Prepar3D v4 is not starting (due to USB controllers/joysticks/keyboards - e.g. Razer Orbweaver)

Any issues, problems or troubleshooting topics related to the Prepar3D client application.
roesti
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri May 19, 2017 4:51 pm

Re: P3D V4 is not starting

Postby roesti » Tue May 30, 2017 10:39 pm

It seems, that by default, P3Dv4 uses a (new?) "raw" method to connect with your input hardware. DirectInput is a layer provided by DirectX, that handles input / joystick stuff and is commonly used (and enabling it does make your hardware work / P3D not crash). Maybe P3Ds raw approach to communicate with your input hardware has some issues in this early build.

Adam Breed
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 1385
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2010 6:17 pm

Re: P3D V4 is not starting

Postby Adam Breed » Tue May 30, 2017 10:47 pm

All,

Thanks for hunting this down to a few specific hardware components.

If you could help, we would like to make a list of devices that the exhibit the issue. If you see this issue, please unplug each USB device and reconnect them until you see the crash again. We will work with the manufacturers directly to ensure a timely fix. The workaround is to switch the controls to DirectInput or to leave the device disconnected.

Currently, it seems to be the Razer Orbweaver Gaming Keypad and possibly a specific TBD Saitek controller.

Regards and thanks for working with us on this,
Adam
Prepar3D® Engineering Project Manager

JackSwyr
Posts: 156
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2016 4:48 am

Re: P3D V4 is not starting

Postby JackSwyr » Tue May 30, 2017 10:54 pm

All,

Thanks for hunting this down to a few specific hardware components.

If you could help, we would like to make a list of devices that the exhibit the issue. If you see this issue, please unplug each USB device and reconnect them until you see the crash again. We will work with the manufacturers directly to ensure a timely fix. The workaround is to switch the controls to DirectInput or to leave the device disconnected.

Currently, it seems to be the Razer Orbweaver Gaming Keypad and possibly a specific TBD Saitek controller.

Regards and thanks for working with us on this,
Adam
Adam, do you mean the Saitek TPM, Throttle, Prop, Mixture?
I have that plugged in and saw no problems or were you referring to something else by Saitek?

Oahmed
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2012 11:38 pm

Re: P3D V4 is not starting (possibly due to USB controllers/joysticks/keyboards)

Postby Oahmed » Tue May 30, 2017 11:10 pm

Having the same problem. Disabled all USB Devices except for mouse and still no luck. Added the line in [CONTROLS] EnableDirectInput=True but no change.
Disabled AVG Antivirus, and shut down the Saitek apps running. No difference, still can't get past the initial P3d V4 screen. It builds files for the new sceneries and then the splash screen disappears and I am back at the desktop.
Event viewer shows the following

Log Name: Application
Source: Application Error
Date: 5/30/2017 6:34:21 PM
Event ID: 1000
Task Category: (100)
Level: Error
Keywords: Classic
User: N/A
Description:
Faulting application name: Prepar3D.exe, version: 4.0.23.21468, time stamp: 0x59279be2
Faulting module name: api.dll, version: 4.0.23.21468, time stamp: 0x59279c8f
Exception code: 0xc0000005
Fault offset: 0x00000000000153e1
Faulting process id: 0x3238
Faulting application start time: 0x01d2d994b512d1e5
Faulting application path: G:\Program Files\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v4\Prepar3D.exe
Faulting module path: G:\Program Files\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v4\api.dll
Report Id: a1635a1b-4481-4ba2-957d-91ad837d10fb
Faulting package full name:
Faulting package-relative application ID:
Event Xml:
<Event xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/win/2004/08/events/event">
<System>
<Provider Name="Application Error" />
<EventID Qualifiers="0">1000</EventID>
<Level>2</Level>
<Task>100</Task>
<Keywords>0x80000000000000</Keywords>
<TimeCreated SystemTime="2017-05-30T22:34:21.286888900Z" />
<EventRecordID>9562</EventRecordID>
<Channel>Application</Channel>
<Security />
</System>
<EventData>
<Data>Prepar3D.exe</Data>
<Data>4.0.23.21468</Data>
<Data>59279be2</Data>
<Data>api.dll</Data>
<Data>4.0.23.21468</Data>
<Data>59279c8f</Data>
<Data>c0000005</Data>
<Data>00000000000153e1</Data>
<Data>3238</Data>
<Data>01d2d994b512d1e5</Data>
<Data>G:\Program Files\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v4\Prepar3D.exe</Data>
<Data>G:\Program Files\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v4\api.dll</Data>
<Data>a1635a1b-4481-4ba2-957d-91ad837d10fb</Data>
<Data>
</Data>
<Data>
</Data>
</EventData>
</Event>

