Moved monitors and now all views jacked up

Any issues, problems or troubleshooting topics related to the Prepar3D client application.
erjdriver
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2019 4:27 pm

Moved monitors and now all views jacked up

Postby erjdriver » Wed Mar 20, 2019 11:02 pm

I've got two monitors and repositioned one below the other - now all the views are jacked up.

Some are way zoomed in (don't even see the cockpit), some are skewed...

How can I reset all this?

User avatar
Mike Sierra
Posts: 277
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2014 10:07 pm

Re: Moved monitors and now all views jacked up

Postby Mike Sierra » Thu Mar 21, 2019 1:02 pm

Most probably it's a problem with the NVidia settings.
I'd try to re-arrange the monitors there, then also P3D should offer correct views again.
Michael.
N 48°10' E 13°30' 496m
Austria, Europe
-vv-
ASUS ROG Maximus X Hero, I7-8700K, 6x 4.70GHz, Corsair Vengeance 32GB DDR4-4133, 2x ASUS ROG Strix GeForce GTX 1080 (SLI) @ 5760x1080, Win10prof64 on 1TB SSD, P3Dv3.4.22.19868, P3Dv4.4.16.27077 on 2GB V-Nand SSD

erjdriver
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2019 4:27 pm

Re: Moved monitors and now all views jacked up

Postby erjdriver » Fri Mar 29, 2019 12:55 pm

I changed the resolution of one of my monitors yesterday - restarted P3D and the views were all jacked up!

What's causing this??

I went back to the old res and restarted - still jacked up.

By "jacked up" - i mean the main view spans both the monitors - when I really want it on the main monitor (Windows monitor id #2) - that's the way it was working ok before.

I then have to re-install everything from the ground up.

Would setting view-groups help - if so any help appreciated.

User avatar
Rob McCarthy
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 2299
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 1:37 pm

Re: Moved monitors and now all views jacked up

Postby Rob McCarthy » Fri Mar 29, 2019 1:33 pm

Hello,

When you save a scenario the view locations are also saved out. These are in desktop coordinates so monitor resolution or position changes will impact their positions. You will need to reposition your views and save your scenario again once their placements are correct.

Regards,
Rob McCarthy
Rob McCarthy
Prepar3D® Core Lead

erjdriver
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2019 4:27 pm

Re: Moved monitors and now all views jacked up

Postby erjdriver » Fri Mar 29, 2019 1:50 pm

ok.

The problem is that the main view (i.e. of the 3d cockpit + the front outside view) spans 2 monitors now - so naturally everything is stretched etc.

I wasn't able to move these views.

How can I do it - so that the above main view is on just one monitor - so that I can move my other popped windows to the second monitor.

Thanks.

User avatar
Rob McCarthy
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 2299
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 1:37 pm

Re: Moved monitors and now all views jacked up

Postby Rob McCarthy » Fri Mar 29, 2019 4:53 pm

You can undock windows through the context menu. Once these are undocked you can move them to different screens. If you are using full screen the main window cannot be moved. Does exiting full screen, moving the main display, and then entering full screen again solve your problem?

Regards,
Rob McCarthy
Rob McCarthy
Prepar3D® Core Lead


Return to “Prepar3D Client Application Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 30 guests