4.2: SimConnect window doesn't stay on screen

Any issues, problems or troubleshooting topics related to the Prepar3D client application.
sw34669
Posts: 111
Joined: Sat Nov 30, 2013 3:12 pm

Re: 4.2: SimConnect window doesn't stay on screen

Postby sw34669 » Mon Feb 19, 2018 4:59 pm

Seems like a few have managed to have come across what's causing the issue and I've just been ensuring I can replicate it which I've been able to do constantly in SODE, GSX, Active Sky and Pro ATC.

Issue seems to be that the last number you press is being stored somewhere and is being called upon when you load a SimConnect window, instantly selecting said option in the menu.

So for example if I press "3" and then proceed to load up a SimConnect window it'll instantly select option 3.

Benedict
Bingo ! I see the same using FSUIPC, ActivePie, GSX and SODE
Looks like a key repeat/not flushing keyboard buffer issue !
LM .... thoughts ?

Mejjo
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2017 1:17 pm

Re: 4.2: SimConnect window doesn't stay on screen

Postby Mejjo » Tue Feb 20, 2018 1:14 am

Finally! an answer to this nightmare problem that's been mind boggling. It certainly does seem that the last key i push is stored and automatically selected when opening another window.

Let's hope LM have a fix for this.

User avatar
Rob McCarthy
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 2207
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 1:37 pm

Re: 4.2: SimConnect window doesn't stay on screen

Postby Rob McCarthy » Tue Feb 20, 2018 1:27 pm

Thanks for the additional information. We're investigating the issue on our end.

Regards,
Rob McCarthy
Rob McCarthy
Prepar3D® Core Lead

sw34669
Posts: 111
Joined: Sat Nov 30, 2013 3:12 pm

Re: 4.2: SimConnect window doesn't stay on screen

Postby sw34669 » Tue Feb 20, 2018 1:32 pm

Thanks for the additional information. We're investigating the issue on our end.

Regards,
Rob McCarthy
Rob, thank you ! A lot of great stuff in 4.2 which we are all enjoying, good luck with your flushing() ;

If you need any info from my setup just PM me.

scott.

sw34669
Posts: 111
Joined: Sat Nov 30, 2013 3:12 pm

Re: 4.2: SimConnect window doesn't stay on screen

Postby sw34669 » Tue Feb 20, 2018 2:26 pm

Thanks for the additional information. We're investigating the issue on our end.

Regards,
Rob McCarthy
Rob, thank you ! A lot of great stuff in 4.2 which we are all enjoying, good luck with your flushing() ;

If you need any info from my setup just PM me.

scott.
Forgot to add .. I am also seeing issues from time to time with the ATC window being greyed out . I cant help thnking this may be linked to this keyboard buffer issue . I have cleared out all my old scenario files from pre-4.2 but i got the grey menu again today.

sw34669
Posts: 111
Joined: Sat Nov 30, 2013 3:12 pm

Re: 4.2: SimConnect window doesn't stay on screen

Postby sw34669 » Tue Feb 20, 2018 3:30 pm

Thanks for the additional information. We're investigating the issue on our end.

Regards,
Rob McCarthy
Rob, thank you ! A lot of great stuff in 4.2 which we are all enjoying, good luck with your flushing() ;

If you need any info from my setup just PM me.

scott.
Forgot to add .. I am also seeing issues from time to time with the ATC window being greyed out . I cant help thnking this may be linked to this keyboard buffer issue . I have cleared out all my old scenario files from pre-4.2 but i got the grey menu again today.
i can now confirm the greyed out atc window is due to C:\Users\YourUserName\Local Settings\Application Data\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v4\Prepar3D_Default.fxml

User avatar
ErikNL
Posts: 152
Joined: Sat Nov 23, 2013 3:27 pm

Re: 4.2: SimConnect window doesn't stay on screen

Postby ErikNL » Wed Feb 21, 2018 8:10 am

Thanks for the additional information. We're investigating the issue on our end.

