ... 5&t=125458 regarding RAM/P3DV4: 'more is always better' . If 64GB/all DIMMs full are enough (and reasonably protect the future...) then I may opt for the higher speed modules.

Any view/suggestions? Any proposal for other (cheaper) RAM modules of similar performance?
Thanks for pointing me in the right direction.

Johannes

AnkH
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2014 1:20 pm

Re: Proper RAM selection for P3D V4

Postby AnkH » Fri Aug 18, 2017 8:15 am

I would go for the fastest affordable modules. In your case, although the 3600MHz modules have a higher CL number, the latency is still lower (9.3ns for 3000MHz CL14 vs. 8.88ns for 3600MHz CL16). And you have the increased bandwith, as you already noted. Although that at least for FSX and P3Dv3, there was a plateau for the bandwith, somewhere around 50-60GB/s, your 3000MHz modules offer 38.4GB/s and your 3600MHz offer 46GB/s. Verdict: definitively opt for the 3600MHz CL16 modules. Just check if your MoBo is capable of using them. And be aware that the IMC of your CPU might not be able to handle such high clocks together with a CPU overclock...
------------------
Chris

Hardware: i7 3770K@4.5GHz, 2x8GB DDR3 2133MHz CL10 RAM, Gigabyte Aorus GTX-1080Ti OC, Samsung SSDs (256GB for OS, 500GB for P3D), Windows 10 Home

JPS2K5
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2017 8:07 am

Re: Proper RAM selection for P3D V4

Postby JPS2K5 » Sat Aug 19, 2017 11:45 am

You will also want to make use of the Quad channel that the 7900 can use. So use 4 modules, not 2.

Neo44
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Jan 12, 2014 5:33 am

Re: Proper RAM selection for P3D V4

Postby Neo44 » Tue Aug 22, 2017 11:07 am

First of all I am not an expert. However I have watched video's on youtube and what I understand from there is that the memory bandwidth does not make a huge difference in fps, even if any according to these videos.
1600 MHZ seems to be perfectly fine for all applications. Higher bandwidth is only for users that are addicted to overclocking but does not make your pc any faster. Check it out for yourself.
Just saying.

AnkH
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2014 1:20 pm

Re: Proper RAM selection for P3D V4

Postby AnkH » Wed Aug 23, 2017 8:10 am

memory bandwidth does not make a huge difference in fps, even if any according to these videos.
1600 MHZ seems to be perfectly fine for all applications.
You are really no expert... First, those videos most probably show plentitude of other games but not FSX or P3D, behaviour is therefore different. Second, 1600MHz RAM was the standard for DDR3, a current build uses DDR4 with 2133MHz as standard. Third, why do you talk about a video showing games then conclude "perfectly fine for all applications"? Of course there are applications where higher bandwith makes a difference, if not, I would wonder why the more expensive platforms offer Quad Channel over Dual Channel to double bandwith...

BUT: I also did a mistake, I did not realize that the TS aims for a X299 platform CPU with Quad Channel. New maths: due to the Quad Channel, already 2133MHz modules offer a bandwith of 58 GB/s and as such more than 3600MHz modules in the Dual Channel mode. So, I have to change my advice: for a Quad Channel system, 2133 or 2400MHz modules are absolutely sufficient, as the Quad Channel already boosts bandwith like hell.
------------------
Chris

Hardware: i7 3770K@4.5GHz, 2x8GB DDR3 2133MHz CL10 RAM, Gigabyte Aorus GTX-1080Ti OC, Samsung SSDs (256GB for OS, 500GB for P3D), Windows 10 Home

flusi1nerd
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Nov 30, 2013 10:07 pm

Re: Proper RAM selection for P3D V4

Postby flusi1nerd » Wed Aug 30, 2017 7:26 pm

Hello Guys,
thanks a lot for your feedbacks. I have figured out myself in the meantime the difference between quad and dual channel , so I will go for four quads = 32 GB, and have the 'growth' option for further 32GB. From what I read in the forums it should be sufficient in terms of memory size.

The hint that 2166/2400 MHz is fully sufficient I will take on board. It may save me some bucks which I can better invest in 960 PRO instead of 960 EVO M.2 SSD...

Cheers, Johannes

AnkH
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2014 1:20 pm

Re: Proper RAM selection for P3D V4

Postby AnkH » Mon Sep 04, 2017 8:59 am

If you did not yet buy, you might also consider to wait for the Coffe Lake release. There you would get 6 Cores 12 Threads (i7 8700K) considerably cheaper than with this i7 7900 platform. Just to say...
------------------
Chris

Hardware: i7 3770K@4.5GHz, 2x8GB DDR3 2133MHz CL10 RAM, Gigabyte Aorus GTX-1080Ti OC, Samsung SSDs (256GB for OS, 500GB for P3D), Windows 10 Home


Return to “Hardware Specific Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 5 guests