I7 3930K, 32 GB Ram, EVGA 1070. 500 GB SSD Samsung.

Thank you for any assistance.

SolRayz
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2012 4:31 pm

Re: P3D V4 is not starting

Postby SolRayz » Tue May 30, 2017 11:29 pm

All,

Thanks for hunting this down to a few specific hardware components.

If you could help, we would like to make a list of devices that the exhibit the issue. If you see this issue, please unplug each USB device and reconnect them until you see the crash again. We will work with the manufacturers directly to ensure a timely fix. The workaround is to switch the controls to DirectInput or to leave the device disconnected.

Currently, it seems to be the Razer Orbweaver Gaming Keypad and possibly a specific TBD Saitek controller.

Razer Tartarus (First gen Orbweaver, more or less) also causing the same issues. Thanks!

JonFocus03
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2015 4:53 am

Re: P3D V4 is not starting (possibly due to USB controllers/joysticks/keyboards)

Postby JonFocus03 » Tue May 30, 2017 11:32 pm

My .cfg file looks like this...

[CONTROLS]
Controls_Default=Standard
Controls_Current=Standard

Should I just add EnableDirectInput=True or delete Controls_Default=Standard and Controls_Current=Standard and just have the fix?

Jon

Adam Breed
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 1385
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2010 6:17 pm

Re: P3D V4 is not starting

Postby Adam Breed » Tue May 30, 2017 11:33 pm

Adam, do you mean the Saitek TPM, Throttle, Prop, Mixture?
I have that plugged in and saw no problems or were you referring to something else by Saitek?
Hi,

mark767 reported that his issue was caused by a Saitek device but did not state which one.

We do not believe it is all Saitek devices.

Regards,
Adam
Prepar3D® Engineering Project Manager

JonFocus03
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2015 4:53 am

Re: P3D V4 is not starting (possibly due to USB controllers/joysticks/keyboards)

Postby JonFocus03 » Tue May 30, 2017 11:44 pm

EnableDirectInput=True Fixed it! Thank you!

Jon

Goblin
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2011 10:01 pm

Re: P3D V4 is not starting (possibly due to USB controllers/joysticks/keyboards)

Postby Goblin » Tue May 30, 2017 11:55 pm

Razer Nostromo caused the issue for me.

zepplin139
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed May 31, 2017 12:34 am

Re: P3D V4 is not starting (possibly due to USB controllers/joysticks/keyboards)

Postby zepplin139 » Wed May 31, 2017 12:38 am

Having the same issue, but do not have a Razer product. I do although have a saitek x52. I have added the EnableDirectInput=True to my config with no luck. I have tried launching with the stick plugged in and with it not plugged in. same issue.

