[RESOLVED] AMD Driver reset with P3d V3

Any issues, problems or troubleshooting topics related to the Prepar3D client application.
hawx2k
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2015 8:32 pm
Contact:

Re: AMD Driver reset with P3d V3

Postby hawx2k » Thu Oct 01, 2015 8:00 am

Quick intermittent report: Tested the following drivers in backward order:

15.9.1 beta: failed
15.9 beta: failed
15.7.1: failed
15.7: failed
14.12: pass

Make sure you do a complete uninstall of the Catalyst driver on your system via the "Add Software" control panel before installling 14.12.

Perhaps not conclusive but it may hint to an incompatibilty with latest 15.x drivers.

Jan

kjetihaa
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Nov 25, 2013 10:19 am

Re: AMD Driver reset with P3d V3

Postby kjetihaa » Thu Oct 01, 2015 8:50 am

Same problem for me too with an AMD Sapphire Trix R9 290X. Rest of my specs are; I7 5820k, 16Gb DDR4 RAM, MSI X99A RAIDER Socket 2011_v3. I'm running Windows 10
Have tried AMD Catalyst 15.7, 15.7.1,15.9 beta and 15.9.1 beta with no Luck. And yes, I have deleted shader cache folder for each driver update. The same error as the rest, AMD driver reset, and everything hangs Seconds after loading up first time scenery. No addons, fresh install of P3D v3.

ContentErrorLog;

[error.0]
error=Shader cache failed to compile or create shader. source-file: D:\Prepar3D v3\ShadersHLSL\Cloud.fx cache-file: C:\Users\Kjetil\AppData\Local\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v3\Shaders\v3010_sm110_Cloud.fx_VS_10ad000122000001_0000218000000000.cso
[error.1]
error=Shader cache failed to compile or create shader. source-file: D:\Prepar3D v3\ShadersHLSL\Cloud.fx cache-file: C:\Users\Kjetil\AppData\Local\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v3\Shaders\v3010_sm110_Cloud.fx_GS_10ad000122000001_0030218000000000.cso
[error.2]
error=Shader cache failed to compile or create shader. source-file: D:\Prepar3D v3\ShadersHLSL\Cloud.fx cache-file: C:\Users\Kjetil\AppData\Local\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v3\Shaders\v3010_sm110_Cloud.fx_PS_10ad000122000001_0040218000000000.cso
[error.3]
error=Shader cache failed to compile or create shader. source-file: D:\Prepar3D v3\ShadersHLSL\General.fx cache-file: C:\Users\Kjetil\AppData\Local\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v3\Shaders\v3010_sm110_General.fx_PS_04a5000126000001_0040230000900001.cso
[error.4]
error=Shader cache failed to compile or create shader. source-file: D:\Prepar3D v3\ShadersHLSL\General.fx cache-file: C:\Users\Kjetil\AppData\Local\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v3\Shaders\v3010_sm110_General.fx_VS_00b9000026020001_0000a38000000001.cso
[error.5]
error=Shader cache failed to compile or create shader. source-file: D:\Prepar3D v3\ShadersHLSL\General.fx cache-file: C:\Users\Kjetil\AppData\Local\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v3\Shaders\v3010_sm110_General.fx_PS_00b9000026020001_0040a38000504001.cso
[error.6]
error=Shader cache failed to compile or create shader. source-file: D:\Prepar3D v3\ShadersHLSL\General.fx cache-file: C:\Users\Kjetil\AppData\Local\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v3\Shaders\v3010_sm110_General.fx_VS_00b9000126000001_0000a38000000001.cso
[error.7]
error=Shader cache failed to compile or create shader. source-file: D:\Prepar3D v3\ShadersHLSL\General.fx cache-file: C:\Users\Kjetil\AppData\Local\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v3\Shaders\v3010_sm110_General.fx_PS_00b9000126000001_0040a38000504001.cso
[error.8]
error=Shader cache failed to compile or create shader. source-file: D:\Prepar3D v3\ShadersHLSL\General.fx cache-file: C:\Users\Kjetil\AppData\Local\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v3\Shaders\v3010_sm110_General.fx_VS_003a000026050001_0000410000000001.cso
[error.9]
error=Shader cache failed to compile or create shader. source-file: D:\Prepar3D v3\ShadersHLSL\General.fx cache-file: C:\Users\Kjetil\AppData\Local\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v3\Shaders\v3010_sm110_General.fx_PS_003a000026050001_0040410000104001.cso
[error.10]
error=Shader cache failed to compile or create shader. source-file: D:\Prepar3D v3\ShadersHLSL\General.fx cache-file: C:\Users\Kjetil\AppData\Local\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v3\Shaders\v3010_sm110_General.fx_VS_003a000026050001_0000430000000001.cso
[error.11]
error=Shader cache failed to compile or create shader. source-file: D:\Prepar3D v3\ShadersHLSL\General.fx cache-file: C:\Users\Kjetil\AppData\Local\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v3\Shaders\v3010_sm110_General.fx_PS_003a000026050001_0040430000104001.cso
[error.12]
error=Shader cache failed to compile or create shader. source-file: D:\Prepar3D v3\ShadersHLSL\GPUTerrain.fx cache-file: C:\Users\Kjetil\AppData\Local\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v3\Shaders\v3010_sm110_GPUTerrain.fx_VS_60a9000020020001_00002120000023a5.cso
[error.13]
error=Shader cache failed to compile or create shader. source-file: D:\Prepar3D v3\ShadersHLSL\GPUTerrain.fx cache-file: C:\Users\Kjetil\AppData\Local\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v3\Shaders\v3010_sm110_GPUTerrain.fx_HS_60a9000020020001_00102120000023a5.cso
[error.14]
error=Shader cache failed to compile or create shader. source-file: D:\Prepar3D v3\ShadersHLSL\GPUTerrain.fx cache-file: C:\Users\Kjetil\AppData\Local\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v3\Shaders\v3010_sm110_GPUTerrain.fx_DS_60a9000020020001_00202120000023a5.cso
[error.15]
error=Shader cache failed to compile or create shader. source-file: D:\Prepar3D v3\ShadersHLSL\GPUTerrain.fx cache-file: C:\Users\Kjetil\AppData\Local\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v3\Shaders\v3010_sm110_GPUTerrain.fx_PS_60a9000020020001_00402120000023a5.cso
[error.16]
error=Shader cache failed to compile or create shader. source-file: D:\Prepar3D v3\ShadersHLSL\GPUTerrain.fx cache-file: C:\Users\Kjetil\AppData\Local\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v3\Shaders\v3010_sm110_GPUTerrain.fx_VS_60a9000020020001_00002120000043a5.cso
[error.17]
error=Shader cache failed to compile or create shader. source-file: D:\Prepar3D v3\ShadersHLSL\GPUTerrain.fx cache-file: C:\Users\Kjetil\AppData\Local\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v3\Shaders\v3010_sm110_GPUTerrain.fx_HS_60a9000020020001_00102120000043a5.cso
[error.18]