Regards,
Rob McCarthy
Any chance for a hotfix, or do we have to wait for P3D v4.3?

Flinco
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Dec 01, 2017 7:51 am

Re: 4.2: SimConnect window doesn't stay on screen

Postby Flinco » Fri Feb 23, 2018 12:33 pm

For PRO-ATC users, change the InFlight menu access key to V instead of 1

Martyson
Posts: 5401
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: 4.2: SimConnect window doesn't stay on screen

Postby Martyson » Fri Feb 23, 2018 3:08 pm

For PRO-ATC users, change the InFlight menu access key to V instead of 1
I have not seen the problem in any previous tests.
ActiveSky beta, FSUIPC (newest), ATC menu selection/operation, P3D top menu (Options etc), Ezdok, F1 GTN750 (and more) all ok.

Until today, when I tested Pro-ATC after reading this problem post. I did see the problem with Pro-ATC.

Previously I had not tested Pro-ATC because their forum mentioned that their next update is not ready yet.
So, I am waiting for them to test their software with P3Dv4.2 and release their next update.

I still need to test more using number keys rather than the mouse (when available) to make the same selection.
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

Martyson
Posts: 5401
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: 4.2: SimConnect window doesn't stay on screen

Postby Martyson » Fri Feb 23, 2018 3:53 pm

Quick test.
Rebooted PC.
Loaded the default P3Dv4.2 flight.
Loaded a flight plan.
Brought up the default ATC (just for testing as I normally use Pro-ATC).
Used the top number keys to make all selections for this quick test.
Got ATIS , Delivery, clearance and readback, ground, taxi instructions, .... all ok.
End of quick test.
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

iuli
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Feb 23, 2018 8:42 pm

Re: 4.2: SimConnect window doesn't stay on screen

Postby iuli » Fri Feb 23, 2018 8:46 pm

I resolved with ProAtc by changing all the keys with CTRL+ Before opening the menu or select an action I keep CTRL pressed for around 5 seconds the menu keep remaining opened. Example, if I want to open checklist menu I keep pressing CTRL for around 5 seconds then I press key 4.

Same thing for GSX. Keep press CTRL key for few seconds then press F12.

It will be a temporary solution until a fix will come up.

gsumner
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Nov 13, 2016 8:18 pm

Re: 4.2: SimConnect window doesn't stay on screen

Postby gsumner » Mon Mar 12, 2018 4:44 pm

I just wondered if the prepar3d team could offer a fix for this at present. Im missing my pro atc x a lot 😥. Im guessing 4.3 would be months away.

Graham

Bernie
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2012 10:13 pm

Re: 4.2: SimConnect window doesn't stay on screen

Postby Bernie » Sun Mar 18, 2018 12:17 pm

I just wondered if the prepar3d team could offer a fix for this at present. Im missing my pro atc x a lot 😥. Im guessing 4.3 would be months away.

Graham
Me also

Kind Regards

Bernie.
KInd Regards

Bernie.

J van E
Posts: 172
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2011 8:20 am

Re: 4.2: SimConnect window doesn't stay on screen

Postby J van E » Sun Mar 18, 2018 12:31 pm

I just wondered if the prepar3d team could offer a fix for this at present. Im missing my pro atc x a lot 😥. Im guessing 4.3 would be months away.

Graham
If we have to wait for 4.3 we are screwed. That will take months indeed. If not longer. We need a hotfix.

J van E
Posts: 172
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2011 8:20 am

Re: 4.2: SimConnect window doesn't stay on screen

Postby J van E » Sun Mar 18, 2018 12:35 pm

Previously I had not tested Pro-ATC because their forum mentioned that their next update is not ready yet.
So, I am waiting for them to test their software with P3Dv4.2 and release their next update.
Late reply but yesterday the developers of ProATC said they can't fix this problem: LM has to fix it. So even the upcoming update of ProATC will have this problem!


Return to “Prepar3D Client Application Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 25 guests