This is my error log:
Faulting application name: Prepar3D.exe, version: 4.0.23.21468, time stamp: 0x59279be2
Faulting module name: api.dll, version: 4.0.23.21468, time stamp: 0x59279c8f
Exception code: 0xc0000005
Fault offset: 0x00000000000153e1
Faulting process id: 0x302c
Faulting application start time: 0x01d2d9a4fe4e4460
Faulting application path: D:\P3D4\Prepar3D.exe
Faulting module path: D:\P3D4\api.dll
Report Id: abfb7aa1-5d22-4619-b00f-bc6d54d4d99b
Faulting package full name:
Faulting package-relative application ID:

not much info there.

jayren
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed May 31, 2017 12:57 am

Re: P3D V4 is not starting (possibly due to USB controllers/joysticks/keyboards)

Postby jayren » Wed May 31, 2017 1:01 am

Crash upon starting P3D V4.

I have A2A C172 Installed which supports V4 and am using Logitech Extreme3D Pro Joystick.

Tried unplugging USB and adding EnableDirectInput to cfg. No Luck.....

Event Viewer Info:

Faulting application name: Prepar3D.exe, version: 4.0.23.21468, time stamp: 0x59279be2
Faulting module name: ntdll.dll, version: 10.0.14393.479, time stamp: 0x5825887f
Exception code: 0xc0000374
Fault offset: 0x00000000000f8283
Faulting process id: 0x3338
Faulting application start time: 0x01d2d9a8a184c1b9
Faulting application path: D:\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v4\Prepar3D.exe
Faulting module path: C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\ntdll.dll
Report Id: 7d81b3df-534a-4793-a654-533fce4dd975
Faulting package full name:
Faulting package-relative application ID:


Thank!!

User avatar
Kayla Kinzel
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 1313
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2016 5:59 pm

Re: P3D V4 is not starting (possibly due to USB controllers/joysticks/keyboards)

Postby Kayla Kinzel » Wed May 31, 2017 1:11 am

jayren and zepplin,

Do either of you have any addons installed? Have you taken a look at our general debugging steps thread?

Regards,
Kayla
Prepar3D® Software Engineer

jayren
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed May 31, 2017 12:57 am

Re: P3D V4 is not starting (possibly due to USB controllers/joysticks/keyboards)

Postby jayren » Wed May 31, 2017 2:05 am

jayren and zepplin,

Do either of you have any addons installed? Have you taken a look at our general debugging steps thread?

Regards,
Kayla
Hi, Thanks for quick response.

I renamed the TargetInfo.dll, no use.

Then I add the SHOW_SCENARIO_WINDOW=0 to my cfg. Also, there is no UserInterface Section in my original cfg. After adding this line, P3D does load without the scenario window. But I have a F22 crashed into the sea. And right click is disabled.

mark767
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Nov 20, 2013 12:23 am

Re: P3D V4 is not starting

Postby mark767 » Wed May 31, 2017 2:07 am

Adam, do you mean the Saitek TPM, Throttle, Prop, Mixture?
I have that plugged in and saw no problems or were you referring to something else by Saitek?
Hi,

mark767 reported that his issue was caused by a Saitek device but did not state which one.

We do not believe it is all Saitek devices.

Regards,
Adam
It is a 20 year old Cyborg 3D Gold USB joystick that I fished out of the basement when the A320X was released. I think it was not the type of device but just that I had two "yokes" installed.

jayren
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed May 31, 2017 12:57 am

Re: P3D V4 is not starting (possibly due to USB controllers/joysticks/keyboards)

Postby jayren » Wed May 31, 2017 2:08 am

jayren and zepplin,

Do either of you have any addons installed? Have you taken a look at our general debugging steps thread?

Regards,
Kayla
Hi, Thanks for quick response.

I renamed the TargetInfo.dll, no use.

Then I add the SHOW_SCENARIO_WINDOW=0 to my cfg. Also, there is no UserInterface Section in my original cfg. After adding this line, P3D does load without the scenario window. But I have a F22 crashed into the sea. And right click is disabled.
Ok, a correction. Right click is not disabled, it is just my plane is crashed and the sim keep loading the same scenario. I managed to pause the game and try to change to an airport. But once the scenario menu appears, game crashes.


Return to “Prepar3D Client Application Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: heightsmite, stukapt and 90 guests