error=Shader cache failed to compile or create shader. source-file: D:\Prepar3D v3\ShadersHLSL\GPUTerrain.fx cache-file: C:\Users\Kjetil\AppData\Local\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v3\Shaders\v3010_sm110_GPUTerrain.fx_DS_60a9000020020001_00202120000043a5.cso
[error.19]
error=Shader cache failed to compile or create shader. source-file: D:\Prepar3D v3\ShadersHLSL\GPUTerrain.fx cache-file: C:\Users\Kjetil\AppData\Local\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v3\Shaders\v3010_sm110_GPUTerrain.fx_PS_60a9000020020001_00402120000043a5.cso
[error.20]
error=Shader cache failed to compile or create shader. source-file: D:\Prepar3D v3\ShadersHLSL\GPUTerrain.fx cache-file: C:\Users\Kjetil\AppData\Local\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v3\Shaders\v3010_sm110_GPUTerrain.fx_VS_60a9000020020001_00002120000063a5.cso
[error.21]
error=Shader cache failed to compile or create shader. source-file: D:\Prepar3D v3\ShadersHLSL\GPUTerrain.fx cache-file: C:\Users\Kjetil\AppData\Local\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v3\Shaders\v3010_sm110_GPUTerrain.fx_HS_60a9000020020001_00102120000063a5.cso
[error.22]
error=Shader cache failed to compile or create shader. source-file: D:\Prepar3D v3\ShadersHLSL\GPUTerrain.fx cache-file: C:\Users\Kjetil\AppData\Local\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v3\Shaders\v3010_sm110_GPUTerrain.fx_DS_60a9000020020001_00202120000063a5.cso
[error.23]
error=Shader cache failed to compile or create shader. source-file: D:\Prepar3D v3\ShadersHLSL\GPUTerrain.fx cache-file: C:\Users\Kjetil\AppData\Local\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v3\Shaders\v3010_sm110_GPUTerrain.fx_PS_60a9000020020001_00402120000063a5.cso
[error.24]
error=Shader cache failed to compile or create shader. source-file: D:\Prepar3D v3\ShadersHLSL\GPUTerrain.fx cache-file: C:\Users\Kjetil\AppData\Local\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v3\Shaders\v3010_sm110_GPUTerrain.fx_VS_60a9000120000001_000021200000238d.cso
[error.25]
error=Shader cache failed to compile or create shader. source-file: D:\Prepar3D v3\ShadersHLSL\GPUTerrain.fx cache-file: C:\Users\Kjetil\AppData\Local\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v3\Shaders\v3010_sm110_GPUTerrain.fx_HS_60a9000120000001_001021200000238d.cso
[error.26]
error=Shader cache failed to compile or create shader. source-file: D:\Prepar3D v3\ShadersHLSL\GPUTerrain.fx cache-file: C:\Users\Kjetil\AppData\Local\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v3\Shaders\v3010_sm110_GPUTerrain.fx_DS_60a9000120000001_002021200000238d.cso
[error.27]
error=Shader cache failed to compile or create shader. source-file: D:\Prepar3D v3\ShadersHLSL\GPUTerrain.fx cache-file: C:\Users\Kjetil\AppData\Local\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v3\Shaders\v3010_sm110_GPUTerrain.fx_PS_60a9000120000001_004021200000238d.cso
[error.28]
error=Shader cache failed to compile or create shader. source-file: D:\Prepar3D v3\ShadersHLSL\GPUTerrain.fx cache-file: C:\Users\Kjetil\AppData\Local\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v3\Shaders\v3010_sm110_GPUTerrain.fx_VS_60a9000120000001_000021200000438d.cso
[error.29]
error=Shader cache failed to compile or create shader. source-file: D:\Prepar3D v3\ShadersHLSL\GPUTerrain.fx cache-file: C:\Users\Kjetil\AppData\Local\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v3\Shaders\v3010_sm110_GPUTerrain.fx_HS_60a9000120000001_001021200000438d.cso
[error.30]
error=Shader cache failed to compile or create shader. source-file: D:\Prepar3D v3\ShadersHLSL\GPUTerrain.fx cache-file: C:\Users\Kjetil\AppData\Local\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v3\Shaders\v3010_sm110_GPUTerrain.fx_DS_60a9000120000001_002021200000438d.cso
[error.31]
error=Shader cache failed to compile or create shader. source-file: D:\Prepar3D v3\ShadersHLSL\GPUTerrain.fx cache-file: C:\Users\Kjetil\AppData\Local\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v3\Shaders\v3010_sm110_GPUTerrain.fx_PS_60a9000120000001_004021200000438d.cso
[error.32]
error=Shader cache failed to compile or create shader. source-file: D:\Prepar3D v3\ShadersHLSL\GPUTerrain.fx cache-file: C:\Users\Kjetil\AppData\Local\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v3\Shaders\v3010_sm110_GPUTerrain.fx_VS_60a9000120000001_000021200000638d.cso
[error.33]
error=Shader cache failed to compile or create shader. source-file: D:\Prepar3D v3\ShadersHLSL\GPUTerrain.fx cache-file: C:\Users\Kjetil\AppData\Local\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v3\Shaders\v3010_sm110_GPUTerrain.fx_HS_60a9000120000001_001021200000638d.cso
[error.34]
error=Shader cache failed to compile or create shader. source-file: D:\Prepar3D v3\ShadersHLSL\GPUTerrain.fx cache-file: C:\Users\Kjetil\AppData\Local\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v3\Shaders\v3010_sm110_GPUTerrain.fx_DS_60a9000120000001_002021200000638d.cso
[error.35]
error=Shader cache failed to compile or create shader. source-file: D:\Prepar3D v3\ShadersHLSL\GPUTerrain.fx cache-file: C:\Users\Kjetil\AppData\Local\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v3\Shaders\v3010_sm110_GPUTerrain.fx_PS_60a9000120000001_004021200000638d.cso

