P3D3.4 "Error creating child window"

Any issues, problems or troubleshooting topics related to the Prepar3D client application.
User avatar
MikeB54
Posts: 189
Joined: Sat Nov 22, 2014 11:46 pm

Re: P3D3.4 "Error creating child window"

Postby MikeB54 » Sat May 06, 2017 3:10 pm

16188 didn't fix anything, either. This is getting annoying.

Mike

FireRx
Posts: 60
Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2015 3:15 pm

Re: P3D3.4 "Error creating child window"

Postby FireRx » Sat May 06, 2017 8:29 pm

whatever it is, The only way I found to fix it so far is to go into control panel and repair my Prepar3D Client in Programs. Then I can get into the sim with zero errors. But it only good for that one session. I have to do it again each time. :(

I tested it in Wondows 7 and windows 8 mode with the same results.

FireRx
Posts: 60
Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2015 3:15 pm

Re: P3D3.4 "Error creating child window"

Postby FireRx » Mon May 08, 2017 2:21 pm

any solutions, LM :(
this is getting pretty bad!

User avatar
BG2518
Posts: 652
Joined: Sat Nov 30, 2013 7:35 pm
Location: London

Re: P3D3.4 "Error creating child window"

Postby BG2518 » Mon May 08, 2017 2:57 pm

Probably an add-on or a controller....

https://prepar3d.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=122897

Try with NO add-ons, no controllers all done in the dark with the monitor turned off :) or wait for v4 like we all are.

FireRx
Posts: 60
Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2015 3:15 pm

Re: P3D3.4 "Error creating child window"

Postby FireRx » Mon May 08, 2017 9:14 pm

nope,
Wasn't a controller. it was .net. the newer Windows 10 update uses .net 4.7. I changed the .net reference in the Prepar3d.exe config from 4.0 to 4.7, and wam... all of my child windows errors went away. everything is back to normal now. tested it on 2 flights going from desktop to flight to closing Prepar3D. all of my addon's seem to function so far. will do more test flight with different aircraft. :).


?Edit: Disregard., it's back again :(

User avatar
MikeB54
Posts: 189
Joined: Sat Nov 22, 2014 11:46 pm

Re: P3D3.4 "Error creating child window"

Postby MikeB54 » Tue May 09, 2017 1:01 am

I went back and re=read the post that BG2518 referenced. I got looking at something that Beau Hollis said.

"This may be an issue with an add-on. I have seen crashes on startup caused by add-ons making a windows API call to get the main application window handle before the main application window exists. Because our startup screen loads the aircraft in for preview, the timing of the first aircraft load is a bit different if you have an aircraft in your default scenario and the startup screen is enabled.

I decided to run with that idea and disable the startup screen and go directly into my default flight. So far, the results have been promising. Normally I got the "Error creating child window" popup almost immediately after the flight loaded. I have so far had 3 flights in a row without receiving the popup.

Progress? Let's hope so. :)

Mike

FireRx
Posts: 60
Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2015 3:15 pm

Re: P3D3.4 "Error creating child window"

Postby FireRx » Tue May 09, 2017 3:26 am

okay I'll test that tomorrow,


Thanks Mike :)

Neil Gardner
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 6:34 pm

Re: P3D3.4 "Error creating child window"

Postby Neil Gardner » Tue May 09, 2017 8:56 pm

Ok guys
The big problem seems to be with dll's at the address I've written below. I couldn't quite pin it down to a single one but the remedy is to rename
C/users/name/appdata/Roaming/Lockheed Martin/Prepar3D v3 - the one to alter is Prepar3D v3.
After having renamed the file (I just took away the 'v3'), the app will generate a new one and P3D should start. However, you may then find that certain of your add ons - things like FSUIPC, VRS Tacpack, A2A accufeel and so on - don't show up in the add on menu and that's because you have to rebuild your dll xml. Do so by taking entry one addition at a time.
I went back to the old dll and took one section - for example:
<Launch.Addon>
<Name>A2A Feel</Name>
<Disabled>False</Disabled>
<Path>Modules\A2A_Feel.dll</Path>
<DllStartName>module_init</DllStartName>
<DllStopName>module_deinit</DllStopName>
</Launch.Addon>
<Launch.Addon>
<Name>AccuFeelMenu</Name>
<Disabled>False</Disabled>
<ManualLoad>False</ManualLoad>
<Path>Modules\AccuFeelMenu.dll</Path>
<Launch.Addon>
and tested the P3D with each one. Some of them have their own dll's so ensure you move them over each at a time as well from the old Prepar file.

