Has anyone tried a Ryzen build on P3D?

Any issues, problems or troubleshooting topics related to computer hardware and the Prepar3D client application
bhorv67
Posts: 60
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2015 9:17 pm

Has anyone tried a Ryzen build on P3D?

Postby bhorv67 » Wed Apr 12, 2017 1:52 pm

if so, can you share specs and results?
Win 10 Latest Build/Asus Z87-Pro/i7 4790k OC 4.7/Corsair H80i/Corsair TX750/Strix GTX 1080 ti/AOC 28" 4k display @ 30hz/16g DDR3 2133/500g SSD Win/500g SSD/P3dV4/Logitech Z5500 5.1 Speakers/MS ForceFeedback Stick (still works)

raybans
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 2015 1:48 am

Re: Has anyone tried a Ryzen build on P3D?

Postby raybans » Thu Apr 13, 2017 7:47 am

Yes - 1800x on Asus ROG Crosshair V1 x370 mobo. 2 x4g ram @ 2660 (Waiting on vendor approved 3200 ram)
Results - Challenging

Details - Ok, I am coming from an I7-4790k build (oc 4.6ghz) with a GTX 1080.
After a couple of weeks of testing / cursing, laughing and crying, I now have the Ryzen build 'slightly' better than the 4790 in normal scenarios and a bit better again when weather (AS-16) is significant. As a disclaimer, I am only mentioning what has worked for me - as we all know P3d tends to be different for everybody !

1. I run a 4k display at 30hz with Prepar3d set to vsynch on, unlimited frames and triple buffering on.
2. I have the Ryzen oc to 4.025 using the Ryzen master software and 1.4v
(On a Phantecs air cooler - max temp 65'c, usually around 58' while flying)
3. I have SMT turned OFF, so only using 8 physical cores.
4. I have an affinity mask of 252 ie cores 11111100
I have found that enabling 6 cores rather than the often suggested 4 gives me better multi core utilization and better GPU utilization. N.B. The primary core will still be doing most of the work, but with the above settings it RARELY hits 100%, usually around 60% with the remaining cores active around 10-45%.

Summary: I am reasonably happy with the results and I think as bios and other revisions take place it will only get better. Having said that, with the current version of Prepar3d, I believe an oc 7700k would still give the best performance but who knows when V4 ships ???
Cheers, Ray

bhorv67
Posts: 60
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2015 9:17 pm

Re: Has anyone tried a Ryzen build on P3D?

Postby bhorv67 » Fri Apr 14, 2017 6:15 pm

Thanks Ray, My rig is similar to yours prior to Ryzen, which is why I'm thinking of a new build. GPU-wise, I'm using Strix Gtx970 in dual SLI. Also pondering a upgrade to a 1080, but seems as P3d is CPU bound, not sure this will benefit at all.

Have to say, with all the hype on Ryzen, I was expecting more of a difference in performance, but I guess we can chalk that up to P3d still being primarily a single core application.

I'm going to wait for v4 and see what that brings. I think there's a 7700 / 1080 in my future, at which time I'll go native 4k.

Appreciate the insight.
Win 10 Latest Build/Asus Z87-Pro/i7 4790k OC 4.7/Corsair H80i/Corsair TX750/Strix GTX 1080 ti/AOC 28" 4k display @ 30hz/16g DDR3 2133/500g SSD Win/500g SSD/P3dV4/Logitech Z5500 5.1 Speakers/MS ForceFeedback Stick (still works)

bhorv67
Posts: 60
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2015 9:17 pm

Re: Has anyone tried a Ryzen build on P3D?

Postby bhorv67 » Fri Apr 14, 2017 6:40 pm

A few changes I made that seemed to help performance a bit, was to:

in P3d -
v-sync off
triple buffering off
target framerate - unlimited

in nvidia control panel (not NVI)
AA mode - enhance
AA setting - 4x
Multi display - Single display mode
Power Management Mode - Max
SLI mode - Nvidia
Triple Buffering - off
v-sync - Adaptive
Win 10 Latest Build/Asus Z87-Pro/i7 4790k OC 4.7/Corsair H80i/Corsair TX750/Strix GTX 1080 ti/AOC 28" 4k display @ 30hz/16g DDR3 2133/500g SSD Win/500g SSD/P3dV4/Logitech Z5500 5.1 Speakers/MS ForceFeedback Stick (still works)

raybans
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 2015 1:48 am

Re: Has anyone tried a Ryzen build on P3D?

Postby raybans » Sun Apr 16, 2017 1:26 am

Just another comment about this and the expected release of V4 --- 64bit will be nice but a real game changer would be support for DX-12 or better still Vulkan . Then LM can realistically address multicore/multithreading.

Here hoping

User avatar
BRAUS
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2017 5:11 am

Re: Has anyone tried a Ryzen build on P3D?

Postby BRAUS » Tue Apr 25, 2017 2:45 am

Pure gold Ray!
I am running a Ryzen 1700X build @3.9 on a Crosshair VI and setting affinity mask to 252 did me wonders.
2. I have the Ryzen oc to 4.025 using the Ryzen master software and 1.4v
Wondering if you have tested the build for stability? Just curious as I personally got to 4 but found it was not stable on Prime95 or Realbench after a few hours. It ran fine with P3D but I did not see much of a difference between 3.9 and 4. I also found with Ryzen Master oc or in bios with [AUTO] Vcore under load voltage would spike to 1.5 at times and that made me uncomfortable as max recommended by AMD is 1.45. So since I didn't notice much of a difference I ended up sticking with 3.9@1.35v. Memory wise I am striking out! Anything out of AUTO which is only allowing 2133 and I BSOD. What RAM are you using?

Bruno

FabioMagnoni
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat May 03, 2014 12:57 am

Re: Has anyone tried a Ryzen build on P3D?

Postby FabioMagnoni » Tue Jul 25, 2017 3:25 pm

What addons are you using and what is your average fps?

Rowdy739
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Sep 17, 2017 12:11 pm

Re: Has anyone tried a Ryzen build on P3D?

Postby Rowdy739 » Wed Sep 20, 2017 1:39 pm

I am curious as to whether other users have anything to report on Ryzen based systems. I am in the process of spec'ing out a new PC and am tempted to go AMD...

KSAN_Chuck
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2017 9:00 pm

Re: Has anyone tried a Ryzen build on P3D?

Postby KSAN_Chuck » Sun Sep 24, 2017 5:03 pm

I built the following:

Ryzen 5 1600
MSI GE Force GTX1060 Gaming Plus (6GB)
MSI X370 Gaming Pro Carbon MOBO
16GB 2666MHZ DDR4 (2x8GB)
Samsung 250GB 850 Evo SSD
Win10-64

I have been using a 1st generation i7 box for FSX since 2009, and it has been very stable for me. However, this new box is a delight. I have done nothing to the .cfg file in P3D V4--just changed the graphics settings. I have been flying the PMDG 772, iFly 738 and the default Mooney M20T and am very happy. I set the target frame rate to 60, and even on short final it stays in the high 50's. I am running P3D V4, ASP4 (Active Sky for P3D V4) and vPilot only. I fly exclusively on VATSIM. Nice rig.


Return to “Hardware Specific Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests