DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG - 1080TI

Any issues, problems or troubleshooting topics related to the Prepar3D client application.
Zimmerbz
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2017 4:32 pm

Re: DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG - 1080TI

Postby Zimmerbz » Sat Mar 21, 2020 5:04 pm

Yes, they can do remote diags

Martyson
Posts: 8671
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG - 1080TI

Postby Martyson » Sat Mar 21, 2020 5:25 pm

A few posts up in this thread I did have a suggestion for you.
If so, what were the results?
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

Zimmerbz
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2017 4:32 pm

Re: DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG - 1080TI

Postby Zimmerbz » Sat Mar 21, 2020 5:36 pm

A few posts up in this thread I did have a suggestion for you.
If so, what were the results?
This is where i got stuck. I didn't see this listed in my Nvida profile

Use the appropriate video card software to configure the graphic card’s control of Prepar3D. For NVIDIA graphics cards, open the NVIDIA Control Panel, select Manage 3D settings, and set the Preferred graphics processor to High-performance NVIDIA processor. You can also set Prepar3D.exe’s preferred graphics processor directly under the Program Settings tab under Manage 3D settings.

Verify the fix was successful by opening Prepar3D and selecting Options, Settings, and under Full Screen Settings you should see the correct graphics card listed under Display.

If the correct graphics card is not listed, please follow the next step and restart Prepar3D.

Martyson
Posts: 8671
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG - 1080TI

Postby Martyson » Sat Mar 21, 2020 7:03 pm

For the P3D v4.5 try looking here to verify the graphics card:

Options / Display / Full screen settings
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

Zimmerbz
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2017 4:32 pm

Re: DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG - 1080TI

Postby Zimmerbz » Sat Mar 21, 2020 7:11 pm

For the P3D v4.5 try looking here to verify the graphics card:

Options / Display / Full screen settings
I have the following:

Display: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080ti 0.0
Resolution: 3440x1440x32
blackout desktop checked
auto fill checked

Is that what you are referring to? Thanks again! Someone also suggested I reduce my GPU speed... Would you reccomend that?

Martyson
Posts: 8671
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG - 1080TI

Postby Martyson » Sat Mar 21, 2020 7:20 pm

What I would suggest is continuing with steps 5, 6 and 7 of the General Debugging Steps:
viewtopic.php?f=6312&t=123246
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

Martyson
Posts: 8671
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG - 1080TI

Postby Martyson » Sat Mar 21, 2020 8:04 pm

"Thanks again! Someone also suggested I reduce my GPU speed... Would you reccomend that?
Top"

You are welcome.

Who told you to do that?

I do not recall you mentioning you had overclocking active on your setup?

Did Jetline overclock your setup?
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

Zimmerbz
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2017 4:32 pm

Re: DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG - 1080TI

Postby Zimmerbz » Sat Mar 21, 2020 8:35 pm

"Thanks again! Someone also suggested I reduce my GPU speed... Would you reccomend that?
Top"

You are welcome.

Who told you to do that?

I do not recall you mentioning you had overclocking active on your setup?

Did Jetline overclock your setup?
[/quote

I installed the GPU recently since I upgraded to the 1080Ti. I bought it refurbished but I didn't do anything to it besides install it into my chassis. Someone on a different forum suggested reducing the GPU clock speed. Again, not being a technical person, I am not sure if the GPU could have been overclocked before I installed it... if that makes sense

Martyson
Posts: 8671
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG - 1080TI

Postby Martyson » Sat Mar 21, 2020 8:41 pm

"I installed the GPU recently since I upgraded to the 1080Ti. I bought it refurbished but I didn't do anything to it besides install it into my chassis."

I do not recall you mentioning this?


Do you still have your old GPU card?
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

Zimmerbz
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2017 4:32 pm

Re: DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG - 1080TI

Postby Zimmerbz » Sat Mar 21, 2020 8:49 pm

"I installed the GPU recently since I upgraded to the 1080Ti. I bought it refurbished but I didn't do anything to it besides install it into my chassis."

I do not recall you mentioning this?


Do you still have your old GPU card?
Sorry, I have been trying to figure this out, i thought I mentioned that I installed the card earlier. I still have the old card so I suppose i can install that and see if that gives me problems.. What is odd is that i did over a dozen flights with the new card before the error started. I'd think that if I installed it wrong, I would have seen a problem immediately.

Also, let me know if this means anything or if I should change anything. It is from my Nvidia Inspector.

https://www.flickr.com/photos/186732856@N04/?

Martyson
Posts: 8671
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG - 1080TI

Postby Martyson » Sat Mar 21, 2020 8:54 pm

"I installed the GPU recently since I upgraded to the 1080Ti. I bought it refurbished but I didn't do anything to it besides install it into my chassis."

I do not recall you mentioning this?


Do you still have your old GPU card?
Sorry, I have been trying to figure this out, i thought I mentioned that I installed the card earlier. I still have the old card so I suppose i can install that and see if that gives me problems.. What is odd is that i did over a dozen flights with the new card before the error started. I'd think that if I installed it wrong, I would have seen a problem immediately.

Also, let me know if this means anything or if I should change anything. It is from my Nvidia Inspector.

https://www.flickr.com/photos/186732856@N04/?
Did you mention it was a refurbished graphics card?

Did the seller (store) warranty the refurbished card?

Some cards come with like a 5 year warranty?

You have a custom PC by Jetline but now a user upgraded PC with problems.
Hard to figure out all that could be wrong.
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

Sabre57
Posts: 219
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2014 12:45 am

Re: DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_HUNG - 1080TI

Postby Sabre57 » Sun Mar 22, 2020 2:29 pm

I've had this issue when overclocking the GPU. However, since you installed the latest driver it should have removed any over clocking. So I have two guesses as to what may be happening:

1. When you updated the drivers did you completely remove the old driver before installing the new one? If not I would do that and try again. There are also utilities that remove registry entries that may be left over from un-installing the driver. DDU is one that works well.

2. If number 1 doesn't work then the card may be "bad" for Prepar3d. This is, of course, just a guess. P3d drives the GPU very hard and other applications and games may work fine. There are plenty of folks who have these cards and have no issues at all.


Return to “Prepar3D Client Application Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Majestic-12 [Bot] and 44 guests