User avatar
MikeB54
Posts: 189
Joined: Sat Nov 22, 2014 11:46 pm

Re: P3D3.4 "Error creating child window"

Postby MikeB54 » Wed May 10, 2017 2:32 am

Disregard my previous post. False alarm. :(

Mike

FireRx
Posts: 60
Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2015 3:15 pm

Re: P3D3.4 "Error creating child window"

Postby FireRx » Wed May 10, 2017 1:20 pm

yeah
maybe whatever is missing in the windows build will be in the next one this week.. I been trying to find the fault on this and in communications with the build team on it too. Right now, their pretty busy with Build2017 conference.

FireRx
Posts: 60
Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2015 3:15 pm

Re: P3D3.4 "Error creating child window"

Postby FireRx » Fri May 12, 2017 2:14 pm

on Build 16193 for Windows 10,
Still no Fix. I think this is something with Prepar3D specifically. only program I'm getting this error on. I think it something to odo with .NET 4.7. when I try to reinstall .net 4.5.1 that Prepar3D looks for, it sez it already installed on the machine,. Yet, when I try ro repair the installation of Perpar3D in Windows program I get an error 0x800070001 incorrect function.

FireRx
Posts: 60
Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2015 3:15 pm

Re: P3D3.4 "Error creating child window"

Postby FireRx » Sat May 13, 2017 3:14 am

Poppet,
is there anyway we can make Prepar3d use the new .net 4.7 without having to create a new client verstion?? :(

User avatar
BG2518
Posts: 652
Joined: Sat Nov 30, 2013 7:35 pm
Location: London

Re: P3D3.4 "Error creating child window"

Postby BG2518 » Sat May 13, 2017 6:24 am

So many things can be said about this thread and all with a view to trying to be helpful:

I'm using latest P3D + client hotfixes, Windows 10 Version 1703 (OS BUild 15063.296). I have MANY add-ons and have NO errors. My P3D install is NOT a full "clean" install i.e. it is an incremental version of the client portion only. So, it doesn't appear to be the version of windows that is the problem IF your install of P3D follows my approach.

I don't see a support request in the form of the requested approach to fixing the issue as per LM's guide - http://www.prepar3d.com/forum/viewtopic ... 305&t=6932
Perhaps there is some benefit to be had in really running through all that with a fine toothcomb?

I'd like to believe that problems like this are easily fixed by finding a corrupt file somewhere and reinvigorating it and hey presto all fixed BUT whilst P3D HAS TO rely on not least their 3rd party developers to keep up with what LM are doing then the multiple problems folk have had with P3D and performance over the years would continue. Having multiple PC hardware configs is also a minefield. MicroSoft also throw spanners about to jazz up the mix. I'm surprised ANYTHING works at all.

Bottom line - it is likely to be an add-on you are using that has "become" tiresome due to something somewhere else that you've knowingly/unknowingly updated and the solution is entirely tortuous and so soul destroying you'll come to the conclusion that waiting for P3D v4 will be your best option, as per the original poster.

FireRx
Posts: 60
Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2015 3:15 pm

Re: P3D3.4 "Error creating child window"

Postby FireRx » Sat May 13, 2017 2:24 pm

.net framework setup in the Full key in the registry has to be change for 4.7 to 4.6.01586 in Windows 10. so ofar is a pill getting past the permissions. you can try to change it in Prepar3D.exe config. to use .net 4.7, but it pretty spotty when it will work or not work. Microsoft omitted .net 4.5.1-4.6.1 from their list of additional versions in the mix. so that why all the error creating child window messages. if I find a way to get the permissions in that particular version key to change it back to 4.6.01586. I'll test it out there and report the results. :)

FireRx
Posts: 60
Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2015 3:15 pm

Re: P3D3.4 "Error creating child window"

Postby FireRx » Sun May 14, 2017 8:59 pm

So Far so good with the registry version change to .NET.. going to do a few more flights in different aircraft/situations. Looks like we found out culprit. :) BTW the version I ended up using that worked so far is version number was 4.6.02025


Return to “Prepar3D Client Application Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests