Page 1 of 1

ATC Window Placement Question?

Posted: Sat Dec 08, 2018 2:42 am
by powayjoe
I am very familiar with modifying various config files and was wondering if there’s a way to modify the ATC window placement in the Z direction for VR I find it too far away? I have modified the entry in the missionpanels.cfg file for placement and size but there’s no z distance variable. I notice the new App Menu Window entry Window14 has a 3DP Worldspace Pos Offset with 3 variables, could a line of code like this be added to the ATC window and would it work to pull forward the window closer. I know you’ve added several ways to move the windows around now and they stay put but there’s no way to pull the window in or out. I know it can be done since FlyInside has this capability.

Bottom line can I modify a config file somewhere to better place the ATC window in VR space closer to me?

Joe

Re: ATC Window Placement Question?

Posted: Mon Dec 10, 2018 2:26 pm
by Beau Hollis
Yes. You can use the new 3DP entries to add default wordspace size, offset, and orientation to any panel. You can also set the origin from which the offset occurs. For a HMD, you can offset relative to the eye. By default we offset relative to the tracking origin which matches the final camera position before head tracking is applied. For aircraft specific panels, you can offset them relative to the aircraft.

For example, here is how you could modify the panel.cfg of the F35A model (developed by IndiaFoxtEcho) to place the MFD and HUD in 3D space. This lets you use the cockpit view in VR with the panels roughly matching where the developer placed them in the VC model. Note that the main panel ident is not pulled into world space because it typically wouldn't look good. That's why that line is commented out below.
// HUD
//--------------------------------------------------------
[Window00]
Background_color=0,0,0
visible=1
//ident=MAIN_PANEL
alpha_blend=0.95
position=4
window_size= 1.000, 1.000
size_mm=1024,1024

// Uncomment one of the lines below depending on your "WideViewAspect" setting in your fsx.CFG file.
gauge00=F-35_HUD_VC!F-35_HUD_VC, 339, 245, 345, 614 // <--- F-35 2D HUD, conformal at zoom 0.8, aspect ratio 16:9 and WideViewAspect=False
//gauge00=F-35_HUD_VC!F-35_HUD_VC, 330, 230, 364, 647 // <--- F-35 2D HUD, conformal at zoom 1.5, aspect ratio 16:9 and WideViewAspect=True
3DP_CAMERA_TRANSFORM_REFERENCE = ORIGIN
3DP_SIZE = 20, 20
3DP_WORLDSPACE_POS_OFFSET = 0.0, -5, 20
3DP_PBH_OFFSET = 0, 0.0, 0.0


// MFD
//--------------------------------------------------------
[Window03]
Background_color=1,1,1
size_mm=2048,840
window_size_ratio=1.0
position=7
visible=0
zorder=9
window_size=1.0,0.85
window_pos=0.00, 0.00
gauge00=F-35_MFD!MFD_Top_Bar_Right_Half,1148,10,900,136
gauge01=F-35_MFD!MFD_Top_Bar_Swap,900, 10,248,136
gauge02=F-35_MFD!MFD_Top_Bar_Left_Half, 0, 0, 900, 136
gauge03=F-35_MFD!mfd_1, 0,136,1024,704
gauge04=F-35_MFD!mfd_2, 1024,136,1024,704
TEXTURES_BELOW_PANEL=0
TEXTURES_USE_ADDITIVE_BLEND=1
disable_alpha_write=1
3DP_CAMERA_TRANSFORM_REFERENCE = ORIGIN
3DP_SIZE = 0.5, 0.21
3DP_WORLDSPACE_POS_OFFSET = 0.0, 0.0, 5
3DP_PBH_OFFSET = 9, 0.0, 0.0


Let us know how it goes. We plan to add better defaults to the mission panels, so please feel free to share any defaults you come up with.

Thanks
Beau

Re: ATC Window Placement Question?

Posted: Sat Dec 22, 2018 4:26 pm
by powayjoe
Beau

Thanks so much for the info. I have been having great success with establishing my preferred VR locations. It’s tedious for sure but rewarding when accomplished.

I was wondering if there exists a command line to change the transparency of a pop up in VR as well. I don’t want to use a global UI command but would prefer to set pop ups individually for VR use as the location commands can do.

Any chance this exists as a separate entry I could enter to make a particular VR pop up more translucent?

As I become more proficient with the customization placement process I will share my results.

Thanks in advance
Joe

Re: ATC Window Placement Question?

Posted: Fri Mar 01, 2019 1:51 am
by powayjoe
Just an update the use of the 3DP VR panel window modifications has worked tremendously for me. I have created dozens custom setups for ATC and addon aircraft popups like GTN 750, MCDU, MFD etc.. for all my aircraft.

Thanks so much for the helpful insights.

There is one particular problem I am having and that is I cannot get the Simconnect Message Window to Display in VR no matter what I try. I have even gone in and edited the window in the missionspanel config file with the 3DP... settings and still no luck. Everything displays as it should in 2D just no luck in 3D.

Is there something unique about this window that causes an issue?

Thanks in advance
Joe