No approach lights

Other problems or issues not covered by other troubleshooting topics.
micha1508
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2020 12:24 pm

No approach lights

Postby micha1508 » Sat Sep 12, 2020 2:39 pm

Hello.

I am using P3dv5 HF2. I never see approach lights (rabbit), neither standard nor add on airports. Neither day nor at night. I only see the PAPI light.

There are also no masts visible.

Anyone with an idea?

Thanks,
Michael

Martyson
Posts: 9676
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: No approach lights

Postby Martyson » Sat Sep 12, 2020 7:17 pm

@ micha1508 ,

Try:
Reboot PC
Start P3D
Dusk
Takeoff KDTW 4R
About 2000 feet
KYIP will be off your Port wing

outside view
look at KYIP and back at KDTW
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

micha1508
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2020 12:24 pm

Re: No approach lights

Postby micha1508 » Sun Sep 20, 2020 1:40 pm

finally found time to test that route.

I took off KDTW 3R, then left turn back to land on 3R

On the downwind I could see the approach lights of KYIP and of KDTW (22 R/L).
Being on final for KDTW 3R I could see the rabbit light for KYIP again (this time from south), but not for the KDTW 3R, nor 4R/4L.

Can someone verify, if I should see those?

Thanks,
Michael

Martyson
Posts: 9676
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: No approach lights

Postby Martyson » Sun Sep 20, 2020 3:22 pm

@ micha1508 ,

Getting back to your first post.

Just to verify, you now are seeing the Sequenced flashing light , correct?

Have you tried the KYIP ILS approach?

I previously mentioned Takeoff KDTW 4R for a look around.
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

micha1508
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2020 12:24 pm

Re: No approach lights

Postby micha1508 » Sun Sep 20, 2020 5:39 pm

I took 3R instead 4R, heading north. From there I could see the approcah lights in form of the sequenced flashing lights ("rabbit") for all 3 KDTW runways (22/21).

I could also see those for KYIP. I did not see them on my approach to KDTW 3R.

Meanwhile checked another airport on another continent: India, Chennai (MAA), RWY 25. Couldn't see sequenced flashing lights there as well.

Should there be flashing lights with every default airport/RWY, or only for selected ones?

Thanks,
Michael

Martyson
Posts: 9676
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: No approach lights

Postby Martyson » Sun Sep 20, 2020 5:49 pm

@ micha1508 ,

"Should there be flashing lights with every default airport/RWY, or only for selected ones?"

P3Dv5 is a new sim.

If you find a specific airport that you have researched and it has a problem just report it in the forum with some supporting information.
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

micha1508
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2020 12:24 pm

Re: No approach lights

Postby micha1508 » Sun Sep 20, 2020 8:06 pm

don't Know, if this is a problem...that's why I was asking, if there should be flashing approach lights with every runway

So should there be?

Thanks,
Michael

Martyson
Posts: 9676
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: No approach lights

Postby Martyson » Sun Sep 20, 2020 8:14 pm

@ micha1508 ,

Follow up information:
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Approach_lighting_system

Examples of my recent posts on approach lighting systems:

MSFS forum:
KJFK lead in lights for 13R / 13L?
https://forums.flightsimulator.com/t/kj ... 13l/275801

Avsim forum:
KJFK no Lead-in or sequenced flashers RW 13R 13L
https://www.avsim.com/forums/topic/5849 ... w-13r-13l/
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

Martyson
Posts: 9676
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: No approach lights

Postby Martyson » Mon Sep 21, 2020 10:26 am

@ micha1508 ,

Just checking to see if you have a favorite airport / approach in mind?
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

micha1508
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2020 12:24 pm

Re: No approach lights

Postby micha1508 » Thu Sep 24, 2020 6:24 am

EDDF EDDL for example (these are payware on my side)
Or LOWS as default

Martyson
Posts: 9676
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: No approach lights

Postby Martyson » Thu Sep 24, 2020 6:36 am

@ micha1508 ,

For LOWS, do you have a screenshot on your approach?

For EDDF EDDL have you asked your payware provider?
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)


Return to “Other Support Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Majestic-12 [Bot] and 54 guests