Saul
Posts: 3510
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2013 1:02 pm
Location: Manchester, UK

Re: AMD Driver reset with P3d V3

Postby Saul » Thu Oct 01, 2015 8:54 am

Have you tried Catalyst 14.12 as Jan was kind enough to post that worked for him with instructions to install.

supersonic_80
Posts: 50
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2012 9:45 am

Re: AMD Driver reset with P3d V3

Postby supersonic_80 » Thu Oct 01, 2015 9:18 am

This is my Content error log. Will next try the 14.12 Drivers

[error.0]
error=Shader cache failed to compile or create shader. source-file: E:\Prepar3D v3\ShadersHLSL\GPUTerrain.fx cache-file: C:\Users\Reinhard\AppData\Local\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v3\Shaders\v3010_sm110_GPUTerrain.fx_PS_60a9000120000001_004001200000238d.cso
[error.1]
error=Shader cache failed to compile or create shader. source-file: E:\Prepar3D v3\ShadersHLSL\GPUTerrain.fx cache-file: C:\Users\Reinhard\AppData\Local\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v3\Shaders\v3010_sm110_GPUTerrain.fx_VS_60a9000120000001_000001200000438d.cso
[error.2]
error=Shader cache failed to compile or create shader. source-file: E:\Prepar3D v3\ShadersHLSL\GPUTerrain.fx cache-file: C:\Users\Reinhard\AppData\Local\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v3\Shaders\v3010_sm110_GPUTerrain.fx_HS_60a9000120000001_001001200000438d.cso
[error.3]
error=Shader cache failed to compile or create shader. source-file: E:\Prepar3D v3\ShadersHLSL\GPUTerrain.fx cache-file: C:\Users\Reinhard\AppData\Local\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v3\Shaders\v3010_sm110_GPUTerrain.fx_DS_60a9000120000001_002001200000438d.cso
[error.4]
error=Shader cache failed to compile or create shader. source-file: E:\Prepar3D v3\ShadersHLSL\GPUTerrain.fx cache-file: C:\Users\Reinhard\AppData\Local\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v3\Shaders\v3010_sm110_GPUTerrain.fx_PS_60a9000120000001_004001200000438d.cso
[error.5]
error=Shader cache failed to compile or create shader. source-file: E:\Prepar3D v3\ShadersHLSL\GPUTerrain.fx cache-file: C:\Users\Reinhard\AppData\Local\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v3\Shaders\v3010_sm110_GPUTerrain.fx_VS_60a9000120000001_000001200000638d.cso
[error.6]
error=Shader cache failed to compile or create shader. source-file: E:\Prepar3D v3\ShadersHLSL\GPUTerrain.fx cache-file: C:\Users\Reinhard\AppData\Local\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v3\Shaders\v3010_sm110_GPUTerrain.fx_HS_60a9000120000001_001001200000638d.cso
[error.7]
error=Shader cache failed to compile or create shader. source-file: E:\Prepar3D v3\ShadersHLSL\GPUTerrain.fx cache-file: C:\Users\Reinhard\AppData\Local\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v3\Shaders\v3010_sm110_GPUTerrain.fx_DS_60a9000120000001_002001200000638d.cso
[error.8]
error=Shader cache failed to compile or create shader. source-file: E:\Prepar3D v3\ShadersHLSL\GPUTerrain.fx cache-file: C:\Users\Reinhard\AppData\Local\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v3\Shaders\v3010_sm110_GPUTerrain.fx_PS_60a9000120000001_004001200000638d.cso
[error.9]
error=Shader cache failed to compile or create shader. source-file: E:\Prepar3D v3\ShadersHLSL\General.fx cache-file: C:\Users\Reinhard\AppData\Local\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v3\Shaders\v3010_sm110_General.fx_VS_003a000026050001_0000430000000001.cso
[error.10]
error=Shader cache failed to compile or create shader. source-file: E:\Prepar3D v3\ShadersHLSL\General.fx cache-file: C:\Users\Reinhard\AppData\Local\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v3\Shaders\v3010_sm110_General.fx_PS_003a000026050001_0040430000104001.cso

hawx2k
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2015 8:32 pm
Contact:

Re: AMD Driver reset with P3d V3

Postby hawx2k » Thu Oct 01, 2015 9:26 am

Quick update: Catalyst 14.12 is running flawlessly for over an hour now. Excellent fps with very high details on of course a vanilla install with no extra add-ons so far.

Will continue testing and report if anything changes. But 14.12 seems good so far.

I'm sure the team is looking into solving the issue with current drivers as best as they can, but it may help bridging the gap until they can release an update.

Jan

supersonic_80
Posts: 50
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2012 9:45 am

Re: AMD Driver reset with P3d V3

Postby supersonic_80 » Thu Oct 01, 2015 9:44 am

Tried to install Driver 14.12 in Windows 10, but Win10 doesn't load the driver. So I have to use the offical 15.7.1 or 15.9 driver.
Please LM, solve the problem together with AMD.

jjgp101
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue May 22, 2012 6:03 am

Re: AMD Driver reset with P3d V3

Postby jjgp101 » Thu Oct 01, 2015 9:45 am

Where to download Catalyst 14.12 ?????? I don't find them in oficial AMD web

Thanks
J J Gómez Prieto
IVAO 142928

Mustang60348
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2012 2:39 am

Re: AMD Driver reset with P3d V3

Postby Mustang60348 » Thu Oct 01, 2015 9:51 am

Windows 10 won't install the 14.12 drivers for me

hawx2k
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2015 8:32 pm
Contact:

Re: AMD Driver reset with P3d V3

Postby hawx2k » Thu Oct 01, 2015 9:59 am

Here is the 14.12 version: http://support.amd.com/en-us/download/d ... &rev=14.12

And yes, Win 10 won't support that. When it was released (Dec 2014) there was no Win 10. So this is LM to the rescue for the Win 10 users...

P.S. Since the AMD cards seem to work excellently with v2.5 it would be a shame to miss out on that for v3, dear Lockheed team :).

kjetihaa
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Nov 25, 2013 10:19 am

Re: AMD Driver reset with P3d V3

Postby kjetihaa » Thu Oct 01, 2015 10:03 am

Saul. Thanks for quick reply. No I have not tried the Catalyst 14.12 yet. I'm running Windows 10, and 14.12 is probably not possible to install with win 10. I guess just have to wait for an eventual fix.

I started P3D v3 on another airport, in Norway ENAL. Then I only got this Content error log;

[error.0]
error=Shader cache failed to compile or create shader. source-file: d:\Prepar3D v3\ShadersHLSL\ParticleDraw.fx cache-file: C:\Users\Kjetil\AppData\Local\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v3\Shaders\v3010_sm110_ParticleDraw.fx_PSParticleDraw_00a0000127000001_0040210000000002.cso

But it crashes no matter what airport I'm at, or time of day.

Radeon R9 290X 4Gb, with catalyst 15.9.1 beta
Just for information.
Last edited by kjetihaa on Thu Oct 01, 2015 10:19 am, edited 2 times in total.

Mustang60348
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2012 2:39 am

Re: AMD Driver reset with P3d V3

Postby Mustang60348 » Thu Oct 01, 2015 10:03 am

The dev stated that windows 10 is not supported but here is a cut and paste from their FAQ

Is Prepar3D v3 Compatible with Windows 10?
Yes, Prepar3D v3 is compatible with Windows 10. However not all hardware drivers have been updated for Windows 10 so it is important to check with the manufacturer of your hardware when upgrading to Windows 10.

So apparantly it is supported.

kjetihaa
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Nov 25, 2013 10:19 am

Re: AMD Driver reset with P3d V3

Postby kjetihaa » Thu Oct 01, 2015 11:06 am

Cofirmed! AMD Catalyst 14.12 does install and works properly in Windows 10, No crash so far, have been in menu and changed Graphics settings, and flown around for a few minutes now. All Works great in Windows 10. I'm happy so far, and the speedtrees are amazing!
How to install Catalyst 14.12 into Windows 10? easy! Just don't use Express install, use custom install, hook of the AMD gaming evolved app, and install the rest, and everything should install smooth! :-)
Hope this helps for some of you out there struggling With AMD and Win 10.

Cellinsky
Posts: 41
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 8:21 am

Re: AMD Driver reset with P3d V3

Postby Cellinsky » Thu Oct 01, 2015 12:45 pm

Thanks for your finds with 14.12. However, Im not eager to rollback my drivers. Mainly because 2.5 runs EXTREMLY well with the current setup. And I have other software and games/sims wich require the latest drivers. Im sure, there will be a solution soon and Im not in a hurry with V3. There are not yet native installers for my favorites anyway.

But if LM has a "hotfix" that needs testing, Im all in. Its just the sim to reinstall in case of failure...

Marcel

User avatar
Beau Hollis
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 2199
Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2010 3:25 pm

Re: AMD Driver reset with P3d V3

Postby Beau Hollis » Thu Oct 01, 2015 3:03 pm

@kiwi56, You error report indicates that your shaders are attempting to compile at the DirectX10 feature level. Does your card have full DirectX11/SM5.0 support. If not, it does not meet the minimum system specifications, and likely will not work even after AMD addresses the current driver issues.
Beau Hollis
Prepar3D Software Architect

User avatar
Beau Hollis
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 2199
Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2010 3:25 pm

Re: AMD Driver reset with P3d V3

Postby Beau Hollis » Thu Oct 01, 2015 3:16 pm

We have verified that Prepar3D works with the latest AMD drivers in Win7 on the older AMD cards we have here to test. We suspect the same is true for Windows 10 and will verify this when we can. This issue appears to be specific to the 15.x drivers and the newest AMD cards. Because this is a driver issue affecting a specific set of cards on a specific set of drivers, it is unlikely that we can do anything to resolve it on our end. We will report this to AMD, but suggest that all users encountering the issue report it to AMD as well. For now, we suggest that users either roll back to the drivers that work, or hold off on installing v3 until AMD is able to resolve the issue. We also suggest that the shader cache be cleared after installing drivers to ensure that all shaders are compiled with using the current drivers.
Beau Hollis
Prepar3D Software Architect


Return to “Prepar3D Client Application Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: euf2000 and 116 guests