P3Dv4.2 - No Screenshots

Other problems or issues not covered by other troubleshooting topics.
bradley27
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2014 12:57 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

P3Dv4.2 - No Screenshots

Postby bradley27 » Fri Mar 30, 2018 11:33 pm

Been trying to take screenshots using the V key as previous versions have all been setup but 4.2 just doesn't seem to be dropping any screenshots to the P3Dv4 pictures folder. I am the only user of this PC. I can see that the Screenshot line shows that the V key is the one to press. I have set the file type to JPEG in P3Dv4 settings.

Anyone know why this might not be working?
Bradley
AIG Flightplan & FAIB Beta Tester

User avatar
Poppet
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 1974
Joined: Sat Nov 01, 2014 4:12 pm

Re: P3Dv4.2 - No Screenshots

Postby Poppet » Sat Mar 31, 2018 1:39 pm

Hello Bradley

Check and confirm the key "V" is assigned to Capture Screenshots

Launch Prepar3D go to Options > Controls > Key Assignments and type Capture Screenshot into the search box

What Key is this Event assigned to ?

If the key is correct and is set to "V" you could try and Delete this Key and then assign it again to V

You could also click Restore Defaults and then test

-------------------

If you still can not use the V key to Capture screenshots its possible the Standard.xml file is corrupt

Please try these steps......

Rename or Click and Drag the Standard.xml file out of the location below and onto your Desktop

Copy the TEX below, Paste it into your Windows search bar and click the result

Code: Select all

%APPDATA%\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v4\Controls

Then launch Prepar3D and test

Let us know how you get on

mboddicker
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2012 10:51 pm

Re: P3Dv4.2 - No Screenshots

Postby mboddicker » Sat Apr 21, 2018 3:17 pm

I have this exact same issue and I have tried all of the recommended steps. Any other suggestions?

User avatar
Poppet
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 1974
Joined: Sat Nov 01, 2014 4:12 pm

Re: P3Dv4.2 - No Screenshots

Postby Poppet » Sat Apr 21, 2018 11:02 pm

Hello mboddicker

Welcome to the Prepar3D Forums

Just to confirm, Have you checked this location ? C: ► Users ► You ► Pictures ► Prepar3D v4 Files


Are you using Microsoft OneDrive ? Maybe you have it set up like below

C: ► Users ► You ► OneDrive ► Pictures ► Prepar3D v4 Files

Let us know how you get on

mboddicker
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2012 10:51 pm

Re: P3Dv4.2 - No Screenshots

Postby mboddicker » Sun Apr 22, 2018 5:38 pm

Hello mboddicker

Welcome to the Prepar3D Forums

Just to confirm, Have you checked this location ? C: ► Users ► You ► Pictures ► Prepar3D v4 Files


Are you using Microsoft OneDrive ? Maybe you have it set up like below

C: ► Users ► You ► OneDrive ► Pictures ► Prepar3D v4 Files

Let us know how you get on
Yes, I checked that location, and my OneDrive is empty as I do not use OneDrive. What is interesting thought, is that if I delete the "Prepar3d v4 Files" folder in that Users directory, pressing the "V" key will recreate the folder but no image file is saved. Also of note, I tried switching image capture formats and neither of the options made any difference.


Return to “Other Support Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests